We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food and fantastic service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lau's Family Kitchen

Lau's Family Kitchen
Ranked #9 of 280 Restaurants in St Kilda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food and fantastic service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Picked this place after readings reviews on TA and we were not disappointed. We have since visited Lau's 4 times in the past few months with visiting friends and family and every time it has been brilliant. The service is second to none, but the food is the real star. Fresh, light and full of flavour, completely different to most Chinese restaurants outside of China. The whiting, won ton and beef are stand out dishes, but we haven't been served anything that hasn't been good. Undoubtedly, the best Chinese food we've had and now we've found it we wouldn't go anywhere else.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Vic2486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    70
    17
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fine, but I was expecting something more special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just your average Chinese restaurant really. I read the reviews and thought this was going to be something special. But it really wasn't. It was fine and had I just been expecting a standard Chinese then I would probably have been very happy. But my expectations were set high and so this didn't really cut it for me. Nice enough though and the service was friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosebud
Level Contributor
120 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good ingredients but lacked flavour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

The service was exceptional and this is clearly a popular place, however I was a little disappointed in my choices - the Sui Mai was good as was the Char Sui but overall it was a little too westernised. I had a duck entree that could have been chicken, pork or veal. It came schnitzel style, which wasn't how it was described and was pretty tasteless. The fried rice was soggy and tasteless. We won't hurry to go back with so many other great places nearby.

Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Authentic, affordable, adorable!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Made a reservation and luckily so, because it was full at 7 on an ordinary Thursday night. Service was friendly, food excellent, small but adequate wine list priced well. It might be a little tricky to find for out-of-towners, so check your map first.
We loved it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ItchFeet58Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hit the spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I walked in off the street to find exceptionally attentive service and really delicious food. I couldn't fault it. Jolly good. Go there!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richy61_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lau's Family Kitchen also viewed

St Kilda, Port Phillip
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 

Been to Lau's Family Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing