We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service and food”
Review of Exchange Hotel

Exchange Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Exchange Hotel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing service and food”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The food and service was something I would expect @ a 5 star hotel .... The hotel is a work of art traditional Aussie hotel but on a bigger scale ... Seems like a castle when u drive up to it... Had dinner in the pub was quite and cool Wich was nice cause it was 42 the day we were there .... Went for drinks after in the saloon again service good skimpy bar maid hot hot lol... Was told place was under new management recently and u could tell things were changing .... Rooms were clean and tidy but possibly could've used there own ac units .... But as I said it was 42 lol .... Very nice place very good service!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farmsincanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    7
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
4
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I am a 55year old male and went to kalgoorlie with my wife on saturday 28th september 2012 we went in the exchange hotel because we had herd so much about how good it was , but we found the total opposite , my wife and i decided to stay in the bar for the lock in 12.00pm until 2.00 am we had been playing pool for quite a while previous and was still playing at the time of lock in when a bouncer came over and said you cant play pool , i said ok i will just finish this game , bouncer says no more pool and just starts to put the balls down the pockets so i asked if i could have my $3.00 dollors back as i had only just started the game , bouncer just says no ,,,now i think that is so ignorant he had seen us playing pool well before the lock in he could have said no more pool earlier before lock in time as they must do this week in week out he was just ignorant and un professional , so my wife and i went and sat at a table and carried on having a drink then two bouncers came over and to us we had to leave ,, i think this is just because i stood up for my rights they said i was too drunk so we had to go ,, we then went across the road to the palace hotel where the bouncers out side controling the queue just let us in with no bother I would probably have gone back in sunday and spent loads of money having a good time but because of SUCH BAD TREATMENT I WILL NEVER GO IN AGAIN if your going to kalgoorlie please spend your money in the other good hotels NOT THE EXCHANGE THEY DONT DESERVE IT

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kalgoorlie-Boulder hotels

Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

A choice of two bars; Irish or Western both my favourites. Great food on the Western Bar; big juicy steaks with typical Aussie trimmings at a reasonable price. Great atmosphere in a historic building with few equals for a pub.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GCUkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The Exchange Hotel is a little dated and suffering wear and tear, but Paddy's Ale House was a good place for a quiet Guiness and good food.

A must see, good food and a beer or several

Room Tip: A must go in Kal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frek62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Went there for dinner with my wife and good there was absolutely delicious one of the best restaurants for it money in town

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve5525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Went to the restaurant - Paddy's? It was noisy with horribly bland uninteresting food

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GiorgiaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalgoorlie-Boulder hotels
0.0 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
129 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Inn Kalgoorlie
Best Western Hospitality Inn Kal...
#7 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Kalgoorlie
Ibis Styles Kalgoorlie
#3 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa
Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa
#2 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Yelverton Kalgoorlie
Quest Yelverton Kalgoorlie
#1 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Railway Motel
Quality Inn Railway Motel
#5 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exchange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exchange Hotel

Property: Exchange Hotel
Address: 135 Hannan St, Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Western Australia 6430, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kalgoorlie-Boulder
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing