We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & nice experience ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Great location and friendly staff. Nice food although drinks were slightly expensive. Our room was nice and when we raised concerns about a smoky smell the issue was quickly addressed. Having a tram stop right outside when great! Happy to return again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank jonesytaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Jonesytaos

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for sharing your experience here on Trip Advisor. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly in the future when you wish to return.

Kind Regards

Llewellyn Wyeth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,313)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

708 - 714 of 2,313 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just returned from 3 nights in Melbourne and had a great stay at the Novotel. Would probably be better staying here in the warmer months but it was still nice to look out the window and see the ocean.
The staff were all very friendly, especially the staff in the restaurant. We arrived on a late flight and even though they looked like they were closing the kitchen, they accommodated us and the food was great. Bar staff also very friendly and attentive. Front reception were always helpful with directions and best travel options.
There is a tram stop right in front of the hotel which is easy and far cheaper than taxi travel.
The hotel is not brand new but in my opinion is very good value given the ease of access to the city, beach and general st kilda area.
I would definately recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hunter03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hunter3

Thank you for taking the time to review your time staying with us here at the Novotel St Kilda. I will pass on your comments to our team. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly here at the Hotel should you wish to return in the near future.

Kind Regards

Llewellyn Wyeth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Nice room and view. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was quiet, no street noise or noise from other rooms. My one complaint is that at $35 for the buffet breakfast it is by far the dearest i have come across. It is no different to others i have had but around $20 is the usual mark.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Darren

Thank you for your review. As of July we have reduced our price for Breakfast to $26. We do feel that at this price, it provides great value for money.

We do hope to see you again here at the Novotel in St Kilda.

Kind Regards

Llewellyn Wyeth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Novotel, St. Kilda, is in a very up-and-coming area which is slowly showing rapid growth.
It has a unique situation overlooking the Bay. The rooms vary, some very ordinary but mostly positive
Transport into town is easy by tram, as is the airport shuttle.
I enjoy the area that surrounds, some excellent restaurants and the walks along the boardwalk
Definitely a good place to be if you don't want to be in downtown Melbourne

Room Tip: try and book a room with a view on the Bay, upgrade to premium is also recommended
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank frasedbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

frasedbv

Thank you for your review here on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming back to St Kilda on your next trip.

Kind Regards

Llewellyn Wyeth
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Great position for attending events at the Palais. Great views of the bay. Rooms of a high standard. Staff great and enthusiastic. Car parking available at a very reasonable price. Would recommend staying here

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

David

Thank you for your recommendation and your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Llewellyn Wyeth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed recently for 1 night and had a suite which was badly in need of a update. Lounge seat dirty and worn, bathroom tired.
There was a strong stench of cigarette smoke in corridor and when telling room attendants they laughed. Believe me it was no joke.
Reception staff were great, service in the bar area non existent, obviously need more staff on Saturday night.
This is really a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 777Raymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

777Raymond

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay here at the hotel. Please be assured we a 100% non smoking hotel and was the first in Australia to adopt this back in 2001. We take this very seriously and to those guests who do choose to smoke in our rooms, a cleaning fee is applied. Please accept my apologies that your inquiry was not properly handled from the room attendant, I will pass this onto them.

Kind Regards


Llewellyn Wyeth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.3 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
0.2 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#9 of 19 in St Kilda
258 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne St Kilda

Address: 16 The Esplanade, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#4 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#6 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range: £78 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne St Kilda 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Melbourne St Kilda is the city's premier beachfront hotel. Ideally positioned facing St Kilda beach and surrounded by some of the city's finest attractions, Novotel St Kilda is the perfect escape for the business or leisure traveller. Situated 6km from the city centre and 28km from Melbourne Airport, experience all this unique St Kilda hotel and its cosmopolitan surroundings have to offer from this hotel's prime position on The Esplanade. Novotel Melbourne St Kilda provides a great choice of St Kilda accommodation, offering 211 rooms and suites, many featuring spa baths with spectacular bay view over Port Philip Bay. The Novotel St Kilda can cater for a variety of events including residential conferences, team building exercises, annual meetings and gala dinners. Choose from 12 versatile function spaces for up to 300 delegates. Many of the rooms offer stunning ocean views and outdoor terrace areas for informal networking. Walk to some of Melbourne's finest attractions such as Luna Park, experience the famous Sunday art and craft market on The Esplanade or discover the many shopping options and bustling nightlife on nearby Acland and Fitzroy Streets. If you need to park the car, there is a secure, undercover parking (extra charge), whilst a tram stop at the front door ensures easy and convenient access to Melbourne city centre only six kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Melbourne St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Hotel St Kilda
Accor St Kilda
Novotel St Kilda
St Kilda Novotel
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing