We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and affordable but a bit far out of town for non-drivers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Colonial Village Motel
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Warrnambool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2012

A lovely spacious room with three beds ( I only needed one!), a full kitchenette and clean bathroom. Staff were lovely, really friendly and helpful.

Disadvantages:
-One of the overhead bed lights didn't work
-The alarm clock didn't work
-Weak wifi (luckily i had my own with me)

My only real problem really was that the hotel was a fair distance from the city centre and train station which meant, as I was there for business, multiple $7 cab rides into town and back. A central hotel in walking distance to my appointments would have been cheaper (yes, should have been obvious!).

Good cheap room service breakfast

Next time I would stay somewhere closer in.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catelawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed here recently in a deluxe apartment. When compared to other accommodation in warrnambool it seemed very cheap, so we were amazed when we opened the door to a modern clean 2 storey, 2 bathroom, 5 bed apartment! The staff member at reception was friendly. The apartment had full cooking facilities and a full sized fridge. The only thing we could fault was there was a couple of items on top of the fridge that had been left by previous people and not cleaned up.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kara89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Upon checking-in, noticed a cracked shower screen which the Manager denied knowing anything about (how could you miss it when tidying up, cleaning lady!!!!), dirty bath mat, tea towel smelt and was unclean, bathroom falling apart especially the taps.

Shonky place to stay which I don't recommend. In fact, we are taking our complaint further.

How could this place be given a 3 star rating??? beats me!

Maybe if you are a tight wad and don't care for quality, you might like this place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suz79au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Really spacious, host was welcoming, the place was clean with spas provided. Our family has been there a couple of times... highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rainbowelmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

The motel room is spacious and spotless clean, better than some 4 star motel. It may have been renovated recently. Extra facilities include kitchen sink, microwave, plates, cutlery, tea towel and a decent size fridge but no stove. I don't think they want anyone to cook inside the room. Its in a quiet location but not far from city centre. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeanieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

We went to Warrnambool with family, kids and friends for Fun4Kids festival. Booked this place very last minute and didn't expect this place to scratch the surface even. Within a minute we got our keys from reception, opened the door for the room. It was just "Wow", a 2 room suite with every thing you need TV, Fridge, nice size beds, dining table, couch, with a good size kitchenette. Wait a minute - didn't I tell you the bathroom was the best part of the room. Big bathroom with jacuzi, what else you expect in cold.

I would say this waa an "amazing place to stay", we just stayed there for a night.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinay17in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Service: Receptionist was good - gave us maps and the fun things to see and do.
The room is colonial - we stayed in the "Deluxe queen unit spa" for one night. I booked it through wotif.com and got the room for $90. The spa jets didn't work unfortunatley but the bathroom was nice and clean, there was a kitchen and a portable hotplate and microwave + full size fridge and TV. There was also a separate bedroom with 2 single beds as well as in the main part - a double bed and a single bed.
The location was good - only a few minutes walk to a milkbar and a very short drive to a small shopping centre (donut king, supermarket, bakers delight etc) and only a few minutes from the centre of town.
This is a nice place to stay for a night or two and with the kids - there is a small playground. We also got our own sheltered car park next to our room.
Unfortunatly i was too busy to get any pictures of this room.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Travelling_Moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warrnambool hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Olde Maritime Motor Inn
2.1 mi away
Deep Blue Hotel & Hot Springs
Deep Blue Hotel & Hot Springs
#5 of 28 in Warrnambool
763 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Warrnambool International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quest Warrnambool
Quest Warrnambool
#4 of 28 in Warrnambool
404 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn On Raglan
Comfort Inn On Raglan
#7 of 28 in Warrnambool
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hopkins House Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Colonial Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Colonial Village Motel

Address: 31 Mortlake Road, Warrnambool, Victoria 3280, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Warrnambool
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Warrnambool
Price Range: £71 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Colonial Village Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Unique property has gone under a Renovation, Refurbishment and is conveniently located to the City center,on three acres of garden. Our guests can relax in Spacious Studios, Suites or Appartments that offer modern, contemporary amenities, FREE WiFi,Foxtel,most are appointed either with a Kitchenette or Full Kitchen. Including Spa rooms for a spontanious couples getaway, Single,Double or Family rooms are also avaliable yo suit all types of traveller, at amazing value! A Tennis court, FREE parking at your door to room, FREE WiFi, wheelchair access, Laundry are avaliable, with a BBQ amoungnst beautiful garden,Playground,perfect for lazy summers night after a day spent exploring The Great Ocean Road and famous Twelve Apostles. Visit the areas popular Attractions including Logan's Beach Whale Nursery,Flagstaff Hill,Tower Hill Reserve, Hopkins Falls. We look forward to Welcoming you to Best Western Colonial Village Motel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Colonial Village Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing