We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than what I needed for my dive trip...”
Review of Picnic Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Picnic Inn
Reviewed 5 November 2013

It was simple, clean, everything was working, good a/c, hot and cold water, wifi at the lobby. Good value for money suitable for my dream dive trip to the Maldives. The seafood was very good and the dahl was the best to date I have ever tried, even my friends agree. One of them claims to be a dahl expert?, anyway. Joel the man with the master plan - he was great in every sense, always willing and ready to make things comfortable. For a guesthouse or a guesthouse-manager that is something I have not seen. Another friend in our group said...its the Maldives...service is what makes them different... well, I have to agree.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Msafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for Picnic Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

Its really value for money if you are on low budget.Had great time with Joel manager at hotel. He can guide you for best deals. He is always there to help. There are so many beautiful places to visit near by.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c_hardik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Pic nic inn is a very good way to stay in maldives for a reasonable price. The staff is friendly and kind. The rooms are nice. It's not directly on the beach but it takes 10 min walking. You have to go to the white shell hotel beach to find a nice spot. It's not so wide but it's nice. Maafushi otherwise is not so nicely conserved. You can see an open dumpster on a wonderful beach where you can see plastic floating in the sea. It's a shame. That's a huge pity.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Just come back after a weeks stay there. Warm welcome on arrival, rooms are basic but clean, beds are changed daily and there is a fridge in the room. A nice court yard area were dinner is served and we sat around here playing cards at night as there wasn't much else to do on the island at night. There is a nice beach just down from the Picnic Inn, no more than a five minute walk. Excursions to other islands, night fishing trips and snorkel trips could be organised with the manager. There is a dive school just by the beach to organise dive trips. The first night our food was a bit of a disaster as we waited a long time for it, it was cold and they didn't quite get the order right, but the rest of the time it was buffet food with a few dishes to choose from, a rice dish, pasta dish, salad, and one meat and one fish dish with fruit to follow. This was much better and we quite enjoyed it. We really enjoyed our stay here and it is a great way to see the Maldives without spending a fortune.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Arrived 20Dec 2012 for a 7night stay and we were more than pleased with our choice.

We got on very well with the Manager Joel who was always there and always happy to help with anything including arranging our boat trips to the local resort islands and making sure that we had enough Kurumba Fani (fresh cocount) to drink. Theres no alcohol on Maafushi, so the TV in the communal area was a god send for some quite long evenings.

The food was very good and arrived in good time, unlike some of the other places we dined. The local fish is recommended, as is the Maldavian Breakfast, (grated tuna, coconut and onion, served with chappati) and all the fresh fruit juices that are available, especially the mango and the papaya.

Room was very clean and well looked after daily, and had effective air conditioning. Theres also laundry service available, which was excellent.

We would go back, big thanks to all at the Picnic Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank goolash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We originally were planning to stay here one night just to get a feeling for the island. The manager was very nice and offered us a discount if we chose to stay with them. We organized all our day trips (to near by resorts and diving) through them and they gave us discounts and were flexible with us so we get the most out of our trips.
The rooms themselves are very clean and new. We wished there was a TV because evening were a little boring. Food is okay, but nothing special.
We recommend this place as a base for taking day trips in the area. Staff was great.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Einav835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icesukichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maafushi Island
0.3 mi away
Kaani Beach Hotel
Kaani Beach Hotel
#4 of 53 in Maafushi Island
477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arena Beach Hotel
Arena Beach Hotel
#2 of 53 in Maafushi Island
413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Narnia Maldives
Narnia Maldives
#27 of 53 in Maafushi Island
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stingray Beach Inn
Stingray Beach Inn
#6 of 53 in Maafushi Island
200 reviews
2.5 mi away
Biyadhoo Island Resort
Biyadhoo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Biyaadhoo Island
1,481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaani Village & Spa
Kaani Village & Spa
#3 of 53 in Maafushi Island
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Picnic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Picnic Inn

Address: Bahaaree Hingun, Whitefish, 08090
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Maafushi Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Maafushi Island
Price Range: £61 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Picnic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PICNIC INN – A Wonderful Destination In Maldives. Picnic Inn is a guest house for the concept of excursions, boating, fishing and diving & snorkeling tourism located in Maafushi. Maafushi is a typical island of Maldives, located nearby International Airport. Maafushi and the atmosphere gives the feeling of real holiday in the really beautiful island of Maldives, where islands, beaches, lagoons, reefs, corals, sandbanks, mantas & dolphins are naturally beautiful and it feels really getting back to the nature.Picnic Inn is a wonderful opportunity for budget travelers, who want to manage limited budget for their vacation in Maldives. Picnic Inn is an easygoing, boating fiesta, riches excursions to the beautiful islands and white beaches surrounded wealthy echo-system also promise some of the world's best for water sports, snorkeling and diving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Picnic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Picnic Inn Maldives/Maafushi Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing