We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The View On Hannans
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I usually stay at the View for business with my trips being for 3 - 5 days on average.
Its not a resort and the rooms are above what I class as Motel rooms. Good large comfortable beds, Large TV with free movies and free internet however dont plan using the wifi between 8 and 10 at night cause the congestion makes it unusable - but its there and can be used at non peak times. The Blue Monkey serves great home style food and the service is usually friendly. Free access to Kalgoorlies Oasis liesure centre for gym and swimming is a bonus.
The reception staff cant do enough to help and are genuinely interested in making your stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We only stayed the one night but it was clean and tidy. Location is good, a short walk to town and close to the racecourse. They have a terrific restuarant next door. The Blue Monkey, which we had dinner and breakfast at. Both meals were excellent and reasonably priced. Probably a 3.5 star motel but I would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigcol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I've stayed at the View on Hannan several times whilst visiting Kalgoorlie for work and am currently halfway through a two-week stay. Is the property four star? No probably not, though "good value for a 3- 3.5 star" probably covers it nicely. And no, it's not a full resort where you never want to step outside the property boundary.

Location is good - it's a pleasant 5-10 minute stroll to the main street shopping strip, and a large supermarket complex is even closer. Car parking is never more than about 15 metres from your unit. The rooms are pleasant, clean, and (I believe) in the process of progressively being upgraded. I've always had really comfy beds and good-sized TV and great shower, all of which fall into the "essential" category for me.

A tip for management though - invest in a DIY carpet shampooer. Sometimes carpet stains detract from what's otherwise great room presentation.

The main reason I keep coming back is the customer service. This time around, after witnessing an interaction between Romeo at Reception and another guest, I half-jokingly asked "Wow, where did they find YOU?"!! Professionalism and genuine warmth far in excess of what I would have expected in Kalgoorlie (sorry locals, don't mean to be rude, but....) When my stay was unexpectedly extended by a week, Romeo went to a lot of time and trouble to relocate me to a larger and more comfortable unit. The unit was very much appreciated, but the kind gesture was even more appreciated. Boss, suggest you hang onto this guy - I'll forego a flashy hotel for good customer service any day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheViewOnHannans, General Manager at The View On Hannans, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for your review Christine. It's nice to hear great feedback about our staff and their extra efforts being appreciated. Romeo has been a wonderful addition to our team.

Many of our guests agree with you and find the location very convenient. As for the rooms, we are always looking at ways to improve the property and have recently finished the renovation of all of the bathrooms in our self-contained rooms and added 2-seater couches in our studio apartments.

Thanks for the tip about the carpets, we have a lovely new carpet shampooer which we will be putting to use.

We look forward to having you back in the future.

Regards,

William Brooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Wow what a waste of money! We booked a family room for 2 nights and believed we would have a queen and 2 singles nope we got a double and if that wasn't bad enough there was only enough hot water for 1 person to shower on the first morning and no hot water on the second morning. The place smelled like sewage, we were double charged and had to wait a full week to receive a refund. Absolutely appalling!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bscriven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheViewOnHannans, General Manager at The View On Hannans, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback. All of our family spa apartments contain a queen bed in the main room. The bathrooms have recently been renovated and the hot water units are designed to fill the large spa bath in the room, multiple showers should not be a problem. It sounds like there may have been a issue with the hot water unit on the second morning. If you let our staff know about this or any other concerns we can usually rectify them immediately.

Please feel free to contact me should you wish to discuss your stay further.

Regards,

William Brooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Clean, reasonably quiet but a little rundown. Outside lights on all night resulting in room being lit up. Room not cleaned propoerly before arrival - papers behind fridge, used plastic cutlery on floor etc. Restaurant next door is good and has a very good though expensive breakfast.
All in all, given prices and quality of accommodation in Kalgoorlie this is a reasonable choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Althom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheViewOnHannans, General Manager at The View On Hannans, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback, I'm glad you enjoyed the Blue Monkey Restaurant. Apologies about the state of your room before arrival. We strive to maintain and a spotless property and I have passed on your feedback to our housekeeping team.

All of our rooms have block-out curtains so we don't normally have a problem with the rooms being lit up at night. As always, if you have any requests during your stay please come and speak to our friendly front office team.

Regards,

William Brooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I have been in 3 star motels that would leave this one for dead. The room was immaculately clean, the staff pleasant and helpful and the shower fantastic. That's where my compliments end. The room was very small and I don't like double beds on wheels without a bed head that move about. There is no wifi in the rooms only in the adjoining restaurant. I did not visit the restaurant because its menu is priced sky high. The motel is not in the centre of town as advertised but some 500 metre walks to anything interesting except the brothel at the rear. You can do a lot better.

Room Tip: Make sure you study the map for the location of attractions .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheViewOnHannans, General Manager at The View On Hannans, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Hi John,

Thank you for your comments. It always nice to pass on good feedback to our staff.

Our property has received a 4 star rating for our newer business class rooms and a 3.5 star rating for our self-contained apartments. However, we have recently completed a renovation of our apartments, with new bathrooms and new furnishings in the bedrooms.

At the moment we do not have Wi-Fi in the rooms, however this will be installed in the coming months. We have wired internet in all of the rooms and free Wi-Fi in the lobby and Blue Monkey restaurant.

The property is less than 500m to the post-office and woolworths shopping complex and located close to the Visitor information centre.

Regards,

William Brooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Just about every thing was excellent, good reception, excellent rooms and facilities. One short coming, they could stretch to biscuits to go with the tea and coffee. Also, most of the facilities in this town usually have a well stocked bar fridge.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheViewOnHannans, Manager at The View On Hannans, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thanks for your positive feedback Keith. Nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We don't have mini-bars in the room, however room service is available and the Blue Monkey restaurant is fully licensed.

Regards,

William Brooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalgoorlie-Boulder hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Kalgoorlie
Ibis Styles Kalgoorlie
#3 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#5 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
134 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa
Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa
#2 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Inn Kalgoorlie
Best Western Hospitality Inn Kal...
#7 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Railway Motel
Quality Inn Railway Motel
#4 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest Yelverton Kalgoorlie
Quest Yelverton Kalgoorlie
#1 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The View On Hannans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View On Hannans

Address: 430 Hannan St, Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Western Australia 6430, Australia (Formerly The Hannans View Motel)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kalgoorlie-Boulder
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
Price Range: £72 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The View On Hannans 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Kalgoorlie, experience the best in hotel, motel and apartment accommodation. The View On Hannans (formerly the Hannans View Motel) is the ideal base from which to work and explore Kalgoorlie and the Goldfields region. With 128 modern and comfortable motel rooms and apartments and the award-winning Blue Monkey Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The View On Hannans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing