We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, good location, clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dolphin Retreat Bunbury
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Although the hostel is run down and basic, the room and bathrooms are clean. The town does not receive many visitors at all times, therefore do not expect the place to be packed.
Bunbury town center is all within walking distances. The location is central.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kicking_asphalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 60 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2008

It's all pleasant enought, but a bit 1980s in this YHA.

the rooms and kitchen are clean enough, and there's a nice little sitting area outside at the back of the hostel, and the location is pretty good too.

it's just that - like all suburban WA - it's a bit depressing! one of a row of bungalows, with 80s decor.

staff are pretty friendly though, and try their best to liven things up with video nights etc, in what is essentially a little suburban hostel in small-town Oz.

having said that, our dorm was quite nice, and the bathrooms were clean, and the other guests tended to be friendly.

not sure i'd bother going to bunbury again, but if i did i wouldnt necessarily rule out staying here.

p.s. if you're looking for dolphins, better to head to monkey mia. we were in bunbury for 3 days and didnt see a thing.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LosingMyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017
Thank vsorriso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viaje26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bunbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Lord Forrest
0.4 mi away
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bunbury
1,185 reviews
0.7 mi away
Admiral Motel Bunbury
Admiral Motel Bunbury
#5 of 10 in Bunbury
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers
3.6 mi away
Discovery Parks – Bunbury Village
0.9 mi away
Ocean Drive Motel
Ocean Drive Motel
#7 of 10 in Bunbury
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Retreat Bunbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Retreat Bunbury

Address: 14 Wellington St, Bunbury, Western Australia 6230, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Bunbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Bunbury
Price Range: £33 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Retreat Bunbury 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin Retreat is a very friendly, clean and safe hostel and is close to everything. Prices are great value and include all linen, free toast & jam breakfast daily, free use of games room, boogie boards, bike hire, theme nights, genuine help, smiles and lots more so all our guests can really enjoy their time in Bunbury! Everything is so close for your convenience. It is only 5 minutes walk to the beach, cafe strip, bus station, visitor information centre, shopping centre, night life and main street. Dolphin Retreat has the best value beds and facilities! Guests enjoy a free toast and jam breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free use pool table, table tennis, BBQ, bikes, boogie boards, tea and coffee, movie nights, parking, unique visitor guide and help, smiles, helping you have a great time in Bunbury. We have all the information you need to be able to see, swim and work with the famous Bunbury Dolphins, finding work as well as all the other things to do in and around Dolphin City. See You Soon :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dolphin Retreat Bunbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing