We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Outlook Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Watershed Winery

Watershed Winery
Reserve with
Watershed Winery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Enjoy lunch and capture that Margaret River ambiance at Watershed's restaurant and alfresco dining deck overlooking our rolling vineyard and dam. Our Ric Stein trained Head Chef Dan Gedge sources Margaret River's freshest seasonal produce to create exquisite contemporary Australian dishes. With great food complemented by an award-winning selection of premium wines, the Watershed restaurant should be on every food and wine lovers list. Restaurant: Wednesday to Sunday 12 to 3 pm (bookings recommended) Café: Monday to Sunday 10 to 5pm (no bookings required)
Hobart, Tasmania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely Outlook Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

My wife and I visited this winery in September 2013. The restaurant itself has a great chalet feel to it with a relaxing view of the vineyard. The large room is divided into a fine dining section and a more economical café partition.
The wine list was adequate and the wines we had with our lunch complimented the food well. I would have expected a little more care in this department from the wait staff (nothing was said about the wine upon serving and I was never asked for a top up) though.
For starters we had an entrée sharing platter which was delicious and very well presented, it featured several of the entrée dishes on the a la carte menu such as the king prawns, vegetable terrine (bit bland), tender grilled octopus accompanied by a delicate foam, pork terrine and excellent duck breast served with a flavoursome blood orange jelly. Our main courses were the chicken breast and fish of the day (barramundi) these weren’t as well presented as the entrees but still tasty and cooked with care. The dessert was a platter to share, although it looked very good this was probably the weakest course, the mousse was a little light and not very chocolaty, the coconut crème brulee didn’t really taste of coconut, the macaroons had seen better days (although the lemon curd was good) the strawberry almond cake was the highlight of an otherwise ho-hum desert platter.
For the price $100 a head, I expect better, more well trained wait staff (after we finished the entrée I asked the waiter to tell us about all the dishes and he had to get a menu)…. And a table cloth…I’m getting tired of paying $40 for a main and not having a table cloth or proper cutlery.
All in all a good experience, I’d go back and I’d send friends on a recommendation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slash63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    150
    41
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OMG”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

What a lovely place, from the wine tasting presenter, very knowledgable, to the waitress, adorable Leanne from Perth Scotland, to the finger licking good food, we both enjoyed every course immensely. The main was to die for and we will definitely will be returning, the view on a wintry blustry day did not dampen our spirits at all, just an overall very pleasurable day and the wine we choose was a 2004 Shiraz this was just NECTAR...hmmm thanks guys - from an arvvo of wintry blues to a day of absolute pleasure...we'll be back!!!!!
Steve and Nicola
Dalyellup

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NicolaUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret river
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Cheese platter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

I enjoyed the watershed restaurant I had a goats cheese platter with red wine. The waiter was very informative of what wine to have with the goats cheese. The cheese came with crackers, bread, slices of pear, grapes, walnuts and a pickle well worth the $12 dollars for the one cheese platter.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mel302013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We went to Watershed for lunch at the recommendation of the hotel owners, and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of food. The linguine was so flavourful - tasted a bit of wine in it - and the wagyu burger was juicy and succulent. It was really kids-friendly too - not your usual high chair but a premium-looking version of a high chair... plus a kiddie activity set and utensils! And of course overlooking a beautiful vineyard.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rex_raccoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and beautiful views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We were only intending on having a wine tasting here, but after perusing the menu and looking at the stunning views, we decided to stay and eat at the restaurant.
We had a very long lunch, with the entree tasting plate... wow!!!, then mains and dessert.
The restaurant has some amazing dishes on offer and cheers to our waitress who was very friendly and to the chef for giving us some cooking tips. We couldn't have found a more spectacular lunch venue, thanks!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ree-192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Watershed Winery also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Watershed Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing