We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what its raved about to be.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BASE Backpackers St Kilda
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not what its raved about to be.”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed in Base for 4 nights but wasn't as impressed as I thought I would be. Heard many good things about the Hostel however, I could take it or leave it.
Stayed in a 8 then 10 bed dorm (8 dorm was $40 which is pretty expensive!) and the rooms didn't seem that clean. One morning there was glass on the carpet what someone must have brought in from theirs shoes, I cleaned it up straight away before the cleaners to save an accident. I came home that evening and the room hadn't been hoovered, so was a good job I did!! The bathrooms are anything flash and the walls are pretty thin! The sanitary bin STANK! And clearly hadn't been emptied for days and days, which is pretty gross.
Beds are pretty good, and I liked that you had lockers under them.
The food in the bar was amazing, ate there a few nights. GET THE WINGS! And was offered a free bottle of Trevi one evening, don't get that in alot of places :)
I wouldn't recommend this place if your not out to party (we were unaware) You can hear the music from your room until early hours, I have to put in ear plugs.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EveryonewantstheD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hi there!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us! We appreciate all feedback given.

We're upset to hear that we did not exceed your expectations of us. During our summer months our prices do go up - however we do provide many free activities like yoga, run club, daily tours and games in the bar.

Regarding the cleaning - we have communicated with our house keeping team to ensure a situation like yours does not arise again. We appreciate you cleaning it up yourself however, feel free to tell Reception and we can come do it for you as well - day or night :-)

Other than that it seemed like you enjoyed your stay with us which is what we like to hear. We hope to again welcome you back to Base St Kilda or another Base property in the hopes we can exceed your expectations of us.

Best wishes and safe travels,

BASE CREW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    119
    95
    50
    41
See reviews for
5
63
163
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in December, just before Christmas. Arrived at the hostel fairly early in the morning (9-ish). Were able to check in but not go to our room until after 10am when everyone else checked out. We were given storage for our bags and went off to explore St.Kilda itself. The shops are brilliant, could have spent a fortune. Lots of restaurants, though steer clear of Nando's, its rubbish!!
When we returned to go to our room we were originally given a shared 4 bed dorm, however, a mix up had occurred and there was only 1 bed available. immediately staff sorted the problem and gave us a private room at no extra cost..... a bonus!!
The hostel does what it says on the tin, clean rooms, en-suite bathrooms, nothing overly fancy.
It is very noisy on party nights and you need to fight your way through the queue outside to get in.
Used the shuttle from the airport to get to the hostel and was pleasantly surprised that it was free for those staying 3 nights or more.

Room Tip: as high as possible to get away from the noise of the nightclub....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannahkaten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hi
Thanks for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Melbourne, St Kilda. We take these reviews super seriously, and are really appreciative of you taking the time to complete one for us. It sounds like you had a great stay with us which was fantastic to read and exactly what we would hope for.

We hope to again welcome you back to Base St Kilda or another Base property in the near future.

Best Regards & Happy Travels,

Raph Kozminsky
Rooms Manager
base St Kilda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I booked Base due to the fact I had previously stayed here for 7 weeks in Oct - Dec 2012 and had enjoyed my stay.

Because I was staying over Australia Day/Open weekend the price was increased - this happens for various events throughout the year.
I was staying more than 3 nights so I recieved a free transfer from Melbourne airport which was good.

When I arrived I was able to put my things into my room although the bed hadn't been changed - this was fine as I just wanted a shower after a long flight. Bathroom decent size. Beds comfortable - little worn.
I had previously stayed in a 10 bed dorm but due to availibility this time I was in an 8 bed dorm. The thing I like about this hostel is that everyone is really friendly and you'll always talk to the people in your room if you make the effort.

Compared to my last stay I found this time round a little disappointing. The place seemed run down and in need of a lick of paint. The bathroom even once cleaned (daily) seemed dirty. The room is hoovered every other day.

Last time I stayed I had a room overlooking the middle of the hostel (10 bed), this time I had a room over-looking the street (8 bed) and suprisingly I seemed to be able to hear the music from the bar more this side. Having previously stayed I knew to take ear plugs so this didn't overly bother me.

I didn't eat in the bar this time but they do provide good food at good prices and have offers on each night. Thursday (Ladies night) is by far the most popular night and is always Pumping. Monday (Bingo) is a good laugh too.

There is a 24 hour McDonalds nearby. St Kilda beach is a 5 minute walk. Supermarkets - Coles & Woolworths - are both a couple of minutes away along with some great restaurants. Galleon do a great breakfast. Bluecorn, Mexican on Barkly St & Grill'd - amazing fresh burgers! Tram line a minutes walk and these will take you to the Botanical Gardens and into the city.

Taking Tram 96 into Albert Park has some good restaurants and South Melbourne market is a good place to hit - I LOVE the food here!!

Overall location is fab, but the place does seem run down. Not sure if I would return..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dani_lea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hi
Thanks for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Melbourne, St Kilda. We appreciate you taking the time to compete the online survey. It sounds like you pretty much enjoyed your stay with us which is great to hear and what we aim for!

We do try and repaint and update our rooms during our winter months so we're sorry if we missed spots! It's reviews like yours that help us keep our hostel in tip top condition so thank you for pointing these issues out.

We hope to again welcome you back to Base St Kilda or another Base property in the near future.

Best Regards & Happy Travels,

Georgia Mackay
Rooms Manager
base St Kilda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This place is more like a hotel than a backpackers hostel.

Everything is very modern and clean and the place had security locks in the lifts and every corridor.

Location was great, close to the beach. Opposite Luna Park and the tram stops.

This place does have everything including an onsite bar, where EVERYONE goes, be prepared for a great night.

This really was a slice luxury compared to what we where used to, the only downside it is very pricey

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hi
Thanks for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Melbourne, St Kilda. We take these reviews super seriously, and are really appreciative of you taking the time to complete one for us. It sounds like you had a great stay with us which was fantastic to read and exactly what we would hope for.

We hope to again welcome you back to Base St Kilda or another Base property in the near future.

Best Regards & Happy Travels,

Georgia Mackay
Rooms Manager
base St Kilda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I could be very negative, but lets focus on the fact it is a backpackers budget hostel and that is all, it is conveniently located to the beach and many shops and amenities. Tram located convenient to Luna Park number 16 and also 96 will take you direct to Federation square, the city, great way to get around. Base can book tours for you which is good too and pick up from outside but be warned you may get dumped back at their office and find your own way back from Fed Square. Melbourne is lovely and on a very budget stay Base is the advisable option, but do not expect much sleep, clean rooms, replenished towels or usual typical amenities it won't happen, it does provide the typical hostel facilities for laundry, bar, deals and good nights in, but you really want to be out and about to have fun and enjoy the area. The female staff are all miserable, the two male we encountered were much better and more approachable. This is solely for backpackers on budget between 18 and 30 years of age to fit in and accept their operation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEPHEN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Hi!

Here at Base we work really hard and ensuring staff atmosphere is awesome and feedback that our staff were grumpy is seriously disappointing! If you had a few minutes please e-mail me at Georgia.mackay@stayatbase.com and let me know exactly who the staff were so that we can address those issues with them individually.

Comments like yours are vital to improving our service to travellers so please email me so we can discuss this further and better the experience people have in our Hostel. We really appreciate the time you’ve taken to write a review for us.

BASE MANAGEMENT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed at Base solo in one of the private rooms on the first floor. Everyone who worked there was super friendly, the price was reasonable, and the room was very clean and pretty nice, though not hotel-level--duh! it's a hostel!

There was noise, but again, it's a hostel, and it usually totally subsided by 1am. I come from NYC and I have a naturally late bedtime. This did not bother me. I wouldn't be staying in a hostel if it was very important for me to be in bed by like, 10pm. But they do provide ear plugs! Pleasant dreams!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vintagedeathray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hi there!

Thanks for taking the time to complete an online survey. We appreciate all feedback but it's ones like yours that we aim for!

We hope to again welcome you back to Base St Kilda or another Base property in the near future.

Best Regards & Happy Travels,

Rooms Manager
Base St Kilda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This hostel is a great place to stay in if your travelling by yourself. The bar and daily events in the hostel make it easy to meet new people. It's clean with every room having its own en-suite. The staff were really friendly and made the stay a home away from home. Also you can't go wrong with the location with it only being a 5 minute walk away from the beach and St Kilda high street being right next door. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit to Melbourne.

Room Tip: If your a girl stay in the girl only dorms because you get extra perks with them such as a free towe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cls131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hi

Thanks for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Melbourne, St Kilda. We appreciate you taking the time to compete the online survey. I was particularly pleased to read that you rated your overall experience as 10 out of 10!! So, It sounds like you had a great stay with us which was fantastic to read and exactly what we would hope for.

We hope to again welcome you back to Base St Kilda or another Base property in the near future.

Best Regards & Happy Travels,

Rooms Manager
Base St Kilda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.0 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BASE Backpackers St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BASE Backpackers St Kilda

Property: BASE Backpackers St Kilda
Address: 17 Carlisle St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — BASE Backpackers St Kilda 2*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BASE Backpackers St Kilda offers the best in high quality Budget St Kilda accommodation. With a range of small and large mix dorms, private Queen Rooms and the exclusive Girls only Sanctuary dorms, we have a room for all fun loving budget conscious travelers, we are the closest hostel in Melbourne to the iconic St Kilda Beach & have the PUMPING Red Eye Bar on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BASE Backpackers St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Hotel St Kilda
BASE Backpackers St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing