We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to were we were working”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kalgoorlie Overland Motel
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
Bunbury, Western Australia, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Close to were we were working”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Our client booked us in here so we were grateful that it was close to where we were working, an easy walk. The staff member who checked us in was friendly but the staff over the weekend need to learn from the first guy, sorry but you are in the service industry.
The rooms did the job, but the beds seemed pretty aged, very uncomfortable. We had breakfast at the buffet on the Saturday, but didn't return for Sunday, went into town instead.
To be fair, it is obvious that the Motel is aimed at the FIFO crew, they had a lot staying there and maybe as an overnight stay for travelers or workers like us, but it wouldn't be somewhere I'd stay for a holiday in the Goldfields.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the front row of rooms, they face directly onto the Great Eastern Highway and all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deano_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    13
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
8
9
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We didn't know it was 'race round' week in Kalgoorlie when we scheduled our three nights there. Race Round is an annual horse racing event and excuse to party. We checked with several motels and luckily the Overland had a room. The fly-in/fly-out miners must love this place because it is full of them. They are a friendly lot. One day we were using the guest laundry and a miner in the room nearby offered us a beer. Our room was spacious and had lots of storage (obviously designed for long-term guests). The only slight issue with our room was some missing weatherstripping around the door, but no big deal. Our first night there we had a great buffet dinner in the restaurant; the variety and quality of the food is impressive. We'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed in executive room which was spacious and comfortable. Able to park vehicle outside motel room which was very helpful. Bottled water supplied in fridge. Great. A very good buffet meal offered at night for $25. pp with chef creating varied choices each night. Staff were very polite and friendly.

Noticed motels at Wave Rock and here were not equipped w cutlery, and no herbal Teas provided, not that it was an issue as we had taken our own.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

I never stayed here. A sign by the road side advertising a $25 buffet dinner is what got me in the restaurant. I was uniquely surprised by the simple layout. Friday evening was a seafood buffet. Delicious fish fillets baked, mussels and noodles, seafood chowder, battered fish nibbles, veges. Top this with a strawberry desert. I loved it.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Mykara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here after being bush for a few days, so the bed was well and truly appreciated.
Room was a good size and very clean, bed was comfortable and the shower was amazing. Probably the best water pressure ever!
Service from the guy at reception was friendly and helpful, and he seems to work hard being there both in the evening and the morning of check out.
Overall it was everything I expected for a Kalgoorlie motel. Nothing more, nothing less.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ineedabreak82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We booked into this motel via Internet booking. That was the wrong thing to do. The room was substandard, clean and neat but oh dear. We booked out and were given full refund thanks to the family running this motel. Unfortunately it is really only classed as a stopover or for working guys in the mines. I would not class this place as 3.5 stars sorry.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kalgoorlie-Boulder hotels

giffard
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Very pleased with my stay here, comfy clean bed and room. Basic not pretty but appropriate for the rate paid. 1st night very quiet and good sleep, super quiet heater/fridge in room. 2nd night different room, comfy clean bed but annoying inconsiderate person next door ruined stay.
Motel very close to airport but bit of a walk into shop precinct. handy restaurant on site, didn't get to eat there as it was packed out - sign of good food ? Highly recommend this motel for position, clean comfy rooms, very helpful staff and probably the food !

Room Tip: ask for room out the back if possible ? get in early for restaurant ? smile its a mining town !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rarehols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalgoorlie-Boulder hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Inn Kalgoorlie
Best Western Hospitality Inn Kal...
#7 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
148 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Railway Motel
Quality Inn Railway Motel
#4 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
159 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Kalgoorlie
Ibis Styles Kalgoorlie
#3 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
324 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tower Hotel
Tower Hotel
#10 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
19 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quest Yelverton Kalgoorlie
Quest Yelverton Kalgoorlie
#1 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalgoorlie Overland Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalgoorlie Overland Motel

Property: Kalgoorlie Overland Motel
Address: 566 Hannan St., Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Western Australia 6433, Australia (Formerly Mercure Inn Overland Kalgoorlie)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kalgoorlie-Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalgoorlie Overland Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kalgoorlie Overland Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing