We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ritz for Backpackers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ritz for Backpackers
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed at the Ritz for Backpackers in a double private room with shared bathroom. The hostel is located in St. Kilda and has a tram stop right outside its doors. There are another 2 tram stops within a short distance which are serviced by other routes just in case the no. 16 is having problems. The hostel claims to be the ritz of backpacking establishments and in some ways it is. They provide free towels and toiletries on check-in, an in room fridge, a massive kitchen and a good common area. However our weekend stay was marred by the noisy guests most of which are still trying to cling onto uni. life having just graduated and are now on a working holiday. Partying and fighting in the corridors at 3.30am is unfair on the other guests! Saying it was the hostel fault is a bit like blaming a football club for its fans behaviour, to some extent it is out of the hostel control, but the hostel needs to show some intolerance to noisy behaviour. If they don't things are only going to get worse. Not a bad stay but could have been a lot better!

Find out more about our big adventure and where we are going next at chipofftheoldblog.com

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ross_and_Sonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

No sleep, luckley we have ear plugs, head was bouncing in the morning. Very loud music and idiots shouting all night till 5am. Walls were bouncing the music was that loud.

The room was clean and totally acceptable for a hostel. Shower had moulded tiles. But at least had hot water.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Candbinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights in mid July 2013. Paid $27 a night for a 3 person dorm share, so reasonable. The room and bathroom facilities were VERY clean, I was really impressed. The shower was hot with great water pressure and the kitchen was well- equipped. I took advantage of the free pancake breakfast twice and it was really nice. The staff were very friendl too. It was also a really easy, short tram ride to the "downtown" CBD. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kmac122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I stayed here at the beginning of June 2013 and had my worst experience of a hostel yet (and I've stayed in a lot of hostels)

The worst thing was the base music from the clubs downstairs until 3am, it was so bad that our room/walls/bed vibrated! I'm not the complaining type and I definitely don't mind a party but if you need to get some sleep (I had an important meeting the next day) it's just not possible.

I mentioned this to the staff who were rude and unhelpful, they stated that there was nothing they could do about the place downstairs which is fair enough but they should warn you before you book a night there and not be so miserable all the time.

I wouldn't recommend to anyone, there's much better hostels available in Melbourne. Habitiat HQ being one of them!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 5kirky5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

On arrival, we were greeted by an adult member of staff (who unfortunatly for us) we never saw him again.
The Hostel is run by 'The Click' who are large group of people that have lived and worked at the Ritz for months. We found them to be very intimidating and difficult to speak to on some occassions. It was very apparent we were the new people coming into their home and found it difficult to enter into conversation with them.
A very big problem in the hostel was noise. I understand that its not going to be a quiet enviroment living in a hostel but noise continues from the early evening on to 4am some nights, with the common room playing music constantly. There was noone around to control and keep the noise down as the 'click' run and do most of the night shifts.
If your in one of the rooms on 1st floor between, common room, smoking area and kitchen, theres never any quiet time... good luck.
Underneath the hostel theres a pub, which again if your on the 1st floor, you will hear the through out the night, not forgetting the live band and DJ that plays till 5am in the morning, our windows shook.
As for the standards of the room, there was no double glazing, we could hear everything outside, for this time of year its cold and we had a constant draft. Could of done with an extra pillow. Needs carpet in the hall ways as girls like to play cat walk down the hall ways on the wooden floor.
Kitchen was terrible untidy and not cleaned, cutlery had to be re washed before use.
Showers... where do i start..
Flithy, cold, and could do with a few more, same goes for the tolites.
I honestly dont understand how any backpacker could stay here while working. I havn't had a decent nights sleep in the whole 7 days i have been here. As for the free breakfast... well if your offered any that would be a good start as we sure wasnt.
I will not be recommending this hostel to anyone and will definately not stay here again!

Room Tip: Do not get a room on 1st floor. To much noise from common room, smoking area and kitchen, and the pu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Von S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

I think the Ritz for Backpackers gets a tough time on tripadvisor - i was dreading this place but it really wasn't that bad at all!!

The bathrooms were clean and the shower was awesome! My boyfriend and I had room 208 which was very clean.  There was a laminated floor which was great as most hostels I've been to in Oz have ancient sticky, smelly carpets in the rooms!   Bed was really comfy and the bedding was nice and clean.  Laundry was cheap and fast!!!

Location was great, plenty of tram stops nearby and only a 20 min ride to the city. It's only a few minutes walk to lots of bars and restaurants and about 10 mins walk to Acland St which has even more bars ad restaurants. 

As for cheap deals on drink in St Kilda...after 7pm you've had it (this seems to be the case all over Melbourne)  but Apartment 29 on Fitzroy St has good deals all night if you can put up with the terrible music. 

The Ritz is above a pub, we only heard the loud music on the Friday night, it was really loud but the only way around it is to get drunk...sleeping through the noise is so much easier! 

A lot of the complaints on this place seem to be about unfriendly long term guests. There are a lot of long term guests there but not one of them were unfriendly towards us.  We were out and about quite a lot so didn't really attempt to make friends but several people said hi to us and we chatted to a few people over tasty free pancakes in the morning.  The pancakes were also offered round by other guests. I think that most people in the hostel have been there a while and know one another really well so a newcomer on their own might find it a little intimidating. 

A few of downsides would be...

- The guests are all very young (early 20s if not younger) so they do like to party into the night!

- There was a fire escape outside our room window which people would go smoke / chat on, annoying in the middle of the night as we like to sleep with the window open.

- Kitchen was dirty and old, it definitely is not at the same standard as the rest of the hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlenedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

On arrival we were met by a friendly member of staff who showed us to the rooms every moment after was a living nightmare. The bathrooms were disgusting and the living room formidable. Few guests passed a quick smile but most didnt hold back on the glares. As if we had just intruded into their homes. Rooms are of average size with little to no storage. Anyone who likes less than 5 hours sleep this is your place. There is free wifi in the living area only, so if you don't mind sitting uncomfortably with a group of people who don't want you there then be the ritz guest!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockyroader5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Kilda
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#115 of 161 in Melbourne
394 reviews
Habitat HQ
#1 of 17 in St Kilda
635 reviews
Base Backpackers St Kilda
#2 of 17 in St Kilda
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Summer House Backpackers
#3 of 17 in St Kilda
229 reviews
Barkly Backpackers
#5 of 17 in St Kilda
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ritz for Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritz for Backpackers

Address: 169B Fitzroy St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Speciality Lodging in St Kilda
Price Range: £17 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Ritz for Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz For Backpackers Hotel St Kilda
Ritz St Kilda
St Kilda Ritz-Carlton
Ritz For Backpackers St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing