We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Even though Cosmo is in the heart of St Kilda, the hotel failed to impress me. The hotel staff were friendly and the room was clean and large. I love the bedding and was most comfy to rest on.

I like that the location is central enough and near to beach which makes travelling around a breeze.

Many back alleys which are dark which leads back to hotel so those travelling with young kids or ladies might just want to be more careful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eunicelim82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Eunicelim82,

I am sorry to hear your stay was not what you expected.

I am however delighted to hear you were impressed with your room, our location, the comfy bed and our friendly hotel staff – thank you for mentioning it.

For the benefit of our other readers our unique hotel layout means the hotel is stretched across three wings, and there are ample security arrangements like secure key entry to hotel after hours.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Warmest regards,
Hayley Williams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,474)
There are newer reviews for Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

978 - 984 of 1,474 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel has the most welcoming, friendly and helpful staff who added to our fantastic stay at this hotel. Nothing was too much trouble! The rooms were spacious and comfortable. We were able to check in early and leave our car at no extra cost to catch a tram into the city for a matinee show. Breakfast was lovely in the cafe where once again the staff were attentive and friendly.The eggs were cooked to perfection! It is in a central location within a 5 minute walk from the beach,Luna park, the Sunday market and restaurants. I will definitely stay here again!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharonoshan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Fantastic stay in a delux room. Booked on wotif and what a stay. Very quiet, didn't hear anyone in room - facing carpark side. Free parking and wifi! King bed so comfy, buffet breakfast included great value with eggs cooked to your liking and croissants, oj and apple juice. Staff were so polite and helpful - helping with trams, dinner rec or anything else. Dvds for free hire. Great position right near Luna park and the tram that goes straight to the city - so easy getting to regent theatre, mcg and Hisense Arena. Shower pressure was amazing and products were lemongrass and smelt amazing. Actually even the hallways and reception area smelt great - must spray something regularly. Can't recommend any better!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kismicallychal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel whist in the area for a family wedding, found the staff more than helpful, if they didn't have an answer they would find out for you.
The room was clean and the bed comfortable which is all you need when out all day site seeing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Kim M,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards

Hayley Williams
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel/motel deserves a very good/excellent rating but it's 2014 and I can no longer tolerate these 10.00am checkouts & the only thing that will make hoteliers change is poor reviews. Well commonsense and the fact that the rest of the world have 11.00am or noon checkouts.

Great location, excellent parking, very friendly reception staff - free DVDs and current magazines in reception. We had a studio apartment, the bathroom was a bit tired but nothing to complain about, the studio was spacious & perfect for our needs.

Exceptional value when you consider that parking & wifi included ( free wifi being another area where Australia is lagging behind)

I should say we had no problem getting an 11.00am checkout but in 2014 in the "hospitality " industry I shouldn't have to ask. Have written to their head office asking if their directors like being evicted at 10.00am :)

Stay here but join campaign for 11.00am checkout

Room Tip: Top floor to avoid noisy guests above you .
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elestoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Elestoban,

Thank you for getting in touch with us and reviewing our hotel, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate your feedback relating to our current 10am check out time. For the benefit of future travellers the Cosmo is in the process of implementing a later 11am check out as of the 1st of July.

Once again Elestoban thank you for your glowing feedback and we hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards

Hayley Williams
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

we asked for twin room and received a large King and single bed, staff at the desk very informative and welcoming; checkout quick and efficient included in our stay a great buffet breakfast better then some 5* places we have stayed at. car-parking a real bonus, location terrific used tram to travel to CBD will certainly come back to explore more this site of Town.

Room Tip: closed the window at night so tram did not bother us, maybe choose one facing the carpark
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christiane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Christiane C,

Thank you so much for writing your review of the Cosmopolitan Hotel.

We are very happy to see you enjoyed your stay and loved the room and breakfast. Yes the off street parking at no extra cost is a bonus.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Warmest regards,

Hayley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel as it was well located in st kilda, and we were staying for a wedding nearby. From the moment we checked in, the staff were very friendly and helpful, immediately offering to upgrade our room for a small charge as we had booked a smaller room for 4 nights. The room was very new and spacious, and the facilities were great. Overall I had no complaints and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SantosClause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear SantosClause,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review the Cosmopolitan Hotel.

I am so pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Warmest regards,

Hayley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.4 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
463 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#9 of 19 in St Kilda
258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartments Ink
Apartments Ink
#5 of 19 in St Kilda
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne

Address: 2 - 8 Carlisle St | St Kilda Beach, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#1 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range: £60 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the action of Melbourne’s favourite beachside playground, this 86 room boutique hotel is a perfect base to explore St Kilda, Melbourne, and its surrounds. Moments away from St Kilda Beach, Palais Theatre, Iconic Luna Park as well as famous Acland Street cake shops, cafes, restaurants, and bars.   There's so much to explore and quite a bit of history too. Influenced by St Kilda's entertaining scene in the 50s to 70s, Cosmopolitan was once known as the Rock and Roll hotel, popular with a number of great Aussie icons and international performers.   Catering to all budgets whether it be for business or leisure, Cosmopolitan Hotel has accommodation styles to suit all needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - By 8 St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing