We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean West Holiday Units
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Geraldton
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed here for one night on the way back to Perth from Onslow. (a double room)
Very pleasant lady at check in welcomed me.
Able to park right out the front of my room which included a small kitchen with microwave, tea and coffee facilities (etc). A lounge area with, err well a lounge and flat screen Tv with Foxtel.
A separate room with comfy queen bed, separate bathroom and toilet. Big split system reverse cycle aircon.

A little area by the back door with a table and two chairs (for a smoke) if you need one.

All in all a nice comfy place to stay that was jut across from the beach, ( I think as it was dark when I got there ) but I could hear it !
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigBronco351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    31
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
30
26
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Friendly reception and Minty the dog. The unit was clean. It had all what we needed to have : stove, fridge, micro wave, tv and a table to use as desk during our stay. Bed was comfortable. Do not expect a modern place, however it's location two minutes across the beach makes it a nice place to stay. It is about ten minutes from town, driving. I would stay here again because of the closeness to the beach.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Swissmiss6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albion Park, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

This place is very clean and tidy. The rooms are cosy but have everything you need in them. Oven, microwave, TV, A/C and washing machine. By the looks of it you can even rent the room next door as they is a locked joining door for those people that want more room or 2 bedrooms

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenb234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winkler, Manitoba, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Geraldton was our first stop on our 11 day road trip and unfortunately we were so exhausted we couldn't enjoy the beach that was so nice and close.
We thought for the price, it was a good place to stay. It was clean, which was a top priority for us and had everything we needed.
It wasn't fancy, but it certainly was functional.
The staff we met were really helpful and very friendly.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Great location just behind the sand dunes so the beach is about a 1 minute walk away. The units themselves are very tired, 1970s style. No air conditioning in the bedroom. Views of the driveway or straight into the unit opposite.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ynperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This was our first visit to Geraldton. We booked this accommodation based on Trip Advisor reviews and was extremely happy with our choice. From the moment we went to check in we found the management of Ocean West smiley, helpful and informative. We had booked a unit for 3 nights, but then extended our stay for an additional night. We liked the town and Ocean West!

Our one bedroom unit was basic, functional, clean and well equipped. We ate in most days and used the kitchenette and the microwave (there is no stove). There is an excellent BBQ in the pool enclosure should you wish to use it.

Our unit was air conditioned (the air conditioner is in the lounge area – the bedroom does not have its own air conditioner and could be a bit warm for some people when it is very hot). A comfortable couch, a large screen Tv and a good firm bed were the important furniture pieces. The complex has a nice pool area and bbq's for guests use.

The units were lovely and clean and as per the written instructions in our unit we washed and dried all dishes that we had used. For budget accommodation, extremely close to Geraldton’s back beach and a very short drive to any local attraction, Oceans West is a top choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanWest, General Manager at Ocean West Holiday Units, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Hi John,

Thank you for your review, it is lovely hearing you had a wonderful time here- as this is what we expect all our guests to experience.

Good, bad or indifferent every review helps us pin-point the best possible service and facilities we can offer our guests at Ocean West. We are especially glad you enjoyed your stay in Geraldton and we were one of the key factors in that experience.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We look forward to seeing you again!

Natalie Hodson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed here 3 nights when visiting Geraldton. An issue with a noisy pump outside our bedroom was solved very quickly and without fuss. The kids loved the playground, and we all loved the pool, the barbecue area and the very handy beach.

Room Tip: Unit 9 was a great place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GNMPERTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanWest, General Manager at Ocean West Holiday Units, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Hi GNMPERTH,

Thank you for sharing your experience @ Ocean West with us! It is lovely hearing you had a wonderful time here- as this is what we expect all our guests to experience. I particularly remember you and I'm glad we were able to sort you a room not so close to the 6am water reticulation.

Good, bad or indifferent every review helps us pin-point the best possible service and facilities we can offer our guests at Ocean West. We are especially glad you enjoyed your stay here.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Kind Regards,
Natalie Hodson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geraldton hotels
3.0 mi away
Waldorf Geraldton Serviced Apartments
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Geraldton
Ibis Styles Geraldton
#5 of 9 in Geraldton
305 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ocean Centre Hotel
Ocean Centre Hotel
#2 of 9 in Geraldton
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mantra Geraldton
Mantra Geraldton
#1 of 9 in Geraldton
559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Inn Geraldton
0.7 mi away
Geraldton Motor Inn
Geraldton Motor Inn
#6 of 9 in Geraldton
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean West Holiday Units? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean West Holiday Units

Property: Ocean West Holiday Units
Address: 1 Hadda Way, Geraldton, Western Australia 6530, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Geraldton
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Geraldton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean West Holiday Units 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geraldton's Ocean West holiday units and short stay accommodation is located along Western Australia's beautiful Coral Coast near one of the most popular beaches in Geraldton. Perfect for any traveller because of its convenient location, Geraldton's Ocean West is situated in a quiet area directly across from the beach, and just a short drive from the Geraldton city centre. Individuals, couples and families on work travel or holiday will find Geraldton's Ocean West holiday units and short stay accommodation relaxing and private. Geraldton's Ocean West offers comfortable one and three bedroom units that can be configured to create a two bed, two bath or four bed, two bath option on request. Each unit is spacious and totally self contained, and will suit both the business traveller and the holidaying family. Some of the features include queen-sized beds, a modern-fully-equipped kitchen in the three bedroom units, air-conditioning and new flat screen TVs with a selection of Foxtel. channels.The property also includes laundry facilities, a swimming pool, a centrally located playground, a large undercover barbeque area and parking for boats and trailers. Access to public transport is just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean West Holiday Units reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing