We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and out of the way”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Green Olive

Green Olive
Ranked #60 of 91 Restaurants in Traralgon
Price range: US$15 - US$41
Cuisines: Pizza, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Winner of 2011 Best Family Dining in Victoria.
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Overpriced and out of the way”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Theres not much to say really. The meals are consistently below average quality and over priced and the service is poor. Our family who have young children only eat there as a group because it has a play room for their young children. If we meet them there for dinner now, we eat before we go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SharlsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    39
    37
    21
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

went as a group. Terrible the meal was disgusting, 6 had reef and beef and could not eat it 6 of us felt the same, others had the fish the fish was also disgusting. 2 were waiting for steak knives all night as they were in the dishwasher, so lent them ours. The chef was rude. I would NEVER go there again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Biggerred1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
544 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 843 helpful votes
“Lucques”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I have been here on many occasions and it's never quite consistent. The waitresses are lovely, the bar staff... well it depends on the phase of the moon. The food has been average to exceptionally good. I usually prefer the quieter nights at this restaurant because when it's at capacity, there is a huge children's playground that can make the place quite rowdy. Although, it's obvious the moment you walk in that there is a potential for noise. It's a pleasant restaurant/bistro.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Crystalline4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great pizza place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Simple, family friendly atmosphere with a large variety of creative pizzas. We shared a Greek inspired pizza which tasted delicious. Self ordering system makes it very casual and overall easy night. We will dine here again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanaVickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
632 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Save your money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

While the garlic pizza we ordered for starters was fine but arrived after mains started coming-the kitchen seems to be badly organised, the $75 seafood platter was possibly the worst thing I've ever ordered in a pub or restaurant in my life. After we tasted the kids flathead "tails" (which may have been a whole fillet of flathead, but who knows?) we asked for a substitute fish on our platter. it was supposed to be snapper but wasn't like any I've ever caught or tasted and arrived in a slimy pile. Some of the prawns and scallops weren't cooked through, there was a huge pile of salt and pepper calamari (of course there would be it's cheap) half a dozen oysters were fine, 2 skewers of cooked prawns that were overcooked and therefore tough, the oil used to cook was old, the salad not even worth mentioning and more lemons than you'd ever need as fillers. I wish we'd sent the money on bait-it wouldn't have been any more unappetising to eat! The birthday girl couldn't eat her fish tasting dish (a small version of ours), the kids wouldn't eat their fish either. I suggested to the lovely new waitress that she leave and go find a job where she could be proud of the food and maybe get a few tips. The staff we complained to just blew us off-all in all a very forgettable experience that we won't EVER be repeating. I wish I could give less than one star.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank justjans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Olive also viewed

Traralgon, Gippsland
Traralgon, Gippsland
 
Traralgon, Gippsland
 

Been to Green Olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing