We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leo's Spaghetti Bar

Leo's Spaghetti Bar
Ranked #66 of 280 Restaurants in St Kilda
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Queensland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Excellent food and priced well for a family. Open for Lunch and dinner and they also deliver if you have been out exploring Melbourne all day

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank WIllowQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    87
    29
    12
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“WORST SERVICE, EVER”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I went there last night for my birthday. We took the birthday cake to the restaurant, instead of having it at home, for a change. My son asked if the pizzas were cooked in a wood-fire oven, but the waitress didn’t even understand what he meant, and she works in an Italian restaurant?? How in the hell did she get the job?

That was the first thing that struck us as being ridiculous. The second incident, was having to remind the waitress to give us water, usually, this is automatic, but not at this restaurant. The third, was when we asked for the birthday cake to be brought out to the table. As with other restaurants, this always happens, with the candles alight, plates and forks for everyone, but not here. The cake was still in the box, candles still in the bag, no lighter to light the candles, and no plates and forks either- what the??

We had to pinch the plates from the adjacent table, just so that we could have enough for everyone. We didn’t even bother to ask the waiter for the plates or lighter, we had had enough of this stupid restaurant, by then. After we finished the cake, and got up to leave, the other waitress came over with the ports, what a joke, but very consistent with the rest of the service, (if you can call it that,) and by the way, no-one at any stage, asked us if we wanted any tea or coffee. I have never, ever experienced such bad, mindless service, in any restaurant I have ever been to, either here in Australia, or overseas for that matter. Needless to say, I will never be going back to that poor excuse of a restaurant ever again, and by-the-way, too bad if you are a vegetarian, because there is next to nothing to choose from on their menu, if you are.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value, ok food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We went to Leo's for an impromptu family meal and were drawn in by the specials. I had a steak which was cooked perfectly, but was let down by the quality of the meat (not the cut). A bit chewy to be honest. The garlic bread which we all shared was ok, but you can get better garlic bread from a supermarket. We had desserts between us which, again, were ok. Nothing too special. The service however was great, very efficient and very friendly. The round of ports on the house was a nice touch too. I suppose I might have a better opinion of the place with different menu choices, but as far as restaurants go there are many much better ones out there. Having said all this the price did make it good value for money...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank S1m0nT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Beautiful food. Great service. Had a chicken Parma. Usually when I order this, it's overloaded with topping. Here, it was the perfect combination. Loved it! Wil eat here again- and would highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 360Barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Down to earth Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

This restaurant restored our faith in Italian eateries. The night before we had been to another Italian restaurant, Topplinos (see review), so we were a little wary. From the moment we stepped through the door we knew this was going to be a pleasant experience. We were greeted by friendly staff and welcomed like old friends.
It was a cold Melbourne night and all we wanted was hot soup. No problem. No pressure to order anything more expensive. My partner also had oysters which she said were fresh and tasty. The soup came with lots of crusty bread.
The atmosphere was friendly and warm and really and would definitely be the place for an old fashioned family meal or a romantic dinner.
The prises on the menu were very reasonable and very good value.
When we asked for the bill, it arrived with a glass of port each, compliments of the house. Haven't seen that sort of attention in Sydney for years. Would definitely go back next time in Melbourne.
Thanks for a great night out guys.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lekatSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leo's Spaghetti Bar also viewed

 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 

Been to Leo's Spaghetti Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing