We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant and Friendly Staff. Affordable Stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arena Lodge Maldives
Ranked #22 of 53 Maafushi Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant and Friendly Staff. Affordable Stay.”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

They offer buffet breakfast from 7am-10am. Our room was upgraded to beach view with balcony after they told us that our original lodge is not available.

Our room was nice and comfy. Pleasant decor, balcony with chairs and small table, and decent view of the beach. We were on the second floor with a good view of the beach.

When you go to the shore you will be able to see baby sharks and few manta rays swimming around the area. The pool is on the roof deck and has nice deck chairs surrounding. I will absolutely be returning here again.

The place is perfect. The hotel staff are very friendly. They helped and assisted us with whatever we need. Our couple friends celebrated their anniversary in this hotel and the staff was very sweet to decorate the room without anyone asking them to do it. I really appreciate the staff.

Room Tip: Beach view room is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beibietoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    30
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
33
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our group had booked this place for our 4days trip to Maldives. Right from the start from the airport pick up to all our chosen activities, we were well taken cared off. Special thanks to the management they had upgraded our rooms as there were some renovation ongoing. That was a 2 thumbs up!
The place was simple yet you will feel the tranquility and beauty of the sea. Booking of activities was an ease because of Ibrahim, who guided us and gave us advise and suggestions on what is special and fun.
To sum up, this was our first trip to Maldives and Arena lodge and its staff made it the best experience ever..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charrie527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Pros
+ Good wifi
+ They go pick you up to the local ferry (every hotel does it anyway)
+ They clean and make the room everyday
+ Really simple but comfortable room
+ They provide you free coffee and tea all day long (If you can find one of them, especially difficult during the afternoon)
+ Nice and clean bathroom

Cons
- Staff was not very helpful or professional. Just 3 / 4 boys taking care of the hotel, and many times they werent even there. You couldnt find anyone!
- Room 101 and 102 have a window that is directly pointed to the lobby (see pictures), which means that you dont get much privacy, and you hear them since early in the morning
- Breakfast was not very good, and everyday is the exact same thing.
- Maafushi is small, but this is one of the farest away hotels. Its a 12 minutes walk to the tourist beach
- They do not provide you any kind of bed cover (they dont even have)

Notes:
- The hotel belongs to the Arena brand, so you can go and have breakfast at the Arena Beach

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We read the reviews and decided that this seemed like a good place and you can use the facilities at the group hotels so booked it. We started off at Arena Lodge where rooms were clean and basic, they had a tv lounge as no tv in room. As they were not very busy we had to go the Arena Sky for breakfast and soon moved to a lovely large room with tv there. Thus more convenient for breakfast and lunch just a few steps from the room. The food was basic and could always find something to eat. Every evening we had to walk the 5 mins to Arena Beach for dinner and sit outside - the dinner menu was simple but good for the price. We soon moved to Arena Beach as it had the beach and easy access to the sea without walking up to the tourist beach, made life easier. This is a public island and you must cover up when walking around. There is no alcohol on this island not even in the hotels. All staff friendly and efficient. First experience of a public island and would definitely recommend. I will definitely go to another public island again and maybe go back to this island when the manta rays are around.
All three hotels were good and you have access to all. The only reasons we moved, firstly to Arena Sky so we had a larger room with tv (there were 3 of us). Then up to the Arena Beach because of all the walking in the heat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scuba572014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We booked this place after reading the reviews on trip advisor and I must say we had a blast.

Right from the airport pick up to the time we left we were well taken care off.

Izam the manager is very friendly and made choosing activities and packages easy not to mention the discounts we got after a little bit of coaxing.

I went with a bunch of friends who didn't swim and Reefu, Ali and Mohammad personally handled each one to take them around reefs which were off the shore.

Obviously we saw dolphins on our dolphin safari and we all jumped in to try and swim with them.


The barbeque lunch also was another high point.

The only sad part was the food. That is the only reason I would not give it a full 5.

We are glad we stayed here.

Cheers !!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AksharMehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We originally booked Arena Lodge but because we were a big group, we got upgraded to their new and modern hotel called Arena Beach Resort (need to double check on the name cause I'm not so sure) that was located about 5 minutes walk away. My review will be based on the new hotel I was staying in.

Overall, the hotel was amazingly beautiful, clean and really comfortable. The staffs are to be applaud for their friendliness especially Ranak, a waiter at the restaurant. He deserves a special pat on the back. The hotel is located at the nicer part of Maafushi Beach and since this is a public island, it was a real plus to have a 'private beach' for tourists (where you are allowed to wear bikinis and get a little privacy). The biggest plus point was this private beach was almost next to the new hotel we stayed in so that was really convenient. Would I return and also recommend to others? Definitely! :)

Room Tip: Get rooms that are facing the dining area for a better view. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckyooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Like the previous reviewer said, Arena Lodge doesn't reply to any email or any inquiry on their social media accounts. I think that would be the only problem I have with them, though.

I purposefully chose Arena Lodge because it's super cheap, and also because it's part of the Arena Group. I figured we could use the amenities of Arena Beach (the beachfront hotel) without having to pay for the more expensive rate. And that's what we did. We walked five minutes to Arena Beach to enjoy their breakfast buffet and lounge chairs by the shore.

Arena Lodge itself was great. The room is big and clean, and the place is quiet. Wifi was pretty fast, too, which I didn't expect.

I have to say that their all-male staff is quite attentive, accommodating, and polite. They answered all my questions about Maldivian culture and catered to my various requests. I love the fact that coffee is free from morning until 11 pm, which is the time the kitchen closes. Also, most of them are attractive. It sounds completely shallow, I know, but it sure doesn't hurt to wake up every morning and see handsome men around you. :P

Anyway, Arena Lodge, please start replying to your emails. Once you have that down, you can easily be the best guesthouse in Maafushi.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maafushi Island
0.4 mi away
Arena Beach Hotel
Arena Beach Hotel
#3 of 53 in Maafushi Island
344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Venturo
Venturo
#40 of 53 in Maafushi Island
61 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shadow Palm Hotel
Shadow Palm Hotel
#1 of 53 in Maafushi Island
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kaani Beach Hotel
Kaani Beach Hotel
#5 of 53 in Maafushi Island
442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaani Village & Spa
Kaani Village & Spa
#2 of 53 in Maafushi Island
283 reviews
9.5 mi away
Fihalhohi Island Resort
Fihalhohi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fihalhohi Island
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Lodge Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Lodge Maldives

Property: Arena Lodge Maldives
Address: Crystal, 08090
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Maafushi Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Maafushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arena Lodge Maldives 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in typical Maldivian style, and situated in K. Atoll Maafushi, one of the local islands of the Republic of Maldives, the Arena lodge offers a calm and relaxing stay at an affordable fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arena Lodge Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Lodge Maldives Maafushi Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing