We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BACK TO THE 70'S AND OH SO DEPRESSING”

Dolphin Retreat Bunbury
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dolphin Retreat Bunbury
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BACK TO THE 70'S AND OH SO DEPRESSING”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Walked into the shabbiest most run down yha hostel I've been to since becoming a member over 10+ years ago! The only redeeming feature is its location, Bunbury is a pleasant town, WA style, and the hostel is centrally located. The hostel is grubby throughout. Facilities were minimal and poorly maintained. Beds were broken and were well past their best before date. The staff however were helpful and friendly. Not the place for even a one night stop over, just too depressing.

Room Tip: Book another hostel, or bring a tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Therese R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    11
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
8
8
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

This YHA is adequate but I think it needs a good clean and there should not be people staying long term in YHAs, as they should offer accommodation for travellers, not those looking for options for cheap housing. At least one was doing that as I heard them say it. Several lone men were staying and the hostel really did not clean and I saw one man lick the kitchen carving knife and put it in the drawer and then wipe his face and table with the tea towel - a real turn off. The kitchen was dirty. I saw the bathrooms being cleaned but the air vents and ledges were very dirty. The two rooms we had were ok but you did not get a feel of general cleanliness. The beds creaked badly when just turning over and you could hear it in the next room. No fan or aircon in room I had - and it had been over 30 degrees so the very small room was stifling. The walls were very thin so a bit noisy although that night was not a big problem, as we went to bed late.

On the positive side - the staff were nice, helpful and friendly. The location is good and there are bikes to use and a variety of rooms to sit in. There is some off street parking. I would not generally recommend it but for people who are not too fussed about cleanliness and want a cheapish place to stay I would say it is ok for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwaysunderway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Pros - good location, clean bathroom
Cons - kitchen is kinda dirty unlike the other hostel's kitchen i've been to. can be quite noisy at night.
Service - was okay. the lady forgot to mention that there is a number lock that locks you. My buddy and i went out for a walk early in the morning and got locked out in the cold.

Other than that it is value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luffygomomono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
177 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Four of us rode folding bicycles on a trip from Augusta to Busselton and decided to stay in YHA hostels throughout the trip. While all were fine, the Dolphin retreat in Bunbury was the best of the bunch. Brilliant location combined with friendly staff made our two night stay here after a long ride memorable.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the common areas if you tend to sleep early (this would apply to any you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddykhaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Although the hostel is run down and basic, the room and bathrooms are clean. The town does not receive many visitors at all times, therefore do not expect the place to be packed.
Bunbury town center is all within walking distances. The location is central.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kicking_asphalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2008

It's all pleasant enought, but a bit 1980s in this YHA.

the rooms and kitchen are clean enough, and there's a nice little sitting area outside at the back of the hostel, and the location is pretty good too.

it's just that - like all suburban WA - it's a bit depressing! one of a row of bungalows, with 80s decor.

staff are pretty friendly though, and try their best to liven things up with video nights etc, in what is essentially a little suburban hostel in small-town Oz.

having said that, our dorm was quite nice, and the bathrooms were clean, and the other guests tended to be friendly.

not sure i'd bother going to bunbury again, but if i did i wouldnt necessarily rule out staying here.

p.s. if you're looking for dolphins, better to head to monkey mia. we were in bunbury for 3 days and didnt see a thing.

  • Liked — Nice back garden area, with a games room
  • Disliked — the fact that it's in bunbury!!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LosingMyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bunbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lord Forrest
Hotel Lord Forrest
#4 of 9 in Bunbury
371 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Admiral
Comfort Inn Admiral
#5 of 9 in Bunbury
78 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
#1 of 9 in Bunbury
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers
0.5 mi away
Bunbury Welcome Inn Motel
0.8 mi away
Ocean Drive Motel
Ocean Drive Motel
#7 of 9 in Bunbury
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Retreat Bunbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Retreat Bunbury

Property: Dolphin Retreat Bunbury
Address: 14 Wellington St, Bunbury, Western Australia 6230, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Bunbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Bunbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Retreat Bunbury 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Dolphin Retreat Bunbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing