We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
luxembourg
Level Contributor
80 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

It's quite a modern property with the buildings that house the rooms set around a courtyard that has a somewhat tropical garden feel and which contains the pool and jacuzzi. The staff were always friendly and helpful. Our room was large, modern, nicely equipped, and kept nicely cleaned. The bathroom was also large and nicely tiled; it had a spa tub, and an excellent powerful and spacious shower. Buffet breakfast was included and nicely presented in the modern airy dining room with a good choice of food. We also had dinner there one night. It's advisable to book for dinner as it gets busy and seems to attract a lot of people who are not staying at the hotel. The food and wine choice and quality for dinner was good though it's quite expensive and the servers seemed a bit disorganized or perhaps shorthanded for the number of guests. There is a nice terrace area leading off the dining room, with outdoor sofas, which is attractive when it's not too hot outside. The pool and jacuzzi were nice enough, though the pool is not large or deep enough for serious swimming but it's fine for relaxing. The jacuzzi was quite powerful though the smell of chlorine was quite noticeable. The pool was probably cleaned fairly regularly but always contained some leaves from the plants in the courtyard. The hotel is effectively located between Kalgoorlie and Boulder in a quiet mainly residential area but this means you need a car as it's too far to walk to any of the sights, shops, restaurants, etc. We booked online about 3 months in advance and got a good price, and having stayed would say it was definitely very good quality value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luxtraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Luxtraveller88,

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay. I am please you enjoyed the facilities and the restaurant. The cost of goods in our location can be a little more than CBD locations, however, I am confident that our prices are in line with other restaurant in Kalgoorlie. You are quite correct in saying we do clean our pool regularly. The advantages of having nice native gardens can also be our disadvantage in regards to debris.

Again, I thank you for your feedback and hope that you will return again soon

Sincerely,

Edward Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    188
    38
    15
    8
See reviews for
30
140
17
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in March 2013 and were given a room in a nice quiet end location of the complex. The room was very comfortable and spacious with a very comfortable bed. It had a large modern bathroom. We could not find any fault here and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelbSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear michaelbSydney,

Thank you for your feedback and it is pleasing that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Edward Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed at Rydges resort on Christmas day and Boxing Day 2012. Had taken up a booking offered on Wotif which offered room and buffet breakfast for 2 for $130 each night - good value. We had just spent the last few days driving across the Nullarbor from Sydney, so decided that it would be a good relaxation stop, and also looked forward to 24 hour room service since almost nothing was open in Kalgoorlie.

I cannot rate the staff highly enough. As I said, Kalgoorlie was virtually shut over the holiday period, and the steak restaurant at the resort was booked out for 2 sittings for Christmas lunch. I had not booked as I didn't know what time we would arrive in Kalgoorlie, so we ordered room service of beautifully prepared and presented BLT and Club sandwiches, which arrived only 15 minutes after ordering. The room was spotlessly clean, the bed unbelievably comfortable, and the airconditioning a godsend. We enjoyed lying by the swimming pool which is well furnished with many sun lounges, tables, chairs and most importantly, a whole area under a weather proof roof.

Dinner on Christmas night was room service only, due to skeleton staff, and the girl I dealt with for room service was also doubling as the receptionist. I could not have asked for a more polite, helpful and delightful person to deal with. It was obvious they were very busy,and there was a much smaller menu to choose from, but her cheerfulness never waned, and our meal again was delivered promptly and was generous and good pizza. We saved the leftovers in the fridge and reheated them for lunch in the microwave in the kitchenette the next day!

On Boxing Day night we ate in the Resort restaurant, having heard good reviews of the steaks there. Yes, it is a little expensive, around $36 for a steak, and you had to order sides of vegetables or salad, but again, Western Australia in general is a little more expensive than the Eastern States, and this is a more upmarket restaurant than usual. The staff were attentive and friendly, and when there was a small hiccup in my receiving a well-done steak instead of medium rare, the problem was quickly rectified. The waitress had accidentally placed an order for well-done and apologised profusely, bringing me a perfectly cooked steak within minutes. I was also compensated with a discount off the bill. I told all the waitresses there that they could teach some Sydney waiters a thing or two, as their professionalism and friendliness was a credit to them, on another very busy night.

The buffet breakfast was very good, with a good assortment of foods to suit all nationalities that might visit. There were cereals, bircher muesli (Yum!) fresh and preserved fruits, cheeses, eggs cooked however you wanted, bacon, sausages, etc, etc, and danish pastry and croissants to finish you off. Juice, tea and coffee of course were available.

Overall, this hotel offered a 5 star experience, particularly in view of where it is located in Australia. My only reason for not rating it excellent was the lack of clearing the dishes and glasses away from the pool area overnight. This was probably due to the fact that they were on skeleton staff, so is only a minor complaint. Considering what a great deal I got (as this cost was on a par with renting a cabin at the local caravan park) I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. It was quiet, opposite the local cinema, a bit of a walk (easier to drive) into town, but very comfortable and as I have stated, the staff there are to be commended for their hard work and smiling faces. I will definitely return when next I go to Kalgoorlie.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear travelbug255060,

It is pleasing that you enjoyed your Christmas with us and enjoyed the food that we offered. It is great that our staff were able to help enjoy your stay as the ones on the ground during this time are obviously missing their family and friends.

I hope that you will choose to spend Christmas with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

So clearly this once was a motel, if not, an odd decision to build a hotel in this way but inside the rooms and bar it's a long way from being a motel. Fantastic, huge rooms with excellent bathrooms (spa bath tub and a big standalone shower) and very comfortable beds. The pool is big but the space for chairs etc is not. The water is ice cold too but I'm sure many like that in the Kal heat.

Food in the restaurant is good, not amazing but good and the girl behind the bar was very friendly. Can't remember her name, small with black hair. The guy on reception was very pleasant and arranged a different room when we realized we had reserved a twin rather than King. Only downside is location. Definitely not walking distance to the main strip but next to the cinema.

Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finestireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear finestireland,

Thank you for your commentary regarding your stay. The hotel in fact was once the council chambers, but was rebuilt 10 years ago!. I am glad that you enjoyed the restaurant and facilities, and I will pass your compliments back to Kendyl (the small girl with black hair)

Sincerely

Edward Brennan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

The hotel was better than i expected most def the best that Kalgoorlie has to offer. The bed was amazing - I'm still thinking about it! A nice size spa thats always a bonus. The pool is nice.
The restaurant has great service and beautiful food!

However unfortunately we booked a romantic package deal through their website that included extras such as a massage and drinks. When we arrived they said that the masseuse was fully booked for the whole time we were there.
We went to the bar and didn't receive our complimentary drinks either. When we checked out I mentioned that we had't received our extras and they said that we had only booked the room.

When booking online after you have entered your details it will ask you if you want to add extras - there is a note stating that if they are already included in the package don't re-tick them...this function obviously does not work correctly. I would recommend that you either call them and confirm that you have the deal you want or avoid online all together.

This was a big disappointment so I have marked down for that,

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stacey671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Stacey671,

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased you found our new Rydges Dream Beds and Spa to your liking.

I have noted the error mentioned regarding our booking engine when booking packages. We are currently looking into it as their is obviously a break in the communication from our web page to our in house system

I do hope however, that the other aspects of your stay, service in the restaurant, food, and bed were to your satisfaction.

Sincerely,


Edward Brennan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

Lovely stay and the best in kalgoorlie. Would like to see a bit more notice to detail. Had a few problems with door entry card snd the Rydges customer card is great but service flaws needs to be ironed out. You wont go wrong staying here and the food was outstanding. Exceptionally friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Gray C,

Thank you for your response,

I am pleased that you enjoyed the food and found our staff friendly.

We have had some issues regarding our door cards, but I am pleased to say I think we have ironed these out.

I hope to see you in Kalgoorlie again soon!

Sincerely,

Edward Brennan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

Arrived late at night for an overnight stay in a king spa room. The room was clean, well appointed, and Rydges have the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in!! So good in fact that we opted for Rydges hotels on pur trip across the country whenever we could - just for the perfect night's sleep!

Service at Kalgoorlie was a bit casual, but it was late at night. At $165 for the room and breakfast, we thought the room was good value, but on our return trip (with kids), we phoned to book a family room and we're quoted $480 for the night!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthABus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear PerthABus,

It is great to hear that our new Rydges Dream Beds prompted you to book other Rydges Hotels as the Company does pride itself on the beds that we have. Whilst I would like you to book in to our hotels across Australia for a great nights sleep, I am obligated to advise you that you can actually buy them for your home!! The web address is here; https://www.rydges.com/dreambeds.

Unfortunately we do only have 2 two bedroom Family rooms with full kitchen facilities and large living area in the hotel which are incredibly popular! Hence the higher rate.

I hope that you enjoyed your sojourn across Australia and we will see you again soon!

Kind Regards

Edward Brennan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalgoorlie-Boulder hotels
1.1 mi away
Quest Yelverton Kalgoorlie
Quest Yelverton Kalgoorlie
#1 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Kalgoorlie
Ibis Styles Kalgoorlie
#3 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Railway Motel
Quality Inn Railway Motel
#4 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Inn Kalgoorlie
Best Western Hospitality Inn Kal...
#7 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Midas
Comfort Inn Midas
#10 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa

Property: Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa
Address: 21 Davidson Street, Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Western Australia 6430, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kalgoorlie-Boulder
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa offers the traveller a 4.5 star oasis conveniently located close to the Kalgoorlie town centre in the heart of the historic Western Australian gold fields region. Offering the only hotel in Kalgoorlie with all rooms featuring couples spa baths, 92 studio, one bedroom and two bedroom accommodation rooms, indoor and outdoor resort style swimming pool and heated spa, versatile function areas, a contemporary all day dining restaurant Rydges Primewest Restaurant' and an al fresco dining area all surrounded by native Australian gardens. The hotel is the perfect destination to complete your business needs and as a getaway to relax and take in the history of the region. Come and experience the newly opened Alleya Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing