We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic, good location”

Dolphin Retreat Bunbury
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dolphin Retreat Bunbury
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Basic, good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Pros - good location, clean bathroom
Cons - kitchen is kinda dirty unlike the other hostel's kitchen i've been to. can be quite noisy at night.
Service - was okay. the lady forgot to mention that there is a number lock that locks you. My buddy and i went out for a walk early in the morning and got locked out in the cold.

Other than that it is value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luffygomomono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    10
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
7
8
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
175 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Four of us rode folding bicycles on a trip from Augusta to Busselton and decided to stay in YHA hostels throughout the trip. While all were fine, the Dolphin retreat in Bunbury was the best of the bunch. Brilliant location combined with friendly staff made our two night stay here after a long ride memorable.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the common areas if you tend to sleep early (this would apply to any you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddykhaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

Although the hostel is run down and basic, the room and bathrooms are clean. The town does not receive many visitors at all times, therefore do not expect the place to be packed.
Bunbury town center is all within walking distances. The location is central.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kicking_asphalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2008

It's all pleasant enought, but a bit 1980s in this YHA.

the rooms and kitchen are clean enough, and there's a nice little sitting area outside at the back of the hostel, and the location is pretty good too.

it's just that - like all suburban WA - it's a bit depressing! one of a row of bungalows, with 80s decor.

staff are pretty friendly though, and try their best to liven things up with video nights etc, in what is essentially a little suburban hostel in small-town Oz.

having said that, our dorm was quite nice, and the bathrooms were clean, and the other guests tended to be friendly.

not sure i'd bother going to bunbury again, but if i did i wouldnt necessarily rule out staying here.

p.s. if you're looking for dolphins, better to head to monkey mia. we were in bunbury for 3 days and didnt see a thing.

  • Liked — Nice back garden area, with a games room
  • Disliked — the fact that it's in bunbury!!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LosingMyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bunbury hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Admiral
Comfort Inn Admiral
#5 of 9 in Bunbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lord Forrest
Hotel Lord Forrest
#4 of 9 in Bunbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Lighthouse
5.1 mi away
Discovery Parks – Bunbury Village
0.7 mi away
Discovery Parks - Koombana Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Retreat Bunbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Retreat Bunbury

Property: Dolphin Retreat Bunbury
Address: 14 Wellington St, Bunbury, Western Australia 6230, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Bunbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Bunbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Retreat Bunbury 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolphin Retreat Bunbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing