We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Gift Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Prince

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Prince
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Best Gift Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I was given a voucher for a nights stay at the Prince + 5 course dinner in Circa for my recent engagement. Absolutely loved it! We were lucky that it was very hot weather and we got to take in the St KIlda beach during the day. Our voucher was for a deluxe room, but as we were checking in on a Monday they weren't that full so got upgraded to a Superior room free of charge! My fiance' made use of the day spa - not really my thing but she enjoyed it. Dinner in Circa was a cracker with matching wines. The sommelier gave us the full spiel, that I really enjoyed. Overall we really enjoyed ourselves, such a great gift.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BizSattler, Director of Sales at The Prince, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Hi There

Thank you so much for your review.

We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience and hope to see you back with us in the near future
Kind regards

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    89
    37
    28
    15
See reviews for
17
121
18
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed at The Prince for the first time last week, as I was in town for business for one day. What a lovely and pleasant stay. The warm greeting and service that I received from when I arrived was perfect and so inviting.

The room was efficient and very clean, I really liked the modern take on the rooms as well. It had everything I could need and very comfortable.

Location was great, just a cab ride into town, which in fact turned into a lift by the Hotel Manager James in his own car, since my cab had not turned up in time! Very impressive Service!

Will definitely be back again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GingerMil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BizSattler, Director of Sales at The Prince, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Hi There

Thank you so much for your kind trip advisor review.
We try our best to exceed guest expectatkonsand certainly pleased to hear this feedback.

We hope to see you back with us soon.

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

The Prince Hotel for a start has terrible service and is only exceeded by its over priced food and beverages.

Given that the Fitzroy has so many wonderful places to eat, drink and stay I have no idea why anyone once their have been to the Prince would ever go back there again.

I really don't mind paying for what you get but the prices are over the top for the rubbish they dish out.

Definitely give it a miss.

Room Tip: If you can give this place a miss then do it, lots of nice places in the vicinity. The food and drin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BizSattler, Director of Sales at The Prince, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Hi There

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your dining experience at one of our restaurants.
This page is predominately aimed at feedback for the accommodation, however I would be more than happy to pass your feedback on to our restaurant operations manager. If you would like to touch base with me regarding the experience we would be happy to discuss this with you in person.

biz@theprince.com.au

Kind regards

liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Ugh! I was so glad I just had one night here. I hardly slept with noise that sounded as if there was a diesel truck outside my room. Andy if the air conditioning was working (I had it checked twice), then it certainly did not match my definition of functionality. The room itself was described as "boutique", but was more the size of a boutique in a Moroccan souk than the boutiques along Acland St. The bed was not only small, but the mattress had seen much better days. While the staff certainly seemed willing to serve, as far as I could see there was only one guest facing staff member on duty at any one time.

I will not be returning

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachSwaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BizSattler, Director of Sales at The Prince, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Hi There

thank you for your review.

Our boutique rooms are indeed the smallest room type in the hotel. We do have larger rooms available in the property and do try to establish the guests requirements to ensure they have a room that best accommodates their needs.

I will certainly pass on the feedback regarding mattress and AIr con and ensure that these are looked into for you.

Kind regards

liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Best hotel to stay in in St Kilda.
Gorgeous Aesop products, very quiet and gorgeous rooms. If I recall, our room had sensor bedside lighting.
Classy, modern, interesting and warm.
Well worth the money for a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmenMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adealide
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I travel and stay in many hotels for work and so when I had to go to Melbourne for a wedding I really did think “great another night in a hotel.” The Prince, located in St Kilda is a hotel I had not stayed at previously so thought it was a great opportunity to try somewhere different.
I found the whole experience truly lovely. From when I first arrived I found the staff both friendly and helpful. The facilities that The Price offered where also very good, I didn’t use the pool as I forgot my swimmers but would advise anyone visiting to pack them as it was truly beautiful. The room where modern, clean and very welcoming but the best part of the stay was the location. I could walk to cafes, shopping and the beach.
This is a must stay for people who want a great location, great rooms and friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BizSattler, Director of Sales at The Prince, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Alicia C
Thank you so much for your kind review. We understand that although travelling for work seems glamorous, sometimes all you want is be in your own bed! We are so pleased that we could provide a home away from home for you and we hope to see you back at The Prince very soon.

Kindest

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

What a refreshing surprise for a Melbourne hotel. From the moment I arrived I was greeted warmly by hotel reception, as if excited to see an old friend - it made one feel special and welcomed. The check-in was friendly, efficiant and informative... and complimentary Wifi! Fabulous. The rooms are fresh, simple, and comfortable; but it's the dedication to service values here which is impressive. Wouldn't hesitate to reccomend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesMelbourne84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BizSattler, Director of Sales at The Prince, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear JamesMelbourne84

We appreciate you taking the time to post a Tripadvisor review for us - thank you. We are so pleased that you like the art, design, food theme of the property. We are glad that you appreciate the free wi fi, we certainly it is a necessity in hotels and are happy to provide this for your guests complimentary. Most importantly I am thrilled that you were treated like a friend. We work very hard to ensure that our level of customer service exceeds expectations and I am so glad we could deliver on this.
We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kindest

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.2 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#7 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince

Property: The Prince
Address: 2 Acland St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Prince 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince is Melbourne's premier boutique hotel, hidden in the cosmopolitan bayside suburb, St Kilda. With 40 individually designed rooms, Veuve Clicquot in the minibar and (MALIN+GOETZ) bathroom amenities guests will enjoy a stay with a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Prince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Prince Hotel St Kilda
Prince Hotel St Kilda
Prince St Kilda
The Prince St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing