We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and good service”
Review of Pepper Jack's Steakhouse - CLOSED

Pepper Jack's Steakhouse
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Morwell, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
464 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Great food and good service”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Went there for a birthday dinner with the family.

Service was quick and waitresses very good.

All meals were of a generous size and prices were reasonable.

Steaks were cooked just as we wanted and of course food other than steaks were good too,

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colint50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great local steakhouse”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Tasty meals, good atmosphere, steak was tender. A few small mistakes as we requested some ingredients to be excluded and they were still included however it did not impact our satisfaction too much as these were preferences not dietary requirements. Waitress was very apologetic when she realised and offered to send it back to the kitchen. Overall a good meal for a reasonable price and would dine here again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlanaVickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great steak”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Went here a while ago now. But the steak was local angus, a nice big cut very juicy and cooked to perfection. I got roasted vegies as a side which were really nice as well as some potatoes. Definitely will go back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Amak88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boolarra, Australia
1 review
“Still a bit undecided...”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I have eaten here before about 12 months ago, and enjoyed the whole experience. This used to be my partners favourite restaurant. However, after dining there last night, I don't know how to feel.
The service was irregular, water was brought out on arrival, however waited over 15 minutes for drinks after ordering. It was not busy. White wine was served in a large red wine glass (minuscule but still noted)
Meal service was very quick.
Oysters where not shucked correctly, disconnected from the shell nor were they clean. The Kilpatrick sauce was minimal and dry and were not served with a shellfish fork. Overall this made them difficult to eat and were not enjoyable.
Ordered the rib-eye on the bone (rare) and was tasty, tender and everything you would love in a steak, however was a cooked inconsistently medium to medium rare. While it was still tender and enjoyable, at a steakhouse this shouldn't happen.The scotch fillet was not trimmed of fat, yet beautifully cooked to my liking (also rare). The sides were good. No complaints at all. The peppercorn gravy is still by far the best element of the dishes. The desert platter was tasty, but not served with plates to share, however was fixed promptly on request.

Music was not suitable for a restaurant environment - early Miley Cyrus tracks, while enjoyable in a car, not so enjoyable at a steakhouse. Overall, the food was okay - pub quality but at steakhouse prices, with bistro quality service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Great service, poor presentation.”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Well, we just got home from the Pepper Jack's and we really aren't sure how we feel about the place.

The good:
The service was faultless, friendly and fast. Water on the table promptly, meals arrived quickly, drinks brought immediately upon ordering.
The meals weren't fancy, but they were very tasty. The chips were fantastic! The salmon was cooked to perfection, the carbonara was creamy and hot, the chicken burger was plain but beautifully cooked.
The Saturday night entertainment (Darcy Fox) was excellent, not too loud that you couldn't have a conversation, and it was pleasant on the ears.
The place was very clean.

The bad:
We had a table both near the door and next to the window which was unpleasant. There is no dressing on the window so people walking past can stare in. People walking in also walked right past us. There was no privacy and no cosy atmosphere. Something as simple as a screen by the door and a covering just next to the table on the window, even just halfway up would make a world of difference.
Likewise a little bit of green salad with the salmon and a better sized burger bread would have improved presentation of the meals.
The garlic bread was woeful.

The ugly:
I think that had we not been sitting in such an exposed location we would have enjoyed our meal much more and stayed longer. The prices were a little high but the service was worth it. Meal sizes seemed hit and miss, none of us came home hungry but we had a late lunch. A hungrier person may not have been full.

Overall a decent dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilopleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pepper Jack's Steakhouse also viewed

 
Traralgon, Gippsland
Traralgon, Gippsland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing