We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wedding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
WhiteShell Beach Inn
Ranked #27 of 53 Maafushi Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 March 2013

A total of 13 people met here for Andrew and Sheryl's wedding.The hotel organised everything, the wedding ceromony, sun down dinner on a sandbank and various other outings. A 5 Star hotel couldn't have down better! If you are looking for a place with local charm and warmth, this is the place to go. An extra thanks to the members of the White Shell Team, you were fantastic.

Room Tip: All the rooms have AC.It might not have the flair of a well organised 5 star hotel, but the Team mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kuli77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2013

I stayed at the Inn in March 2013 and have to say loved it all way through-especially cause its the hotel at the top of the island and u have ur beach area in front of the hotel almost empty while around the corner there are sooo many more people on the beach!
Rooms are nice and management is trying hard to get everything right. Wonderful stay

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maCurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This inn has one of the most amazing sunsets I've ever seen! I really love their coffee too, it's one of the best that I've drank! so thick, rich and aromatic! the staff here are really friendly and helpful. our 6 day vacation was absolutely relaxing and wonderful! just that the food takes about an hour to be serve - a norm at the whole island. so patience is recommended! :)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasminechy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

I was worried about staying on a local island and not a resort but we made the right choice, the local island is very relaxed. We visited 2 different resorts and they were both lovely but we were happy with our choice of staying on Maafushi and doing day trips to resorts or snorkel/dive trips, we visited 3 islsnds in 4 days so we got to see a lot of variety because the money we saved on resort accommodation we spent on island hopping and trips. The room at White Shell was very clean and we got new bed sheets and towels everyday. The aircon worked well and the hot shower was also good. The guy called Hassan who organised all our day trips and boat transport works really hard to keep everyone happy. White Shell is on the best patch of beach on the island, although we never sat on it because we were busy doing trips everyday, it was nice to have a good view while eating breakfast everyday. I am the sort if person that would get bored very easily spending 4 days in one place, so island hopping from Maafushi was perfect for me, as opposed to spending all my time on one resort. The resorts nearby have good house reefs and nice beaches, so day trips are well worth it. The review below said there was nowhere to hang clothes to dry or wash sand off feet, there was a communal clothes rack and water by the door to wash feet, when we stayed.

Tip: We could not find sunscreen for sale on the island, so take plenty with you.
There is a new dive shop a few doors along from White Shell which opened in November, so all the equipment is brand new, it's run by very experienced dive instructors who have been working in the area for many years in high-end resorts and know the local waters like the back of their hands, highly recommended to dive with them, I think the dive shop is called Maldives Passion.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WarmSand-82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We spent totally 3 nights in this guesthouse.

After the 1st night I would rate this guesthouse as "awful". When we arrived we were advised that the nearby construction would work until "late in the night". Not a problem - thought we, if they work until 9-11 pm. In the reality the works only stopped at 7 am next day. By the way, it was the night from the 24th to the 25th of December - the Christmas Night! The most terrible Christmas night in my life - so loudly was the construction just a few meters away from our room. Even before going to "sleep" when one of us sat on a bed it immediately fell down. It took more than 1 hour to repair the bed :(. In the morning, when we arrived for the breakfast at 8 am (as indicated previously) we were informed that the breakfast is not ready and we have to wait. Actually, we booked a diving trip for this morning and were neither able to wait nor to go diving without any food. So, our patience finished and we asked to see the manager; instead of the manager the breakfast magically and immediately appeared.

After the 2nd and the 3rd nights I would rate the guesthouse as "good". The staff was very friendly. Everything worked in the room; it was cleaned properly. We went for night fishing and to another excursion and everything went smoothly.

The beds are very hard.

Overall, I think that the guesthouse has a big potential but needs better management. There is a lot of staff but it is not clear who is responsible for what. If you ask a question they start to ask one another and to call to somewhere - not a nice appearance - it seems that nobody knows what to do.

The nearby beach is not good, but you can stay there in bikini. There is no proper place for drying clothes and for cleaning feet from sand - very uncomfortable.

Information: the nearby construction is scheduled to be finished in August, 2013.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iouA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteShellMaafushi, Owner at WhiteShell Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Dear guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our
hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could
have been.
I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for your stay.
Our standard procedure in this event would be to offer an upgraded
room to you on a different location, however not all our rooms are triple rooms and we could not. The experience that all our guests had on that night is not typical, and we tried very hard to negotiate with the construction company to either postpone the construction work to another day or make arrangements to make it less noisy, and to finish work early. However, that is a third-party with no control on our part. I will be sure to raise your experience with our entire
service team as a training exercise.
I am pleased that your night fishing and other excursions were memorable.

Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope that
the remainder of your trip to Maldives was most enjoyable. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We stayed in the White Shell for 7 nights in late October 2012.

The hotel is directly in front of the beach which is kept immaculately clean. It is comfortable and very clean and we found the staff friendly and extremely helpful. A previous reviewer has said the staff had a bad attitude which we cannot believe, about the present staff, and we had absolutely no complaints whatsoever.

Another person has said that the beach was not clean and we suspect that she was talking about the other beaches on the island which are disgustingly dirty and do not think she meant the beach in front of the White Sands.

The restaurant at the White Shells is slow but that is easily remedied by ordering in advance and telling them the time when you want to eat. However, the menu is very limited and there is only one restaurant on the island, the Rocket Cafe. (There is another place down from the White Shells but it was always full of guys smoking and does not look very welcoming or clean.) We had chicken fried rice for lunch two times at the Rocket Café and it was good and tasty but found chicken and chips was beyond their cooking skills when we ordered it for an evening meal one night.

Now a few words of caution about Maafushi island.

There is nothing to see or do on the island (apart from enjoying the beach in front of the White Shells) and it is complete nonsense to suggest, as one hotel does, that you can while away a few hours exploring Maafushi island on a bicycle. You can walk from one end of the Maafushi island to the other in 10 to 15 minutes. One side of the island is taken up by the harbour and an ugly breakwater. The other side has either been filled in with building rubble or is being used as a rubbish dump. The whole of the bottom part of the island is taken up by a prison and you cannot get access to the beach as it is fenced off with razor wire and it is covered with everything from old toilet seats to broken toys.

There is only one clean beach on the whole island and that is the one in front of the White Shells Beach Inn. The other sandy beaches are absolutely filthy which is so sad to see and difficult to describe. There is waste oil, old fridges, plastic, cardboard, construction waste, old tyres and rubbish being burned on the beach near the prison. Please see attached photograph.

It is also sad to see that the coral around the island has been trashed and only about 5% of it remains. The Maldivian people seem to be completely oblivious to this and they anchor boats in the reefs and the anchor lines break swathes of coral. Night fishing excursions damage the fragile coral tips which only grows about 2 centimetres a year. However, most of the damage near shore is done by people standing on the coral or bumping into it while snorkeling and they end up killing what they have come to see.

Like many places in the Third World, when one person starts something, everyone else copies and there are now several new guest houses, either being built or recently completed, which are not on the beach. However, you could very easily be misled into thinking that they are on the beach or near a beautiful beach, like some of the people we spoke to, by the photographs and blurb on the various web sites.

The people staying at these places have come to Maafushi for a beach holiday and have no option but to use the only clean beach in front of the White Shells which is small and can get crowded. For example, there is a guest house / hotel right next to the prison and the water plant and the filthiest beach where the island’s rubbish is dumped and burned. It is nowhere near the only clean beach for swimming at the White Shells.

Prices on the Maldives are expensive and you should consider the total cost of your stay rather than the basis of the room rate for bed and breakfast. When you add the rate for any of the guest houses on Maafushi to the daily cost of lunches and dinners (which are expensive compared with what you would pay in Sri Lanka or Thailand) and add the cost of a speed boat taxi (which is usually included in the price for a resort) and the hidden taxes and 3% surcharge for paying by credit card, you will find that it all adds up to what you could have paid for full board on one of the resort islands.

Finally, the prices at Male airport are eye watering. US$6 for a coffee, US$ 12 for a chicken sandwich, US$ 60 for a furry toy which is sold in Hong Kong for US$5 and a bottle of "Duty Free" spirits is priced at more than you would pay for it in a supermarket.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
98  Thank WillieSpinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Stayed at WhiteShell for two nights with a friend - Seriously genuine and fabulous service. Lovely staff, who were really helpful, caring and attentive. Loved the clean and modern rooms - only two small niggles - a bedside lamp would be great and more shelf space for all those products ladies like to bring with them ;-) ) - aside from that - the TV with 24 channels was crisp and sharp, the bed really comfortable, the bathroom spotless and had a great modern shower and toilet, the safe was also a bonus. The restaurant offers a good range of food - night one we waited only 12 minutes to be served but night two was more like 45 minutes - so best to ask and plan a little in advance and see where they are at with meals on the day. The snorkelling trips are worth the money - the tours to resort Islands are also interesting - the charm of staying on a local Island and getting to walk around a say hello to locals was great - The locals are shy but very friendly - It is a pity that a few ignorant tourists who refuse to respect the culture of the locals give the rest of us a bad name - So please be mindful on a local Island and Don't drink alcohol or waltz around the town in skimpy bikini's - (they have Majorca for that ;-)) I would not recommend this Island or hotel if you are seeking luxury, speed boats and martinis, but if you want a taste of slow paced local life and are restricted in budget then this place is fantastic. They have one little lap top with internet that they let you use for free - this was fine for checking emails - The people there also have good knowledge of the surrounding Islands, boat times and the sea - so just ask the staff. I have read other reviews that suggested that there was glass and other bad stuff in the sea - I honestly didn't see anything like that and as for other reviews that say the staff were rude - I find that hard to believe as the staff were just super to us. Final words - check it out before too many more hotels are built and there are no more locals left. - Oh - and they have to charge the government taxes and the bed taxes by law - so they are not 'adding fake taxes' - they have to do this - and even so it is still excellent value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hamish John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maafushi Island hotels
0 mi away
Kaani Grand Seaview
Kaani Grand Seaview
#1 of 1 in Maafushi Town
35 reviews
0 mi away
Shadow Palm Hotel
Shadow Palm Hotel
#1 of 53 in Maafushi Island
263 reviews
0 mi away
Kuredhi Beach Inn
Kuredhi Beach Inn
#5 of 53 in Maafushi Island
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kaani Village & Spa
Kaani Village & Spa
#3 of 53 in Maafushi Island
326 reviews
0 mi away
Arena Beach Hotel
Arena Beach Hotel
#2 of 53 in Maafushi Island
463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Sands
Crystal Sands
#7 of 53 in Maafushi Island
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WhiteShell Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WhiteShell Beach Inn

Address: 20132
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Maafushi Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Maafushi Island
Price Range: £43 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — WhiteShell Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WhiteShell Beach Inn is a distinctly designed hotel in Maldives located in Maafushi Island, 30 minutes away from the Airport. WhiteShell is the only hotel right on the beach in Maafushi. We provide affordable accomodation with all the comfort, so that travellers can enjoy the beach, sun and the sea of beautiful Maldives. While you stay at WhiteShell you can experience the local community life in Maldives, as Maafushi Island is an inhabited island near the capital. Guests can enjoy local and international cuisines at the Blue Lagoon Restaurant at WhiteShell, where breakfast, lunch and dinner are served with experienced staff. WhiteShell organizes various excursion to guests, including snorkeling, picnic island, diving, catamaran, jet-ski, fishing and dolphin watching trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your WhiteShell Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whiteshell Beach Hotel Kaafu Atoll
WhiteShell Beach Inn Maldives/Maafushi Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing