We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Certificate of Excellence
kismicallychal
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Fantastic stay in a delux room. Booked on wotif and what a stay. Very quiet, didn't hear anyone in room - facing carpark side. Free parking and wifi! King bed so comfy, buffet breakfast included great value with eggs cooked to your liking and croissants, oj and apple juice. Staff were so polite and helpful - helping with trams, dinner rec or anything else. Dvds for free hire. Great position right near Luna park and the tram that goes straight to the city - so easy getting to regent theatre, mcg and Hisense Arena. Shower pressure was amazing and products were lemongrass and smelt amazing. Actually even the hallways and reception area smelt great - must spray something regularly. Can't recommend any better!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kismicallychal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    582
    182
    60
    42
See reviews for
333
547
140
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel whist in the area for a family wedding, found the staff more than helpful, if they didn't have an answer they would find out for you.
The room was clean and the bed comfortable which is all you need when out all day site seeing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Kim M,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards

Hayley Williams
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel/motel deserves a very good/excellent rating but it's 2014 and I can no longer tolerate these 10.00am checkouts & the only thing that will make hoteliers change is poor reviews. Well commonsense and the fact that the rest of the world have 11.00am or noon checkouts.

Great location, excellent parking, very friendly reception staff - free DVDs and current magazines in reception. We had a studio apartment, the bathroom was a bit tired but nothing to complain about, the studio was spacious & perfect for our needs.

Exceptional value when you consider that parking & wifi included ( free wifi being another area where Australia is lagging behind)

I should say we had no problem getting an 11.00am checkout but in 2014 in the "hospitality " industry I shouldn't have to ask. Have written to their head office asking if their directors like being evicted at 10.00am :)

Stay here but join campaign for 11.00am checkout

Room Tip: Top floor to avoid noisy guests above you .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elestoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Elestoban,

Thank you for getting in touch with us and reviewing our hotel, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate your feedback relating to our current 10am check out time. For the benefit of future travellers the Cosmo is in the process of implementing a later 11am check out as of the 1st of July.

Once again Elestoban thank you for your glowing feedback and we hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards

Hayley Williams
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

we asked for twin room and received a large King and single bed, staff at the desk very informative and welcoming; checkout quick and efficient included in our stay a great buffet breakfast better then some 5* places we have stayed at. car-parking a real bonus, location terrific used tram to travel to CBD will certainly come back to explore more this site of Town.

Room Tip: closed the window at night so tram did not bother us, maybe choose one facing the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christiane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Christiane C,

Thank you so much for writing your review of the Cosmopolitan Hotel.

We are very happy to see you enjoyed your stay and loved the room and breakfast. Yes the off street parking at no extra cost is a bonus.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Warmest regards,

Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel as it was well located in st kilda, and we were staying for a wedding nearby. From the moment we checked in, the staff were very friendly and helpful, immediately offering to upgrade our room for a small charge as we had booked a smaller room for 4 nights. The room was very new and spacious, and the facilities were great. Overall I had no complaints and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SantosClause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear SantosClause,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review the Cosmopolitan Hotel.

I am so pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Warmest regards,

Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here last Saturday and Sunday night and we were very happy with our choice. For St Kilda you can't beat the location. Just off the main strip on Acland Street you're far enough away from the action for it to not be noisy at night (we asked for a quiet room facing the back carpark), but a one minute walk and you're in the thick of it all. Down Carlisle St about a 10 min walk at the Greyhound there's a good blues jam on Sunday arvo's at 5 if you're into that sort of thing, we loved it.

Catch the 96 tram outside Luna Park into the city which takes about 20 mins. The room was a very generous size, we had a deluxe king room. It was very clean and the staff were very friendly, especially the Scottish lady on the desk (sorry I don't remember her name!). Highly recommended, value for money and a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you're a light sleeper. I am and I had no trouble sleeping in their comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hails123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Hails123,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feed back.

I am so pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our great location. I shall pass on your feedback to Kelly-Anne.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest regards,

Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here recently and had a great time in St Kilda. The room was very spacious and the king sized bed was very comfortable. The only downside was that the bathroom was quite small though the shower was quite large.

The breakfast in the café onsite was also terrific with plenty of options.

The price was amazing value (only $110 for the night) with free car parking.

If you need a hotel in a great location that is clean, comfortable with large rooms available then this is a great choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaleReardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear DaleReardon

Thank you kindly for the great feedback from, we really appreciate it and are always trying to go the extra mile. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our king size bed and the spacious room.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cosmopolitan hotel soon.

Warmest Regards

Hayley Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.4 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
448 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
290 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartments Ink
Apartments Ink
#5 of 19 in St Kilda
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Address: 2 - 8 Carlisle St | St Kilda Beach, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#1 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#1 Best Value Hotel in St Kilda
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of trendy St Kilda on the doorstep of Luna Park, The Esplanade, St Kilda Arts Markets, St Kilda Beach and Melbourne's finest restaurants and shops, the Cosmopolitan Hotel stands out with its boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money. This landmark icon immaculately redesigned with the latest luxury amenities and variety of accommodations to suit all needs, will assure an unforgettable and truly authentic Melbourne experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - By 8 St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - By 8Hotels St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing