We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easter long weekend”
Review of Hotel Lord Forrest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lord Forrest
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bunbury
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Easter long weekend”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel over the Easter long weekend. It was built in the 80"s.
Staff were friendly enough. Breakfast was adequate.
Our room slept 5. The shower and bath room is in dire need of renovation. Having said that , if this was a renovated hotel, it would have cost us alot more than what we paid.
Over all we were happy with our stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank zhoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lord Forrest, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Zhoom,

Thank you for your recent feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    146
    101
    40
    25
See reviews for
76
131
13
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were in Bunbury for the 3 Waters marathon, booked for 1 night in a corner suite which sleeps 4. Room was spacious and clean with little kitchenette and old bathroom. Was disappointed that I had requested late check out via email, which we re-confirmed with at reception on check in and were told that should not be a problem. On check out were charged extra $50 for late check out!
At no time was this fee mentioned. Receptionist said she had put us down for check out at 10.30 whereas we had clearly indicated that it would be around 11.30 as my husband wanted a quick shower after the marathon. It was our word against hers, just peeved that the fee was not mentioned earlier.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lord Forrest, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Deepa S,

Thank you for the feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again one day. If you would like to email me your details I will organise the refund of the late check out fee. If you were not advised that the fee was applicable then you should not have been charged.

Kindest Regards

Rodney Mcglew
General Manager
Quality Hotel Lord Forrest
manager@lordforresthotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Well it has not changed much since the 80's (but then again some of the 5 star hotels have not changed much from the 80's either) as young adults we stayed there a fair bit. I continued to stay there when I had children as the pool is fantastic summer or winter. After a few issues with the noise from The night club and another horrible incident that does not need a mention on this forum we regrettable have not returned for a number of years, but a friend recently stayed there over the weekend and advised that the night club was no longer in operation (yippee) best thing that could of done. So we decided to give it another go and yes for bed and breakfast for $149.00 a night is a fantastic price and to top of the breakfast experience with a very lovely Clinton made my morning so special he truly is a natural at his job makes everyone feel so welcome. I loved everything about the weekend so much that we arrived back on the Sunday after two nights we could not wait to return so I got straight on the phone book again for May for the same special. Overall it was a very pleasant stay and would/am returning in a heartbeat. PS Just hope they keep the special going. (hehe)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lord Forrest, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Roma P,

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and gave us another go after all those years. It has been a journey for this hotel. Currently we are refurbishing our Bar from the inside to the courtyard. We will then be opening a new Restaurant within the hotel in the coming months and changing around the atrium area where the current restaurant is located. Exciting times ahead and a bit of a update for the hotel.

Thank you once again.

Rodney Mcglew
General Manager
Quality Hotel Lord Forrest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PERTH
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Not the worst hotel I have stayed in but for the money you pay for a room it is well and truly over priced for what you get. As most reviewers have written the rooms and bathrooms are very old. The shower does not even have a soap holder, the water kept changing from hot to cold and there was a very loud wind noise coming through the door. It was like being in a storm. It is not a big deal, but I also never had a compendium so I could order room service. Rooms also allow lots of outside noise to enter, so if there is a function downstairs or people coming back to their rooms from a late night out, you will hear them easily. The restaurant is not very private at all and is located right beside the indoor pool. Would also be good if the bar is open from lunch time rather than from 4pm. My room for two nights had a great view of an office building. Check in was slow as there were 4 people waiting to check in and it seemed only one girl had to check everyone in.
There are not many hotels to stay in Bunbury and to be honest this is still probably the best option for you. Unless they completely refurbish and redesign the entire hotel then they should remove the "Quality" from the hotel title, then I would not have a problem with paying $145 a night to stay here, Until then the room rates should be closer to the $100 a night mark.
I would truly recommend you find a self contained apartment as your first choice and only stay here if nothing else is available.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCOTT G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lord Forrest, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Scott,

Thank you for your recent feedback and taking the time to go through all your concerns. Most of these I am currently working on already in regards to the rooms, reception and noise. I apologize that this does take time but I can assure you these will all be fixed. The price is obviously one of debate as in this day and age selling rooms for $100 per night is almost impossible. Your comment regarding the view of the building is the room type you booked as we have Ocean View rooms available but you didn't request this room type.

I also received your comment about our restaurant Alexander's and I agree completely that we need to look at the option of moving it into a more privater location and I am currently working with the owner on this subject.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is VERY tired hotel,the rooms are show their age as do the fittings and furnishings.
When it was new it was by far the best in the southwest,but that was about a quarter of a century ago.tariffs are in line a far better quality hotel and the bars either don't open or close very early.
Frankly it's in need of a major makeover.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lord Forrest, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Larry,

Thank you for your feedback, it is much appreciated. You are correct that the rooms are looking tired and we have a refurbishment plan in place which has already begun. Painting has started in rooms and soon also the hallways. 3 new internet lines have been installed to improve the guest WiFi experience. The rooms themselves are currently being designed with the goal of replacing the bed heads, desks, sofa's and then upgrading all the fixtures. I hope you do come to stay with us again and then hopefully we have opportunity to show you some of the new items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bunbury hotels

Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The Lord Forrest is an established hotel in what was 10 years ago a country town in WA. Not the newest build of hotel modelling, but I find it the best place to stay in Bunbury for the following reasons.

1) Best location, right in the middle of town with shops, restaurants and nightlife on the doorstep.
2) A 24hr reception for late check-in or early checkout after travelling with plenty of free parking.
3) Very clean and comfortable with spacious rooms. All rooms have balcony but don't forget your jumpers as Bunbury gets windy in the evening.
4) The restaurant and bar are of high quality with reasonable pricing and my $45 seafood platter was excellent.
5) Friendly staff and a wholesome buffet breakfast as you would expect in country WA finish off for me a value for money stay at Bunburys best if not newest Hotel.

I have stayed on business many times, my wife and i just enjoyed a weekend there for our wedding anniversary. It really is about time I gave them a thumbs up for their hard work, putting up with me over the years.

Good work also to trip advisor i always check your reviews before booking anywhere new, keep up the good work.

Room Tip: The Lord Forrest has adjoining rooms for those with children and rooms on the pool side of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-bloobiz, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Lord Forrest, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Hi Ian and thank you for taking the time out to post a review!
Please know that we really appreciate your positive feedback and we are happy to hear you enjoy your stays with us.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stay at the Quality Hotel during the Australian Day long weekend and regret not reading the reviews before we booked our room.

Paid $170 per night for the standard room that only had one single sofa chair for two guests (see photo). The central air con was useless. Upon returning to the room in the afternoon, the room was unbearably hot and at night the room was freezing. Hotel owners needs to invest money so all rooms have their own individually controlled split air cons.

For those who rely on the wake up call service to get out of bed every morning. Look no further, this hotel is for you. From 4am onwards the sound of toilets flushing, showers going, doors slamming can be heard. At 7am when the pool gate opens, the sound of kids yelling and screeching at be heard through the room door and we were on level 3.

The best thing about this hotel was on Monday when we checked out.

Hindsight is a great tool, wished we read the reviews here and stay at the Mantra On Bunbury instead.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DestinaOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-bloobiz, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Lord Forrest, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time out to post a review.
Please know that we really appreciate your feedback and we would like to opportunity to resolve this matter with you.
Since we do not have your contact details, please contact us on 08 9726 5777.

Kind regards,
Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bunbury hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
#1 of 9 in Bunbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Admiral
Comfort Inn Admiral
#5 of 9 in Bunbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Lighthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort
1.2 mi away
Bunbury Motel & Serviced Apartments
0.5 mi away
Quest Bunbury Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lord Forrest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lord Forrest

Property: Hotel Lord Forrest
Address: 20 Symmons St, Bunbury, Western Australia 6230, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Bunbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bunbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lord Forrest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover Bunbury's iconic gem, Hotel Lord Forrest.... Celebrating 30 years of operation this September 2016 and beginning a new era for the hotel with a massive revamp. Now an independent hotel located in the heart of the cosmopolitan buzz of Bunbury, the gateway to the South West, WA. Our accommodation is ideal for corporate, leisure and conference travellers, a place to make your home-away-from home. Whether your stay is long or short, relax and Unwind at Hotel Lord Forrest. Bunbury town centre with its diverse range of boutique shops and cafes is a 5 minute walk away. Bunbury's Back Beach is a 10 minute stroll and Koombana Beach is just a 5 minute drive. Or why not stay on site and Unwind in our newly renovated bar and restaurant offering contemporary food options, great service, free Wi-Fi and relaxed seating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lord Forrest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bunbury
Quality Hotel Bunbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing