We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, can be loud”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a well located hotel close to the beach and town. We stayed one night in a large room.
We had to go out the back of reception, through the car park and up a couple of flights of stairs to get into the room. It was more like apartment blocks than a hotel.
We had a large room with nice bathroom and small kitchen. It was a good room but I could hear everything going on in the other rooms and outside. The walls were very thin and there was a young group of people partying which kept me up. Luckily we were only there one night. If we stayed longer I would have asked to move. The staff were very friendly and I am sure it wouldn't have been a problem.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SamJoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear SamJoL.

I am sorry to hear that the external noise was a source of discomfort on this stay with us. I have said it many times before, our location in the heart of St Kilda regrettably does not make us immune to the hustle and bustle of our neighbourhood; however you can really not beat our positioning!
The hotel spans across three -wings and our 8 room types on offer are all unique in their style, features, and price. We cater for guests who may be light sleepers, but also still looking for a reasonable priced room. For example our Cosmo Studio rooms tucked away in our Acland Wing, are a perfect choice! Due to the open plan of our building, there are a number of outside areas for guests to enjoy. Additionally our team members are happy and available 24/7 to follow up on any concerns our guests may have, at the time.

Hope to see you again soon,

Warmest regards
Hayley Williams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,095 - 1,101 of 1,607 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed at the Cosmopolitan for four nights and enjoyed it.
Location is good, close to the trams and walking distance from the shops and beach. Although the hotel is central to St Kilda, it is some distance from the city. We had easy access into the city but it took at least 30 minutes to get there. We hired a car from nearby and had no trouble driving to and from the motel.
The room was very clean and daily cleaning kept it that way.
One small discomfort was the sound of a drip whenever it rained. However, in the end we could tune it out.
The rooms are not posh or modern but they are comfortable and clean. Every time I came in at night it felt like home, very comfortable and relaxing.
Breakfast was good. Good range of food to suit various styles. Coffee wasn't special.
I would stay here again if I come back to melbourne. I liked the atmosphere in the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dip69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Dip69,

Clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation with a friendly atmosphere is exactly what we strive for at the Cosmopolitan Hotel. To hear that we have succeeded in offering you this experience for extended 4 day stay, is really wonderful and thank you very much for calling us “A home” and sharing your view!
Thank you for mentioning the breakfast and I can assure you that we are working to get our coffee up to the mark.
Hopefully we will see you again in the near future!

Warmest regards,
Hayley Williams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Had a night stay! Just love their service and their staff are really friendly especially Ben. :) Special thanks to Ben for he's really helpful and friendly.

The location is good, can easily get to the beach area, Luna park, cafes and some pubs. Trams are easily accessible and you they could bring you to the train station.

The room is clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sevon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Sevon F,

Like yourself the majority of our guests are very impressed with our location which is literally a 2 minute walk to Acland Street and 3 minutes to Luna Park and a short stroll to the beach. Thank you for commending Ben for this services and I am sure he will be glad the hear this.

Hope to see you again soon,

Warmest regards
Hayley Williams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I travel to Melbourne for business and stay at the Cosmo because it's affordable and so central to everything. Free wifi and secure parking is an excellent added bonus, and the staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Merryn P,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and mention some of our facilities that we offer along with our great service. It’d be our pleasure to hear that you consider us as your home away from home and it goes a long way for us to have you mention this in your review!

Hope to see soon!

Warmest regards
Hayley Williams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I really liked most things about this hotel - it's affordable, spacious, has free parking and the staff are excellent. By far the best value in St Kilda. I struggled with how to rate this hotel - it's great, but travellers should be aware that it's location can have some drawbacks.

We stayed in room A202, a 2 bedroom apartment, and there was lots of room for our family, including my baby daughter. The king size bed was wonderful (although the second bedroom is a little stuffy) and the kitchen facilities were appreciated. The room was clean and I loved the louvred windows and view. The free wifi was fast, and we had no connection problems (possibly a first in hotel history?)

It's very noisy though - 2 of the 3 nights we stayed there were parties in adjacent rooms and balconies and we didn't get much sleep. Staff were helpful when we complained, but the silence was often short lived. The chairs on the balcony walkways seem to encourage these late night sessions.

Maybe it's too much to expect quiet in an area like St Kilda - I love the place, but as a new mum, I don't have the energy for it any more.

Room Tip: Consider your tolerance to noise - high up and away from the street may help
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmmaAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear EmmaAust,

Thank you very much for your review and for sharing your impression of our staff and location!

I am very sorry to hear that your sleep was disrupted by the external noise. We are lucky enough to be located in the central hub of St Kilda, however as you mentioned the vibrancy outside can sometimes interrupt a light sleeper. We always try our best to find a room appointment that appeal to each individual’s needs. But as you mentioned to review our in-house noise policy we are currently going through the same to avoid same issues in the future.

Thank you again for staying and for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards
Hayley Williams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Truly adequate room for the price we paid. Value for money. Friendly staff made for a great vibe at the hotel, very welcoming. We were required to exit out onto a balcony area to get to our room- would have beenconcerning if it was raining. Free dvd hire from reception was great way to keep kids entertained in the late evening.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jolicamad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear jolicamad,

Thank you very much for your review and for sharing your impression of our staff and location!

Our Cosmo Twin rooms are a fantastic/cost effective way to accommodate a family for four. We do indeed offer other room categories featuring different appointments across the property. Our friendly staffs are always more than happy to talk you through these options to find what best suits your needs. Glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our Free DVD selection and for our other readers we do offer complimentary Magazines to read if that interests you.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warmest regards
Hayley Williams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Absolutely loved this hotel. Staff were sophisticated yet friendly. Allowed us to check in early and provided us with excellent advice regarding getting around Melbourne and sights to see. Buffet breakfast was included in our package and was definitely worth getting up for (served until 10am). Room was very dark due to excellent block-out curtains, perfect for sleeping in. Room seemed to be recently renovated. Lovely bathroom and modern, stylish fittings and decor. Also felt very clean and smelled gorgeous. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 112 is our tip, gorgeous, quiet and dark in the mornings. Close to elevator and internal stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sonja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Sonja M,

Thanks for your very kind words about the Cosmopolitan and its staff. I see from your comments that our popular Deluxe room was perfect for your stay which is great to hear. I am happy to see our staff could not only check you in early, but also offer advice on getting around and our options as well. Fantastic to read that our breakfast offer is worth to wakeup!

Thank you for you recommendation, and I certainly look forward to welcoming you back as well!

Warmest regards
Hayley Williams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.4 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
499 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
377 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne

Address: 2 - 8 Carlisle St | St Kilda Beach, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#1 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range: £66 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the action of Melbourne’s favourite beachside playground, this 86 room boutique hotel is a perfect base to explore St Kilda, Melbourne, and its surrounds. Moments away from St Kilda Beach, Palais Theatre, Iconic Luna Park as well as famous Acland Street cake shops, cafes, restaurants, and bars. There's so much to explore and quite a bit of history too. Influenced by St Kilda's entertaining scene in the 50s to 70s, Cosmopolitan was once known as the Rock and Roll hotel, popular with a number of great Aussie icons and international performers. Catering to all budgets whether it be for business or leisure, Cosmopolitan Hotel has accommodation styles to suit all needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - By 8 St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing