We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, even better food”
Review of Highway Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bunbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highway Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Bunbury B&B and Inns
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service, even better food”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We went there for lunch on Thursday and the staff were so lovely and helpful. Getting a highchair for our toddler n a great activity pack for himstraight away n interacting with him everytime they came to our table. Loved that the kids drink comes in a eenclosed cup with a straw. The decor was very nice and clean looking. I ordered the seafood platter n every single thing on it was cooked and seasoned to perfection. My hubby had the hh burger and loved it and said the patties def tasted like they were made in house. Our toddler had the pasta n it was delicious and he ate it all. Will def be going back as its easily the best pub lunch we have had in bunno. Great job guys

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammirw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    9
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Shout out to the staff and Management at the Highway for being one if the few pubs in Bunbury that let you have small portion sizes. We were there last Thursday and very pleased when a couple of people at the table were able to order smaller sizes. Everyone at the table enjoyed their meal and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Coralie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Been to the Highway Hotel today for lunch. The place has been refurbished and looks very, very nice. Unfortunately that is were it ends, the drinks service was slow, food was well average. We were disappointed as it was a milestone birthday celebration. I notice there are other similar comments, I hope the management take note and fix the problem fast as this could be a real go to place with a few tweex>>>>>>>>>> good luck!! as I would love to go back sometime and be moved to write a positive review.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tez14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bunbury hotels

Bunbury WA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My family & I thought we would give the Tuesday steak night a whirl! very very dissapointing steak was so tough always have medium to rare & my daughter has medium rare & they both came out the same Just pink? & guess what my husband (still wont budge on this) has well done guess what came out Just Pink? anyway soldiered on but had no taste unless you had the sauce with it. Certainly wont bother again. Service was OK but nothing flash.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzzieDadong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We have been a few times since the reopening and while it started out as the place to go, it's now going back to the pack. We went last week and it wasn't even busy and the staff were struggling to serve people efficiently. One of my work colleagues who has been with us every time we have been was asked for proof of age ID by the manager and while I have no issue with that, the manager gave my colleague a seriously pathetic look of ' I don't trust you ', enough that I was about to take our party someone else. I ordered some drinks and then asked to order some food that I could put on the table for our party to eat but was told that the kitchen did not open for 5 minutes and she would be in trouble with the kitchen if she placed an order prior to them opening. We finished these drinks and left not long after. The serving staff are all friendly, but the manager looks like he's hit other places to be, lift your game folks if you want the crowds back

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deano_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2012

First of all it took a while to find a table that didn't give you a South Pole blast everytime someone opened the door and even then it still made for an uncomfortable evening. Had to bolt the food down as it was barely luke warm. Make sure you are well hydrated before you go as the food is dry and wine list expensive for a pub of this standard. Entree consisted of bacon stuffed potato skins with a sour cream dip on the side. This, too, was cold, dry and obviously prepared and cooked the week before and reheated on the night. Main course was a chicken parmiagiana with a Mexican twist (remind me not to go to Acapulco)!!! A few tips......where warm clothes, have a few before you go and don't order the salmon.......? Bon appetit

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dinneratourplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury Wa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Need more than one person serving during happy hour,too many people waiting and some even leave before served.
How that fellow can walk down the bar with the change tin and completly ignore potential paying customers is odd to say the least.If it's going to survive it needs to improve!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank localpairBunburyWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bunbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Admiral
Comfort Inn Admiral
#5 of 9 in Bunbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lord Forrest
Hotel Lord Forrest
#4 of 9 in Bunbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
#1 of 9 in Bunbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Lighthouse
1.1 mi away
The Clifton & Grittleton Lodge
0.4 mi away
Bunbury Motel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highway Hotel

Property: Highway Hotel
Address: Corner Forrest Ave. & Spencer St., Bunbury, Western Australia 6230, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Bunbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bunbury
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing