We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable yet basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
WhiteShell Beach Inn
Ranked #23 of 53 Maafushi Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed here four nights and I have to say that is more than enough. The hotel is nice, clean and staff is really friendly but Maafushi itself is not much. Many shops are closed down and not a lot of restaurant choice. Thankfully The Blue Lagoon restaurant at Whiteshell offers enough choices anyway. There are excursions available on a daily basis which gives a nice touch. There are also two dive shops on the island, so good for divers as the reefs are good!
Make sure to bring cash, as there are no banks, no ATMs here. If you travel with an Amex card you are out of luck as Whiteshell does not accept.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Maura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for WhiteShell Beach Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

We had a really lovely room here. Beds made and towels changed every day. 2 free bottles of water per day. Fridge in room. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We went for a family room, although it was only the two of us, as we wanted the space and it was a lovely spacious room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This property is an excellent choice for anyone wanting to experience MALDIVES, at a fraction of the cost. I came to hear of the property through a friend, and thought it was worth exploring.

The property is adequately clean, and the service is worth mentioning. The highlight of our entire trip was the variety of activities available - The Scuba, Fishing, Dolphin watching, Island trip... all worth the money.

The staff were very friendly, and always are there to help you. Overall a wonderful experience,

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lixonsamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

we spend 3 nights at this hotel which located on Maafushi.
we had a simple but clean room facing the water, few steps from the water.
considering the high prices in the Maldives, this hotel is an excellent deal.

Room Tip: all prices are subject to negotiation
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yael1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Booked the hotel stay on Hotels.com. Specified that the party was for 3 adults, but was informed that the room we booked was only for 2 adults. We then had to pay extra for an upgrade to a room for 3 adults. The attitude of the hotel manager wasn't even in the least apologetic.

What made the trip better was the attention to detail in arranging for our daily trips. The fishing trip was a highlight, we caught almost 30 fishes. The snorkel at the house reef was also a beautiful one. Saw a baby shark in addition to many beautiful fishes. The houseflies were persistently annoying. The beach in front of the hotel wasn't the best of beaches in Maldives. While cheap, this is definitely not the Maldives which we always see marketed. Come only because your purse strings are tight.

Room Tip: Try to get a room nearer the reception for better Wi-Fi reception
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AdrianTanWeiTao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The rooms are perfectly adequate but the price is too high. The rooms are clean etc but pretty bare. Paid 105 per night. The beach outside isn't great. The breakfast was pitiful. Generally, it seems to be about the best place around for a 'budget' traveler in the Maldives: if you must come to the Maldives stay here, otherwise skip them altogether.

Also, for those curious, it was easy to reach Maafushi via public ferry (~1.50$).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fritzel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The hotel is really nicely located, just outside the beach. The rooms are very clean, with good air conditioning, really nice bathroom, TV etc. The towels are changed everyday and rooms are cleaned everyday. The place is extremely safe. But actually this is the Staff of the hotel that makes the place heaven on earth. Hassan organises everything, is really helfpul, and works really hard to make everyone happy. They even organised a trip to the Maldivian school for me, ( as a teacher I'm really interested in that). Actually Hassan took me there, arranged the meeting with the teachers and children and didn't want anything for that. Really honest and friendly people. One of the teacher told me that White Shell donates a lot of money for the school. Really helpful and kind waiters, especially one boy and a girl are are really helpfull. When we were leaving the Staff got up at 6 o'clock and they saw us off to the ferry. The place is great for children, as the ocean is really calm. I definitely recommend this place and definitely coming back there next year.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marta685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maafushi Island hotels
0.1 mi away
White Shell Island Hotel & Spa
White Shell Island Hotel & Spa
#21 of 53 in Maafushi Island
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shadow Palm Hotel
Shadow Palm Hotel
#1 of 53 in Maafushi Island
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Isle Beach Inn
Isle Beach Inn
#9 of 53 in Maafushi Island
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Triton Beach Hotel & Spa
Triton Beach Hotel & Spa
#13 of 53 in Maafushi Island
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Sands
Crystal Sands
#3 of 53 in Maafushi Island
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun Tan Beach Hotel
Sun Tan Beach Hotel
#11 of 53 in Maafushi Island
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WhiteShell Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WhiteShell Beach Inn

Address: 20132
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Maafushi Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Maafushi Island
Price Range: £44 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — WhiteShell Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WhiteShell Beach Inn is a distinctly designed hotel in Maldives located in Maafushi Island, 30 minutes away from the Airport. WhiteShell is the only hotel right on the beach in Maafushi. We provide affordable accomodation with all the comfort, so that travellers can enjoy the beach, sun and the sea of beautiful Maldives. While you stay at WhiteShell you can experience the local community life in Maldives, as Maafushi Island is an inhabited island near the capital. Guests can enjoy local and international cuisines at the Blue Lagoon Restaurant at WhiteShell, where breakfast, lunch and dinner are served with experienced staff. WhiteShell organizes various excursion to guests, including snorkeling, picnic island, diving, catamaran, jet-ski, fishing and dolphin watching trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your WhiteShell Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whiteshell Beach Hotel Kaafu Atoll
WhiteShell Beach Inn Maldives/Maafushi Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing