We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor quality”
Review of Mash

Mash
Ranked #33 of 137 Restaurants in Bunbury
Price range: US$24 - US$36
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
284 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“poor quality”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We used to visit Mash regularly for meals and drinks. Our last experienced was awful and we have never returned.
One meal was served cold and we asked for it to be remade (not reheated). 10 minutes later it came back steaming hot and the sauce congealed exactly as if it had been reheated in a microwave. It wasn't worthy of being eaten.
Another meal had a hair in it, this meal was also left.
On the plus side the waitress was very apologetic and didn't charge us for the (reheated) meal however it didn't make up for a ruined evening.
We haven't been back to Mash and now take our custom else where. Bunbury has plenty of great restaurants and we don't need to waste time and money going back here
A phone call to the manager was ignored.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrswinendine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    139
    90
    41
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Kennedy, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good sized meals”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Great beer at this brewery. Try the tasting platter of beers, I can personally reccomend the Bunbury Blonde. The meals are very tasty and of a good size, so be prepared to eat up big. About the only downside is that the service can be a bit slack and when we complained to the manager, we were brushed off out of hand, but dont let this deter you from enjoying the food and beer.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank BaldrickArmadale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average food, great service”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We have been here 3 times now, lunch was a real let down as the fish is not fresh but frozen (and you can really taste it), beer is beautiful here really love the Freo Dr, went to dinner twice, i have had a chicken and Pistachio meal and it was very blah, chicken over cooked, sauce lacking flavour and not enough to make the chicken appear moist. Beer battered fries are delicious crispy on the outside and soft on the inside (Perfect) and the aioli the use is beautiful,my husband got the roo burger which was yummy and well worth the money. The second time I ordered the pork belly (one of my favourite things) it was moist but the skin was not crispy, it was just a chunk of fat, it was still nice just didnt have a wow factor for me, my husband ordered the mixed tex plater which was a complete let down, no real outstanding flavours. The reason we went back was because the kids loooooved it (not the food) but because the have an arrear with an xbox kenetic for them to play and it keeps them occupied and quiet.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madi120202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pub atmosphere....Pub food..”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Have been a number of times and the location does it.........service is ok and friendly , food is ok...not exceptional but good......worthy of a fun evening with friends and Beer........

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank-n-Paula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed the standard has slipped and the price u pay I would expect more . Need to improve service any the food quality. Ov”
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

Review above. Needs injection of fresh ideas and happier staff to make this venue brilliant, serves nice beer food very average.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank macjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mash also viewed

Bunbury, Western Australia
Bunbury, Western Australia
 
Bunbury, Western Australia
Bunbury, Western Australia
 

Been to Mash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing