We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is exceptional! But..”
Review of Kaani Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kaani Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

If you come to Maldives to enjoy the postcard kind of vacation, this is not the place you want to stay. No alcohol. No nice beaches where you can really relax. It's not the kind of maldives you're looking for. If you don't mind spending a bit more, i would suggest that you go for other private islands nearby. Little price difference.

BUT.. if you're like us who booked last minute, i would say that our stay was not so bad. Service is exceptional as i mentioned before. Staff is like family. Aside from that, it's a great value for money. Average meal for two is around 25USD including tax and service charge. That's really cheap compared to other resorts. Also, the excursions are reasonably priced if you will compare it again to the private resorts. We took the speedboat which was 200USD per way. We were lucky to join a family on our way back. I heard that taking the local ferry is not recommendable.

Maadhoo island is a beautiful day trip with bbq lunch. We also visited the sand bank island and kandooma resort. I highly recommend the dive shop beside the hotel, managed by a French guy maybe a little more expensive than others but his dive equipment are new and his main priority is SAFETY.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bunnchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
There are newer reviews for Kaani Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

332 - 338 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is the best hotel to stay in Maafushi. Great way to experience the real Maldivian life. Has the perfect location right on the beach. Decent food and rooms. Try the coconut prawn soup from their food menu and Masundi in breakfast menu. Loved it. Friendly staff who go out of their way to help you. We had a tea tasting session and snorkeling organised by the hotel. Small little things that make you feel nice about your stay. We went dolphin watching and night fishing organised by the hotel. The experience was very enjoyable. The trip to Madhoo was also fun.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

First, about Maafushi, it is a nice small island where local people enjoying their quiet life. It is not a resort island. However it provides tourists an affordable guest houses concetrated spot in expensive Maldives.

Kaani Beach hotel is one of the better lodging options in town. Sitting near the tourist beach there are plenty restaurants to choose from. Although I opted to eat at hotel all the time. The food is good and the service is great. Breakfasts is plenty although you should lower your expectations before your arrival. Food is cheap. The local fish curry with rice is only $2.60. Other dishes range between $5 to $8. Two free bottles of water is provided daily.

The room itself is great as you do not stay in room all day. Plenty sports and movie channels. Wifi signal is slightly disappointing due to its weakness.

The only disappointment of this stay is that their fishing boat is in maintainence hence I could not do the fishing trip I wanted. However a special visit to medhoo island with bbq lunch included is great.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank silverfox69brentford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

I think its the perfect destination for short time vacation or honeymoon. But the staff was great specially Mr. Aswad.
everything were amazing specially the picnic to inhabitant island.
The food somehow poor and there are no places to get international foods.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SultanNasri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

very nice hotel with sea view. we stayed at this hotel as a part of our tour in Maldives. very nice and friendly, and we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. the Hotel manager helped me finding my fishing gear as I lost it in Male. He was very kind and helpful person. its very recommended to take one or more of their trips to the surrounding islands and resorts.

Room Tip: sea view room
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The hotel was quiet and peaceful. Service and quality were truly exceptional. We stayed here two nights for our flash holiday, and it was such a perfect way to spend it. There's staff manning every section of the hotel, so you always have someone who say "Hi" Very well-organized and a tightly run business. If we return to this country, we will definitely plan to stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherlykop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We spent 8 days in Kaani Beach Hotel.We had a fantastic stay in Maafushi Island.
Some things about Maafushi and Kaani beach:
-This is a local island where you can experience and feel the maldivian life.
- Very safe island. We went all nights for a walk around the island and we always felt very confortable
- The locals are very nice people.
- The best thing about this hotel is the staff. They are committed to give the guests the best stay ever. They are always with a smile and very helpful
- The rooms are really nice, with good size, modern decoration, a fantastic view to the ocean
- The food is tasty, but in the restaurant you have to wait a little to be servided. It is ok because you are in holidays and you have all the time.
-The beach is small, but it is fantastic. The water is very clean and very warm. You can see the famous Maldivas blue sea.
- An improvement that the hotel should do is about beach facilities: it would be nice to have sun beds. The island has a beautiful natural beach, and all the locals should take care of it. People go to Maldivas beacause of it.
- All the excursions we made were very nice. Do not miss Maadho Island.It is something very special.
We reccommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best one.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaquelP133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maafushi Island
21.5 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,759 reviews
24.1 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kaani Village & Spa
Kaani Village & Spa
#4 of 53 in Maafushi Island
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arena Beach Hotel
Arena Beach Hotel
#2 of 53 in Maafushi Island
413 reviews
22.5 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,035 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Sands
Crystal Sands
#3 of 53 in Maafushi Island
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaani Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaani Beach Hotel

Address: Aabaadhee Hingun Road, 08090
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Maafushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Maafushi Island
Price Range: £57 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaani Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaani Beach Hotel is an affordable 4 Star Hotel with 18 Sea View rooms with private balcony, All rooms are Air conditioned, with Hot water Shower, Satellite Television, Wireless Internet, Mini Bar, and all are clustered around the hotel, facing the Sea. There is a Sea View Restaurant and a rooftop open air Sun deck where you can relax on a beach bed. The Hotel has a Diving Center and a variety of entertainments including Karaoke a Pool Table, and a Massage Room. You have the opportunity to do many activities similar to any luxury resort for a budget price. Excursions such as Scuba Diving, Fishing , Snorkeling , Sand Bank visit with BBQ , Trips to Picnic Island, Dolphin Watching , Water sports, Hotel is located in Maafushi Island 25 km South of Male International Airport which takes 30 minutes by speed boat and 90 minutes by regular ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kaani Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaani Beach Hotel Maldives/Maafushi Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing