We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well presented exhibition”

Jewish Museum of Australia
Ranked #9 of 37 things to do in St Kilda
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Jewish Museum of Australia is an inclusive, interactive Museum which strives to engage people with Jewish culture.It houses a permanent exhibition as well as rotating temporary exhibitions.The Jewish Museum of Australia is custodian of over 20,000 objects and stories that tell the continuum of Jewish life and what it means to be Jewish in Australia.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
126 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A well presented exhibition”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

This is a relatively small museum with very well presented exhibits. We concentrated on learning about the history of the Melbourne Jewish Community and it was interesting to see the range of artifacts donated to the Museum by local residents. The other sections were also attractively presented and focused in the Festivals of the Jewish Year and life cycle events. We enjoyed our visit though were surprised that the volunteers seemed somewhat disinterested in us as visitors . . . they didn't need to note our 'home' country for their records but were not bothered to even ask what it was . . . though it should have been of interest to them as it was 'Israel'!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeF62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    23
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good story of Jewish history”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

The museum is small but well managed

It has a small special exhibition space which presumably rotate - when I was there, it was Jewish and Hollywood. It was interesting but coming from London, the exhibition seemed a bit basic and lack depth.

What I was most impressed about was actually the overall Jewish history and Jewish teaching which is a part of permanent exhibition. It provides a great overview of Jewish history and teaching - great learning point if you have always been curious of Judaism / Jewish culture but not had a chance to learn about it

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank gourmetseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Informative little museum about Jewish Culture in Oz”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I really enjoyed this museum, having found it by tripadvisor suggestions. The staff were all incredibly warm and welcoming and were there to answer any questions at all! The main exhibit is very well put together and designed with a LOT to look at and read with video sections as well. There is a general 'history of the Jewish people' section, a history of Jews in Australia and in particular Melbourne which I found very interesting, and then a section on Jewish ritual and life. The museum is on axis with one of Melbourne's orthodox synagogues and on the day I visited there was also a tour of the synagogue building which was equally interesting! The changing exhibit space was also good- when I went it was 'The bible in film' which was well put together (but could have used some video). Recommended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank KFriedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The place to come to see much about the history of the Jewish sector in Victoria.”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

All museums should be visited especially ones such as this one which preserve the nature and history of past life in our multicultural society. It is an education for all.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank morryg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An experience that everyone should have at least once in their lives.”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Talking to survivors was confronting and harrowing at times however it was one of the most valuable experiences I have had. Absolutely worth visiting and taking the time to listen.

Helpful?
Thank Olwyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jewish Museum of Australia also viewed

 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 

Been to Jewish Museum of Australia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing