We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jane Eliza Motor Inn
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Swan Hill
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good position”
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located on the Main Street of town and opposite the train station . The tourist information centre is a 30 second walk down the road and there is an Aldis right next door. The rooms are large but older in styling. The bed (Rm 5) appears relatively new and quite comfortable. There are basic tea/coffee and toaster in the room, with the fridge in the bathroom area? The hotel is relatively quite, however nearer the road towards the station could be louder as it seems to have se heavy trucks pass by. The room only had a box type air conditioner which did get a little noisy during the night. All in all the location of the hotel is great for the money ($99 single).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfromhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    22
    14
    2
    5
See reviews for
8
19
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Great location,very close to RSL Club which has good meals,and to shops.However ,we were appalled at the state of the double lounge--ingrained grease and dirt from long -term use--and we felt unable to sit on it. The manager explained that it was not able to be cleaned(!) and brought two chairs to our room so we could sit comfortably to watch tv.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

After driving until i just had to rest i found this motor inn.
I found the people very friendly and helpful and my room was cool and clean.I was given directions by the staff on were i could find what i needed and when i got back to my room they had put the aircon on for me and supplied me with a glass for my wine ,it made me smile .

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darkchery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woomelang, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We spent a night at the Jane Eliza because we were travelling to Melbourne on the train the next morning. Could not have been in a better location, just a stroll across the road to the station. The room was very clean & tidy and served its purpose.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Jane Eliza Motor Inn, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. I have just updated my reviews with Tripadviser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I always stay at Jane Eliza when travelling to Swan Hill, because it is very conveniently located for train/coach travelers (Also great for those traveling by car, as there is plenty of car space outside each room). The managers Brian and Julie Richardson are both very friendly and helpful. For those wishing to take a stroll along the banks of the Murray River, Jane Eliza is withing easy walking distance to the river and also to Swan Hill's shopping strip. While the rooms are basic in facilities, they are always clean, comfortable and well-maintained. Definitely recommended for anyone who is staying in Swan Hill.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

This is a great little motor inn the managers Brien & Julie Richardson
are so friendly, I was in Swan Hill on business staying only the one night Tuesday 6th December 2011.
The rooms are not 5 star but very clean they smell fresh with lovely white towels, all the beds are new along with flat screen tv's. Brien & Julie will go out of there way to meet any resonable request good old fashion country service.

Room Tip: Number 6 is the room I stayed in very comfortable, no complaints here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reviewAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wangaratta, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Swan Hill is a regional City in Victoria on the river Murray about 440KM North of Melbourne. The City is a good tourist destination with a daily train service from Melbourne .On road trips; it is a little over half way between Canberra and Adelaide and about the same between Wangaratta and Adelaide. I was on the latter on a return trip from Adelaide.
The Jane Eliza Motor Inn is well located in the main shopping and restaurant area of the City.
The Motor Inn is a conventional motel with standard motel rooms. The room I used had an excellent queen size bed and a sofa bed. The sofa bed was in very poor condition and sitting on it was uncomfortable. There was a good size flat panel TV, small refrigerator, toaster and tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was a reasonable size with a shower and a toilet in a separate area. The usual shampoo and small soaps were provided. There were ample towels, hand towel, face washer and bath mat.
There is a very good large indoor swimming pool and spa pool with a Bar B Q area and plenty of tables and chairs. There is an onsite guest’s laundry.
The RSL Club is next door is licensed and has good bistro meals and Poker (Slot) machines.
The room rate was $A102 with continental breakfast.
In summary it is a convention motel with friendly management

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swan Hill hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Lady Augusta
Comfort Inn Lady Augusta
#1 of 13 in Swan Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Burke & Wills Motor Inn
0.3 mi away
Best Western Travellers Rest Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Paddle Steamer Motel
Paddle Steamer Motel
#2 of 13 in Swan Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Campbell
Comfort Inn Campbell
#6 of 13 in Swan Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Australian Settlers Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jane Eliza Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jane Eliza Motor Inn

Property: Jane Eliza Motor Inn
Address: 263 Campbell St, Swan Hill, Victoria 3585, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Swan Hill
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Swan Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jane Eliza Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swan Hill is located on the banks of the Mighty Murray River 3.5 Hours north of Melbourne. Swan Hill enjoys a mediterranean climate with more days of sunshine than the Gold Coast. Swan Hill's major tourist attraction is the Pioneer Settlement. Swan Hill is a major wine and stone fruit growing area with numerous wineries and road side stalls located throughout the region. The Jane Eliza Motor Inn is located in the heart of the Swan Hill Shopping centre, directly opposite the V/Line train and bus station making it the most convenient motel in Swan Hill's CBD. Our central location allows you to park your vehicle in the motor inns spacious parking area and to stroll to restaurants, shops, cafes and to the Mighty Murray River. The Jane Eliza Motor Inn, where you are invited to experience good old fashioned hospitality, cleanliness and friendly service. The motor inn features 40 clean and affordable rooms, internet connection, and a 12 metre indoor heated pool with a large BBQ area seating up to 60 guests (ideal for coaches and large social groups). The Jane Eliza Motor Inn offers affordable FOLLOW THE SUN holiday packages for a duration of 2-3-4 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jane Eliza Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing