We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent and comfortable stay there”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barkly Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barkly Apartments
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent and comfortable stay there”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We I mean I and my partner stayed there for three nights a couple weeks ago. That is a serviced apartment which contains pretty much everything that tenants need. The check-in and check-out service was really quick. The room was clean and tidy. That apartment possesses a central location in St Kilda area which means you are able to go anywhere around there with walking distance. All the towels, sheets and pillow cases are new. We felt comfortable to live there. Barkly apartments still will be our top choice next time if we go Melbourne for visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor with backyard Rooms on first or second floor with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    14
    12
    9
    4
See reviews for
17
14
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stay here every time we come to Melbourne, the added bonus for us is we can bring our dog.
There is an additional fee for cleaning, but it is a one off no matter how long you stay, and for us it is almost as cheap as using a kennel.The new owners have done an outstanding job of refurbishment and the place is exceptionally clean, and they are always very helpful and accommodating. The location is excellent, Acland Street, Cafes, Restaurants, St. Kilda Beach, Luna Park and Balaclava Road shopping centre are within a stone's throw. The Tram is a minutes walk away and takes you into the CBD and other places. There is also secure parking off street. We find it quite a roomy apartment with everything you need including a washing machine and dryer if needed. Some nights can be a bit noisy but that is St. Kilda.

Room Tip: Apartments at the rear can be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Main Beach, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Got no signal on wifi. 5 cable channels, 3 of them fox sports, one sky news and one national geographic which didn't even work. Main heater was terrible, you'd get more warmth from a hair dryer. Maybe because it was trying to battle the freezing draft that was coming through the 2cm gap around the door. Modern kitchen was far from modern. Decor and furnishings was very very dated. The couch was bottomed out so when you sat down you sunk into it. There was drip stains down the wall from the air conditioner/heater.
Transvestite prostitutes lived in the same apartments and operated on a nightly basis. The shower was on the opposite wall to what it should be so you actually had to stand sideways in the shower. There was no soap provided to wash your hands with until the second last night of our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barkly5000, Manager at Barkly Apartments, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thanks for your feedbacks. You leave the room so messy and full of smoking smell, our housekeep spend 3 times work to clean your room than other rooms, and we cannot put another guest in for a week, due to the strong smoking smell.
The Wifi signal in our apartments is quite strong no matter where you stand. We have six foxtel channels and full digital channels in every apartment. All of the channels working perfectly, we checked before you arrival. There are a heater and cooling air-conditioning system in every apartment. Even if you still feel cold after switching them on, you can ask one more portable heater from us.
The couch in your apartment can sit up to two our staff and never sunk in, that is why we feel confused about how come you sunk into it.
The prostitutes and bad behave persons are not welcome at our apartments, if we find such persons we always kick them out, In your review you complain about the prostitutes in our apartments. We do not have the authority to ask our guest's occupation and what their purpose stays here because if we do, our guest’s privacy might be offended. When you find one you needed to inform us or police of what you discovered (prostitutes living here, if this was real), we absolutely would kick them out. However, we never got that kind of information from you or others. The only thing that we would say sorry is that maybe the housekeepers forgot to put the soap in the room for your first night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Kilda hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in April 2011 for about 4 nights. The apartment was very tiny and smelt badly of smoke. It was very noisy and we could hear traffic and pedestrians all night. It's not far from pubs and seemed to have drunks walking past yelling out randomly through the night.
On the plus side it was cheap and a very short walk to St Kilda cafe strip, the beach and Luna Park.
It might be suitable for adults traveling on a budget, but not suitable for families.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridge1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

just spent the weekend in melbourne for my daughters 18th and this place made my trip fuss free ...well positioned, clean, well equipped apartment and lovely staff.will definately stay there again.tram across the road , best restaurants on your doorstep, the very best cakes and coffee on acland street ...again just 2 minute walk from your room.

Room Tip: listen to music to drown out the traffic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kj0st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The hotel was shabby and in need of TLC. The kitchen facilities were less than basic :/ We stayed there for 3 nights during the October break and we were less than impressed with the facilities. It should really only be a 1 star apartment. Would not recommend to anybody and we will definitely never be going back there.
The free wifi was ridiculously slow and the tv reception was lamatable.
The one positive was location

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Travelling4scotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barkly5000, Front Office Manager at Barkly Apartments, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
hi,
we can not find your name from our booking record, and also no sydney family stayed over 3 nights on October, if you think you reviewed the right place, please contact us with your booking ID.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.1 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#7 of 19 in St Kilda
234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barkly Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barkly Apartments

Property: Barkly Apartments
Address: 180 Barkly St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barkly Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barkly Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barkly Apartments St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing