We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early evening experience”
Review of The boatshed - CLOSED

The boatshed
Price range: US$22 - US$88
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Orsett, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Early evening experience”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Booked over phone. Very spacious, divided into several rooms, but only two staff.
Waitress unaware of the term "sparkling water"! Settled for soda water instead.
We weren't made aware of the "specials"and as we were new to the place, didn't think to ask. Only became aware when overhearing a neighbouring table being offered them!
We asked for wine but it took a repeat request to get it to the table. Food was served efficiently. Starters (squid and whiting) were both very pleasant. The accompanying fresh coleslaw was delightful.
The mains were average. Mine(paella) was only warm but tasty. The seafood crepe was overloaded with cheese sauce which detracted from the taste of the seafood of which there was a good selection.
No fresh fruit etc for dessert, only rather heavy alternatives.
Overall a little disappointing. Quite expensive. Value average

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ccw2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    15
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant; shame about the food”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

The Boatshed is a lovely place, with a good atmosphere. There is plenty of room between the tables and the rooms are nicely decorated.
The food is not up to the prices, though. Our starters - calamari, crocodile- were delicious but the mains of rock lobster were a disappointment, particularly as they were expensive. I chose the grilled option which came with stir fried vegetables which were slimey and not fresh-tasting. I also asked for chips instead of rice and they were soggy and damp. I suspect from an oven or microwave rather than a frier.
It was a lovely evening out, but a pricey one.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray T, Owner at The boatshed, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Alison B,
Thanks for your feed back , we are very happy that you liked our restaurant as my wife and i did all the renovating and decorating with a lot of thought going into table positioning to create more space.
As you would know some restaurants will cram in tables for the mighty dollar.
That brings me to my next comment the price of our local crayfish!
As you would have seen on the menu it's market price the price set by the fisherman's co op or other buyers, this can fluctuate by the day week or month anywhere from $12 per kg to $80 or more unfortunately due to the chinese new year coming up prices are high!! But you would have been informed by my staff of the price BEFORE ordering.
And very upset to see these type of comments made (the word slimy! vegetables as we do fresh fruit & vegetable orders daily!
Being Asian style stir fried vegetables they are cooked in peanut or sesame oil, perhaps there was a little to much.
About the comment of soggy chips normally the dish is served with rice as this would aid in soaking up the juices.
The chips are cooked in a deep fryer! With your request to have chips instead of rice perhaps we should have served them in a separate bowl…
Have been owner operator (Chef) of the Boatshed Restaurant for 15 years now, and just finding it a little hard to read comments like this as I take a lot of pride in what I do (but not always perfect) would like the opportunity to explain or rectify the problem.
Before the night is over…..
Hence this paragraph on the inside page of our menu!

If you have any cause for complaint or displeasure!
Please speak to the manager who will endeavour to ensure complete satisfaction!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldton, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

39 dollars for Chilli Mussels....really? And tasted below average. $5 for one piece of bread....I came here with work colleagues that were visiting Geraldton. I was embarrassed that I took them here

Helpful?
4 Thank Jesspeel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Didn't really live up to its reputation”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

This place was recommended, and was busy for a Thursday night. The service was friendly and helpful. The menu was a bit limited, but a feed of local lobster was much anticipated. We started with oysters which were very nice, but my char grilled Asian style lobster was a little tough which was disappointing given the $70 price tag. Maybe the normal chef was having the night off?

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Staff let them down”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The food was very good here but I'm afraid the service was pretty average and the prices are high. We were greeted at the front area quite nonchalantly. They collected glasses from the tables using those white wire framed trays as if we were in a pub! The crayfish were $70 regardless of presentation and they're not in season until November in WA anyway! The rooms are lovely - lots of space between tables, wooden floor boards, nice atmosphere. We asked for the bill at the end of the night and it never arrived so we wandered to the front to pay. I'd try somewhere else next time as it didn't feel like a fine dining experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aust_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The boatshed also viewed

Geraldton, Western Australia
Geraldton, Western Australia
 
Geraldton, Western Australia
Geraldton, Western Australia
 
Geraldton, Western Australia
Geraldton, Western Australia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing