We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and friendly service”
Review of Habitat HQ

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Habitat HQ
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at a private room, which was very clean and quiet. The staff were very friendly and always ready to help with concerns or just to give advice about local attractions. There were a couple of minor complications due to a booking mistake and some room problems, but these were dealt with promptly and professionally. The bar was cheap and the communal area was very spacious and nice looking for hostel standards. It's right next to a tram station and in the three nights we stayed, with regular to and fro-ing to the city, we rarely had to wait more than five minutes for transport either way.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dani_F00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
habitatmanager333, General Manager at Habitat HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Hi Dani,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.
Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay and yes we agree our locations is perfect to enjoy both the city and StKilda.
I apologize to hear about the hiccup on your check in, but pleased to hear that it was dealt with promptly and professionally.

Hope to have you back again soon,
Simone and the Habitat team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great staff, cheap bar, nice communal area but squeaky beds, few plug sockets in the rooms and not the best location for winter as it's 30-40mins into the city. For summer it would be great cos of the proximity to the beach. Only minor issues though, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
habitatmanager333, General Manager at Habitat HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your review.
I am sorry to hear you felt we were out of the way. With a great Tram system at our door which departs regularly and being so close to not only StKilda beach but all the amazing cafes and bars in Acland street we think we are in a fabulous location! But you are correct it is even more sensational in Summer!

Happy Travels

Simone and the Habitat team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Rooms were neat and basic and we were not expectng much for the price. Old Stains on sheets and build up of hair in shower drain put us off. Thank goodness we were only there for 1 night. Staff were great and very warm and accommodating. Our last visit to budget rooms.

Room Tip: ask has it been cleaned lately and am I getting clean sheets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denise s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
habitatmanager333, General Manager at Habitat HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Hi Denise,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Thank you for your kind words about our team.
All feedback is taken seriously and I apologize that you did not find our rooms to be of our usual high standard. We send our linen to a professional launderer as is industry standard for hotels and I will address the matter of your stained sheets with them.
I want to also apologize for the shower and again I apologize for the laps is our standards. I have addressed this with our Housekeeping team and as a result of your feedback have altered our drain cleaning products.

Simone and the Habitat team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed one night, in a private room with my two young children. Our room was spacious and well appointed and unexpectedly very quiet, we had a great sleep! There was tea & coffee facilities in the room and lovely white towels for us all.
The communal area or lounge had a fantastic vibe, with one of the reception guys getting on stage playing guitar and singing, which was just fantastic.
We headed off early for the snow, but we managed to get some of the free breakfast which had porridge, cereals and toast!! Really great value and very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MaccaMan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
habitatmanager333, General Manager at Habitat HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thanks Rob for your great review,
I am so pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay.
Please come and visit us again, and perhaps you will get a chance to stay longer and enjoy StKilda!

Simone and the Habitat team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I was traveling solo and had a 8 bunks and a bed at a corner room. Great hospitality from the staff and there are activities every night! I made few friends from my room which is great but of course this always depends on your luck.
Kitchen is huge but unfortunately I didn't used it much as I was always out, you can buy your groceries can cook there (be warned about the space to store thou, it's limited).
Bathroom is also huge but I wished there's a bench in the middle like those in gym to put our stuff once out of shower.
Room is slightly small when everyone has big bags around, so again pretty much depends on your roommates attitude. Comfy bed but no heater for the winter
Otherwise, it's a great stay throughout. Oh and they actually gave me a surprise on my birthday, which was sweet of them!

Room Tip: There's a drawer underneath the beds where you can keep your belongings, bring small padlocks if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jc_da_eek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
habitatmanager333, General Manager at Habitat HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your positive review. I am so pleased to hear you made new friends and enjoyed our lively nightly events!!
Thank you for your feedback regarding the bench in the bathroom, and while there is no space for the gym bench you suggested, it is certainly something I will look into!
I just wanted to touch on your comment about the heater. Although there is not a free standing heater in the rooms, our entire building is air conditioned and heated constantly to a temperature of 22 deg, year round.
I am glad you like your birthday cake surprise, our team love to make everyone feel at home!

Happy travels and come back and visit us again

Simone and the Habitat HQ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and wished we stayed longer! It's our first time to experience backpackers and it was a great experience. Booked for 4-bedroom but stayed in a 3-bedroom instead ;) toilets are being cleaned regularly, staff are very helpful and friendly (got locked out our room so many times) and location is great, tram is just across the road. Actually asked if they have a branch when we stayed in Sydney but unfortunately they don't (but I hope they do have soon) and to be honest I could've paid more for the price because of their excellence in everything. Plus they have activities in common area which gives you the chance to mingle with others :)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxessiuol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
habitatmanager333, General Manager at Habitat HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your great review. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay so much with us, especially being your first Hostel experience. Having guests like yourself have such a positive experience means we are doing things right! The main purpose of all our events is to ensure that everybody that stays with us feels involved and included and has the opportunity to meet other travelers, so please you enjoyed them.

Sorry at this stage we do not have another Habitat HQ......one day!
Please come back and visit us again

Simone and the Habitat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We booked for a four bedroom but I was pleasantly surprised to see that we're in a 3 bedroom! The staff were helpful too since we got locked out of our room thrice :) I also liked the toilet. It was big and I didn't have to wait to use it. It needed some rags tho it was so slippery! But overall it was a great stay :)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
habitatmanager333, General Manager at Habitat HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hi,
Thank you so much for your review.
It is great that you enjoyed your stay.
I appreciate your feedback on the floor in the bathroom being slippery. We do currently apply a non slip cleaning product to the floors when we clean nightly, and I will follow up with a housekeeping team to ensure this is being done.

We hope to see you again soon


Simone and the Habitat team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.3 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
0.6 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.1 mi away
Apartments Ink
Apartments Ink
#5 of 19 in St Kilda
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
0.6 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
469 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habitat HQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habitat HQ

Address: 333 St Kilda Rd | Corner of Blanche St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in St Kilda
Price Range: £17 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Habitat HQ 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Habitat HQ is a Victorian Tourism "Hall Of Fame" and City of Port Phillip Business of the year 2014,budget accommodation and backpacker hostel located in St Kilda, Melbourne. Options available from 4, 6, 8 & 10 bed dorms to private double and triple rooms with en-suites. Free breakfast, free WiFi, large kitchen, lounge, TV room, outdoor courtyard, Cheap and secure car parking with 24 hour reception. We specialize in providing budget accommodation for international and domestic travelers and groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Habitat HQ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habitat Hq Hotel St Kilda
Habitat HQ St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing