We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff and affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Certificate of Excellence
Port Fairy, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Lovely staff and affordable”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I really liked most things about this hotel - it's affordable, spacious, has free parking and the staff are excellent. By far the best value in St Kilda. I struggled with how to rate this hotel - it's great, but travellers should be aware that it's location can have some drawbacks.

We stayed in room A202, a 2 bedroom apartment, and there was lots of room for our family, including my baby daughter. The king size bed was wonderful (although the second bedroom is a little stuffy) and the kitchen facilities were appreciated. The room was clean and I loved the louvred windows and view. The free wifi was fast, and we had no connection problems (possibly a first in hotel history?)

It's very noisy though - 2 of the 3 nights we stayed there were parties in adjacent rooms and balconies and we didn't get much sleep. Staff were helpful when we complained, but the silence was often short lived. The chairs on the balcony walkways seem to encourage these late night sessions.

Maybe it's too much to expect quiet in an area like St Kilda - I love the place, but as a new mum, I don't have the energy for it any more.

Room Tip: Consider your tolerance to noise - high up and away from the street may help
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear EmmaAust,

Thank you very much for your review and for sharing your impression of our staff and location!

I am very sorry to hear that your sleep was disrupted by the external noise. We are lucky enough to be located in the central hub of St Kilda, however as you mentioned the vibrancy outside can sometimes interrupt a light sleeper. We always try our best to find a room appointment that appeal to each individual’s needs. But as you mentioned to review our in-house noise policy we are currently going through the same to avoid same issues in the future.

Thank you again for staying and for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards
Hayley Williams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    592
    189
    62
    42
See reviews for
339
553
143
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Truly adequate room for the price we paid. Value for money. Friendly staff made for a great vibe at the hotel, very welcoming. We were required to exit out onto a balcony area to get to our room- would have beenconcerning if it was raining. Free dvd hire from reception was great way to keep kids entertained in the late evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jolicamad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear jolicamad,

Thank you very much for your review and for sharing your impression of our staff and location!

Our Cosmo Twin rooms are a fantastic/cost effective way to accommodate a family for four. We do indeed offer other room categories featuring different appointments across the property. Our friendly staffs are always more than happy to talk you through these options to find what best suits your needs. Glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our Free DVD selection and for our other readers we do offer complimentary Magazines to read if that interests you.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warmest regards
Hayley Williams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Absolutely loved this hotel. Staff were sophisticated yet friendly. Allowed us to check in early and provided us with excellent advice regarding getting around Melbourne and sights to see. Buffet breakfast was included in our package and was definitely worth getting up for (served until 10am). Room was very dark due to excellent block-out curtains, perfect for sleeping in. Room seemed to be recently renovated. Lovely bathroom and modern, stylish fittings and decor. Also felt very clean and smelled gorgeous. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 112 is our tip, gorgeous, quiet and dark in the mornings. Close to elevator and internal stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Sonja M,

Thanks for your very kind words about the Cosmopolitan and its staff. I see from your comments that our popular Deluxe room was perfect for your stay which is great to hear. I am happy to see our staff could not only check you in early, but also offer advice on getting around and our options as well. Fantastic to read that our breakfast offer is worth to wakeup!

Thank you for you recommendation, and I certainly look forward to welcoming you back as well!

Warmest regards
Hayley Williams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Average hotel, I think we were in one of the more basic room, strange that we had to go outside to enter room....It was very cold and we were glad it wasn't raining. Room was spacious but bathroom was very 'tired' and due for a facelift and an extension wouldn't hurt! Facilities in room good, beds were comfortable. Staff were very friendly and free parking available which is awesome in this area. Free wifi also available however signal very poor in our room. Overall, the price and location make it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ymm70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear ymm70,

At the Cosmopolitan Hotel we are afforded a unique building design which allows our guests easy access to our rooms. As you would have seen, the property stretches across three hotel wings which are made up of an eclectic mix of 8 room categories. I am absolutely delighted that you found our team to be so friendly on your stay! Thank you for also mentioning the comfort of the bed in your room. We know how hard it is to find parking in St Kilda, yet alone free, so we love being able to offer this great service to our guests at no extra cost, and it’s even better to hear when it is so appreciated by guests – thank you!

Warmest regards
Hayley Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay. Free upgrade when checking in. Comfy, clean accommodation. Super helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. Only downer was having to eventually check out. Will definitely be back soon.
Thanks Renee and Geoff Fischer

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Geoff,

Thank you so much for sharing your fantastic feedback and giving us a 5 star review! Thank you for noting the comfort of our beds, we have fitted our beds with luxurious micro-cloud toppers in all rooms! Thank you for your comments regarding the rooms’ cleanliness, the breakfast offer and our super friendly team.

Thank you again for staying and for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards
Hayley Williams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have just come back from another relaxing stay at this great hotel. This time we were in a Cosmo deluxe room which is spacious and comfortable. This is our 4th or 5th time staying at the Cosmopolitan and it never disappoints. The room - clean, roomy, kingsize really comfortable bed, soft sheets, great pillows. The staff - helpful and friendly. We decided to extend our stay by a night and this was handled with the usual efficiency. This hotel has become our home away from home when we visit Melbourne.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GortyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear GortyGirl,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us once again and for your review! We love our return guests for sure!

It is refreshing to read your view of considering our hotel as your home away from home. I am also thrilled you had the comfortable sleep in one of our beds; I will pass on the great feedback to our team!

We really appreciate your recommendations and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warmest regards
Hayley Williams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were very happy with our choice of accommodation. It came on the recommendation of a local and didn't disappoint. It was in great walking distance of restaurants and cafes, The Esplanade, St Kilda Pier, Palais Theatre, St Kilda Community Gardens and Luna Park. The hotel staff were pleasant and helpful. Our accom included a buffet breakfast for both mornings however as were were leaving early one of the mornings the staff allowed us to 'brown bag' some food to keep in our fridge in the room for the next day for breakfast. The rooms were clean and quiet and the bedding was very comfortable. We will defiantly stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 116 on the first floor and it was lovely and quiet. We could take the stairs easil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Vicki J,

It is great to hear that we lived up to the positive recommendations and you have decided to share your own for others to read. I am delighted you found our location to be most convenient and enjoyed our friendly service. I am glad that we were able to accommodate your request for the next day for breakfast.

Thank you again for staying and for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards
Hayley Williams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
0.4 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#9 of 19 in St Kilda
253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartments Ink
Apartments Ink
#5 of 19 in St Kilda
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
Address: 2 - 8 Carlisle St | St Kilda Beach, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#1 Best Value Hotel in St Kilda
#1 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the action of Melbourne’s favourite beachside playground, this 86 room boutique hotel is a perfect base to explore St Kilda, Melbourne, and its surrounds. Moments away from St Kilda Beach, Palais Theatre, Iconic Luna Park as well as famous Acland Street cake shops, cafes, restaurants, and bars.   There's so much to explore and quite a bit of history too. Influenced by St Kilda's entertaining scene in the 50s to 70s, Cosmopolitan was once known as the Rock and Roll hotel, popular with a number of great Aussie icons and international performers.   Catering to all budgets whether it be for business or leisure, Cosmopolitan Hotel has accommodation styles to suit all needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - By 8 St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing