We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best on Maafushi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Summer Villa Guest House
Ranked #37 of 54 Maafushi Island B&B and Inns
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not the best on Maafushi”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Good location if you do not mind the prison next door.
There is lots of construction going on so give it 5 years and then check it out.
Excursions more expensive than neighbouring hotels. Breakfast was not very appealing I think they could try harder. There was a sewage leak during our stay which didn't help things.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs and not near the pool table, otherwise you will not sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirroyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    15
    8
    10
    5
See reviews for
12
36
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The room is nice, cozy and clean. It's very near the sea (5 mins walking)

In addition, the guesthouse has many tours for you to choose with the good price and good services. We used to join fishing, snorkeling, resort tour, picnic island.

Besides, You can experience local food and culture here

Special thank to hotel manager, they help us a lot through out the trip

Very nice guest house to stay if you are in maldives

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllieLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Rooms without window! Incredibly stuppid interior design - one big corridor with pool table in the middle and rooms around. You hear every single noise. Guesthouse is just few metres from jail, and on the opposite side from beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pibi_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We book 4 nights in Summer Villa guest house and had an awesome stay there.
One of my friends celebrated her birthday in Maldives, and this day at night when returning to the guest house the staff prepared a very special atmosphere for her: cute decoration, some drink, balloons, candles...and one delightful big cake! They took care of every detail during all our holidays, and provided us some unforgetable experiences.
The place is not rather big but is very cozy, and it was very clean.
Definately, if you are going to Maldives we highly recommend this guest house for its price and value, because you will feel like at home as the staff is a really kind and attentive family. Thank you Nasha, Ali and everyone, we hope to see you again soon!

Idoia, Ariane and Joseba

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joseba i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We arrived to Summer Villa after staying few days in a resort and we were so much positively surprised. The atmosphere there is so relaxed, friendly and sincere than we felt like home. The guesthouse has 8 rooms for now but soon they will be opening an attachement with more rooms. Small amount of guests, who were mainly young travellers, creates a college style of life. Behind the entrance gate is a small garden with tables for serving food or just chilling under coconut palms (feel free to climb up for a coconut..). On the wall are fins and googles for FREE hire. Reception inside the villa opens straight to lounge with sofas, billiard table and tea/coffee machine which is available non stop and for FREE. Rooms are equipped with double or single beds, some have a small fridge, all have private bathroom with hot water and lots of free accesories (toothbrush kit, cotton buds, shampoo...). Guesthouse is in a B&B style but you can book a bufet dinner for 10$/person and lunch menu is available aswell. All the food was just amazing prepared mainly by owners wife or himself.
All the staff is very helpful and it seems more like one big family working together for the good of thing. They can arrange many excursions for fair prices (dolphin cruise, snorkling with sharks, mantas, whaleshark, trips to sand bank and many more), also traditional music performance of local boys group. There is FREE wifi aswell in all the rooms.
In Maafushi you have a great chance to be part of local daily life, there are shops with relatively cheep things, souvenire shops, dive centres, pharmacy. On one end of this island are 2 beaches where it is allowed to swim in bikini. We could you bicycles of the guesthouse to go around.
We liked it so much that we left a resort, where we went after 5 days in Summer Villa, just to go back and enjoy some more of this fantastic place.

Room Tip: there's not a big difference in the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Me and my wife stayed there for 4 nights. It was really great. The room is very nicely decorated, staffs are helpful and the tour/activities are awesome. The hotel can arrange many island and water sport activities for you compare to the resorts.

Room Tip: Ask for snorkeling equipment whenever you go on any activity because there is a chance to see fishes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roktim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slovakia
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

In overall we had a good experience in Summer villa guest house. It s simple, but the rooms are nice. They clean them everyday, but the bathroom is not really one of the best. One advice, if u r not satisfied with ur room, don't freak out, just ask to change the room, u ll get an opportunity to get a better one without extra charge. U ll have a plenty of opportunities to choose some of the amazing trips, however try to add as many people to your group as possible, so u can get it cheaper. I would recommend the dolphin cruise, baiyadhoo island, and picnic island visit, u. Can also have a dinner, food is really delicious. Breakfast are simple and u have the same choice everyday, but if u are not a demanding person, it s really ok. The hotel staff was nice, however I strongly advise - pay ur trips immediately and take the receipt, don't wait to pay for trips until check out. They tried to add so many ridiculous taxes to the final bill, that I couldn't believe my eyes. Just clarify everything at the beginning and u will be fine.
And one more thing, we asked the hotel staff to prepare for us a special romantic dinner and it was really amazing, beyond everyone's expectations. It has pro and cons, but in overall I enjoyed our stay in Summer villa guest house and ll remember it for the rest of my life.

Room Tip: Definately go for deluxe or higher standard, ask for a room with window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mishii_mis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maafushi Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Lodge
Holiday Lodge
#15 of 54 in Maafushi Island
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Water Breeze Maafushi
Water Breeze Maafushi
#16 of 54 in Maafushi Island
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Narnia Maldives
Narnia Maldives
#28 of 54 in Maafushi Island
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crystal Sands
Crystal Sands
#1 of 54 in Maafushi Island
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island Cottage
Island Cottage
#44 of 54 in Maafushi Island
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Sand Lodge
White Sand Lodge
#39 of 54 in Maafushi Island
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Villa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Villa Guest House

Property: Summer Villa Guest House
Address: 08460
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Maafushi Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Maafushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Summer Villa Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Summer Villa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Villa Guest House Maldives/Maafushi Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing