We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, incl. breakfast, nice staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ritz for Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ritz for Backpackers
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean, incl. breakfast, nice staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights in mid July 2013. Paid $27 a night for a 3 person dorm share, so reasonable. The room and bathroom facilities were VERY clean, I was really impressed. The shower was hot with great water pressure and the kitchen was well- equipped. I took advantage of the free pancake breakfast twice and it was really nice. The staff were very friendl too. It was also a really easy, short tram ride to the "downtown" CBD. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmac122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    12
    12
    19
    33
See reviews for
3
34
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

I stayed here at the beginning of June 2013 and had my worst experience of a hostel yet (and I've stayed in a lot of hostels)

The worst thing was the base music from the clubs downstairs until 3am, it was so bad that our room/walls/bed vibrated! I'm not the complaining type and I definitely don't mind a party but if you need to get some sleep (I had an important meeting the next day) it's just not possible.

I mentioned this to the staff who were rude and unhelpful, they stated that there was nothing they could do about the place downstairs which is fair enough but they should warn you before you book a night there and not be so miserable all the time.

I wouldn't recommend to anyone, there's much better hostels available in Melbourne. Habitiat HQ being one of them!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5kirky5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Kilda hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

On arrival, we were greeted by an adult member of staff (who unfortunatly for us) we never saw him again.
The Hostel is run by 'The Click' who are large group of people that have lived and worked at the Ritz for months. We found them to be very intimidating and difficult to speak to on some occassions. It was very apparent we were the new people coming into their home and found it difficult to enter into conversation with them.
A very big problem in the hostel was noise. I understand that its not going to be a quiet enviroment living in a hostel but noise continues from the early evening on to 4am some nights, with the common room playing music constantly. There was noone around to control and keep the noise down as the 'click' run and do most of the night shifts.
If your in one of the rooms on 1st floor between, common room, smoking area and kitchen, theres never any quiet time... good luck.
Underneath the hostel theres a pub, which again if your on the 1st floor, you will hear the through out the night, not forgetting the live band and DJ that plays till 5am in the morning, our windows shook.
As for the standards of the room, there was no double glazing, we could hear everything outside, for this time of year its cold and we had a constant draft. Could of done with an extra pillow. Needs carpet in the hall ways as girls like to play cat walk down the hall ways on the wooden floor.
Kitchen was terrible untidy and not cleaned, cutlery had to be re washed before use.
Showers... where do i start..
Flithy, cold, and could do with a few more, same goes for the tolites.
I honestly dont understand how any backpacker could stay here while working. I havn't had a decent nights sleep in the whole 7 days i have been here. As for the free breakfast... well if your offered any that would be a good start as we sure wasnt.
I will not be recommending this hostel to anyone and will definately not stay here again!

Room Tip: Do not get a room on 1st floor. To much noise from common room, smoking area and kitchen, and the pu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Von S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

I think the Ritz for Backpackers gets a tough time on tripadvisor - i was dreading this place but it really wasn't that bad at all!!

The bathrooms were clean and the shower was awesome! My boyfriend and I had room 208 which was very clean.  There was a laminated floor which was great as most hostels I've been to in Oz have ancient sticky, smelly carpets in the rooms!   Bed was really comfy and the bedding was nice and clean.  Laundry was cheap and fast!!!

Location was great, plenty of tram stops nearby and only a 20 min ride to the city. It's only a few minutes walk to lots of bars and restaurants and about 10 mins walk to Acland St which has even more bars ad restaurants. 

As for cheap deals on drink in St Kilda...after 7pm you've had it (this seems to be the case all over Melbourne)  but Apartment 29 on Fitzroy St has good deals all night if you can put up with the terrible music. 

The Ritz is above a pub, we only heard the loud music on the Friday night, it was really loud but the only way around it is to get drunk...sleeping through the noise is so much easier! 

A lot of the complaints on this place seem to be about unfriendly long term guests. There are a lot of long term guests there but not one of them were unfriendly towards us.  We were out and about quite a lot so didn't really attempt to make friends but several people said hi to us and we chatted to a few people over tasty free pancakes in the morning.  The pancakes were also offered round by other guests. I think that most people in the hostel have been there a while and know one another really well so a newcomer on their own might find it a little intimidating. 

A few of downsides would be...

- The guests are all very young (early 20s if not younger) so they do like to party into the night!

- There was a fire escape outside our room window which people would go smoke / chat on, annoying in the middle of the night as we like to sleep with the window open.

- Kitchen was dirty and old, it definitely is not at the same standard as the rest of the hostel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlenedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

On arrival we were met by a friendly member of staff who showed us to the rooms every moment after was a living nightmare. The bathrooms were disgusting and the living room formidable. Few guests passed a quick smile but most didnt hold back on the glares. As if we had just intruded into their homes. Rooms are of average size with little to no storage. Anyone who likes less than 5 hours sleep this is your place. There is free wifi in the living area only, so if you don't mind sitting uncomfortably with a group of people who don't want you there then be the ritz guest!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockyroader5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I have never felt less welcome at a hostel, there is a large group that have clearly been here for a long time and dominate the place in an intimidating manor. The showers and toilet facilities are all mixed gender and covered in hair and dirty foot marks, one even splattered with blood? The kitchen was also dirty and the rooms cramped with no space to store belongings.
The best thing about the place is being able to leave and go to the delights of the nearby restaurants, bars and the beach.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else to stay!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenWen_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We spent a few nights here last summer. The sleep wasn't great thanks to the noise from the downstairs bar and the lorries turning outside and the fact we only had a small flat pillow didn't help. The hostel is quite cliquey and when we tried to go for the free breakfast we were not helped at all and nothing was left by the time we tried to get something. The location is great and we found loads of amazing bars and restaurants in the local area. They let us keep our bags there when we left for two days to go to the great ocean road which was nice. If you want to party this place is great. However if you like to go out touring all day, stay up late but then want a good sleep, tis probably isn't the place for you. I hated coming back and not being able to get through the door because everybody was outside smoking sat on the step and not anting to move an inch to let you pass by. Rude rude rude! (Including some staff)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Kilda
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#101 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Habitat HQ
#1 of 18 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
St. Kilda Beach House
#2 of 18 in St Kilda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
BASE Backpackers St Kilda
#5 of 18 in St Kilda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ritz for Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritz for Backpackers

Property: Ritz for Backpackers
Address: 169B Fitzroy St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Speciality Lodging in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Ritz for Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz For Backpackers Hotel St Kilda
Ritz St Kilda
St Kilda Ritz-Carlton
Ritz For Backpackers St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing