We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Margaret River Wine Adventure - The tour for people who don't do tours!
1,598

Book in advance
from
£115.02
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience The Margaret River Discovery Co.
from £115.02
More Info
Reviews (1,802)
Filter reviews
1,802 results
Traveller rating
1,790
11
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,790
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews discovery tour fraser gallop canoe trip guide sean lunch and wine tasting wheel drive local honey special access coastal walk indigenous history magnificent scenery barrel room private winery winery experience small group an amazing host behind the scenes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,683 - 1,688 of 1,802 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2011

What a great tour! If you're reading this then you've probably read the other reviews and yes... this should be top of list while in the Margaret River area as the reviews are all true.

Sean's passion and knowledge of the area is infectious, he is a great tour guide. It’s a fabulously well thought out tour which includes such highlights as kayaking on the River (it’s a must and you don’t get wet), lunch at the fabulous Fraser Gallop winery including Q&As with the wine maker and exploring parts of the Cape to Cape trail.

Max of 6 people means it’s a very personable approach and Sean makes every effort to ensure it’s a comfortable and friendly environment at all times. I would suggest taking this tour at the beginning of your trip as you’ll discover many places you’ll want to re-visit during your stay.

Thanks Sean for a great introduction to the area, we haven’t stopped talking about your tour! Also really appreciate you booking us into dinner at Cape Lodge – it was amazing food!! The perfect end to a wonderful day. Kabe and Tara

Date of experience: April 2011
1  Thank qwerty333
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 May 2011

If you are looking for a way to really maximize your time in Margaret River, while enjoying every minute - you would be hard pressed to find a better way than a day with Sean. The best part about the tour is his enthusiasm and thoughtful details. It really felt as though we were touring around with an extremely well-connected friend. You also really get a taste for many different aspects of the region - not simply wine tasting. I cannot recommend the tour highly enough.

I also highly recommend this as something to do on your first day - we were guiding our entire trip by Sean's recommendations the rest of our time there and it made for a really amazing vacation.

The tour is pricier than others in the region, but with the variety of activities you will experience I doubt there are other tours with better value for money.

Date of experience: May 2011
Thank intotrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 May 2011

An excellent way to discover the Margaret River area. Professional & friendly guide, good vehicle, fantastic lunch. The best day we spent in Margaret River. Hiking and kayaking were brilliant. If you only have the time or money to do one tour whilst you're in the Margaret River area, chose the Discovery Tour. You won't be disappointed - a whole hearted double thumbs up.

Date of experience: April 2011
Thank Mushduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Sean Blocksidge is such a gracious host. From the first hello to the last goodbye, Sean created a friendly and comfortable day of discovery and sharing of the unique aspects of the Margaret River area. The morning started with a comfortable off-road drive to the banks of the Margaret River near the coast. Sean quickly launched three canoes into the glassy water of the river for a leisurely paddle through the lush unspoiled forest. Then we continued our four-wheel adventure to the remote Meekadarabee Falls near the Ellensbrook Homestead just off the Cape to Cape trail. The pure water source there has supported humans for more than 50,000 years and being emersed in such vast history was profound. From there on to lunch at a working vineyard, simple, refreshing, smart & delightful. Our last trek was to another part of the Cape to Cape trail through dunes to the ocean. We were fortunate to see the Cow Bombie deep water reef break about 2 km offshore from the cliffs overlooking a beautiful remote beach. We were joined by kangaroos as we made our way back to the paved road and then delivered to our hotel in the village of Margaret River. What a fantastic day!

Date of experience: April 2011
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We booked this tour based solely on the rave reviews on trip advisor. Let me just say that they were spot on! We went on the tour with Sean very early in our trip which I would highly recommend as it gives you a whole new prespective and appreciation for the region. He is also able to pass on some very handy tips on what to do in the area and the very best wineries to visit.
The passion he has for his job and the whole region really shines through during the tour. It really has a great mix of things to do and would be suitable for guests of any age. The fact that it was a really personalised tour was really appealing and added to the enjoyment of the day. The gentle paddle down the river in canoes was a highlight, as was the lunch at Fraser Gallop Winery under the Peppermint Tree and the local produce is absolutely delicious. You also get to explore some amazing scenery and the view along the coastline is picture perfect.

Date of experience: April 2011
Thank Shane3189
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SeanBlocksidge, Owner at The Margaret River Discovery Co., responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2011

Hi Shane,

Thanks for the great review. I agree the the Discovery Tour is an ideal introduction into the region. Certainly not something you can experience in your own car!

Cheers
sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews