We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overhaul would be good option.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overhaul would be good option.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The service at this hotel is fairly average for the expected quality from a 4 star hotel. Their lack of interest and knowledge is below standard. The conference room facilities are very cold & squeezy. The breakfast was fairly average for price & minimal menu offered for room service and expensive. The hotel rooms were quite good, clean but very noisy. Overall average for a 4 star hotel and a little disappointing. I would look elsewhere for better service & value.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonefish33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Lonefish33

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on Trip Advisor. Please accept my apologies that your time here was below your expectations. I would like the opportunity to discuss with you your time here directly and would encourage you to contact me directly on Llewellyn.Wyeth@accor.com so that I can ensure that we develop our team further.

Kind Regards

Llewellyn Wyeth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    951
    513
    149
    78
See reviews for
411
1,032
190
439
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

1/when I approached the reception for checking in at Novotel St Kilda in Melbourne on 20 Jun 2014, there were 3 staff starring at the PC, I said good morning and no one replied to me and they kept looking at their computer screens for about 5 seconds than one of them finally talked to me without greeting me back at all... The next minute a Caucasian guest came and he was greeted nicely, but why not me and my family?? Is it because we are Asian????? I thought Australia is a multicultural country and respect equal opportunity...but yet some people are still very racist!!!

2/The air conditioning system is stupidly managed from central and it is very hard to adjust the temperature. We come from a tropical island of Bali and the temperature is really cold for us. The temperature in our room (room 409) was staying at 18 c even though we adjusted to 25 c. We called the staff to fix it but only showed up in our room after 45 minutes (after 2nd attempts to get someone to come to the room). The staff only told that the temperature will go up gradually after it's adjusted but nothing happened after a few hours waiting. It went up to 21 c for a while but then went back again to 18 c. This was happening for the whole night we stayed in the room and we could not really sleep as it is too bloody cold.

3/ my husband and I are accord advantage members and we normally get a free WIFI connection throughout the stay but the reception tried to charge us with WIFI connection until I refused to pay and told her that we are a member and should not be changed. She looked again in her computer and then said yes you are right, you are a member and the WIFI is free of charge. What is the point of showing my card upon check-in if the staff still do not recognise us as a member and still treat us as a regular guests (even worse than a regular guests) !!!

4/ my kids (12 and 15 years old) went to the restaurant for breakfast in the morning and was not allowed to get in by the waitress. After checking with the reception staff they finally let them in and again they tried to charge the breakfast which should have been free of charge. Check again your own advertising where it says "Kids are free to stay with us".

I am expecting an apology from the Novotel management and compensation.
Name is: Juliet Tumewu
Accor Advantage member # 3084094 199671666

Kind regards,
Juliet Tumewu

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Juliet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Juliet

Thank you for your review here on Trip Advisor, I will contact you directly as you have requested however please accept my apologies, I will personally look into all elements of your stay.

Please be assured that our team stem from all parts of the Globe and I can personally assure you that your experience was in no way related to where you come from.

I look forward to talking with you directly.

Kind Regards

Llewellyn Wyeth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I loved this hotel for our short stay in St Kilda. What an amazing place. Loved the stroll along the front on a night time back from all the lovely bars and restaurants. Melbourne City centre is only a short tram ride away.
Hotel itself is reasonably priced, with good modern rooms. Very friendly helpful staff. Would return.

Room Tip: Sea view it's amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller2010048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Traveller

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, we are very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Llewellyn Wyeth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.3 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
0.2 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#7 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prince
The Prince
#11 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne St Kilda

Property: Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Address: 16 The Esplanade, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#4 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne St Kilda 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Melbourne St Kilda is the city's premier beachfront hotel. Ideally positioned facing St Kilda beach and surrounded by some of the city's finest attractions, Novotel St Kilda is the perfect escape for the business or leisure traveller. Situated 6km from the city centre and 28km from Melbourne Airport, experience all this unique St Kilda hotel and its cosmopolitan surroundings have to offer from this hotel's prime position on The Esplanade. Novotel Melbourne St Kilda provides a great choice of St Kilda accommodation, offering 211 rooms and suites, many featuring spa baths with spectacular bay view over Port Philip Bay. The Novotel St Kilda can cater for a variety of events including residential conferences, team building exercises, annual meetings and gala dinners. Choose from 12 versatile function spaces for up to 300 delegates. Many of the rooms offer stunning ocean views and outdoor terrace areas for informal networking. Walk to some of Melbourne's finest attractions such as Luna Park, experience the famous Sunday art and craft market on The Esplanade or discover the many shopping options and bustling nightlife on nearby Acland and Fitzroy Streets. If you need to park the car, there is a secure, undercover parking (extra charge), whilst a tram stop at the front door ensures easy and convenient access to Melbourne city centre only six kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Melbourne St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Hotel St Kilda
Accor St Kilda
Novotel St Kilda
St Kilda Novotel
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing