We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience The Margaret River Discovery Co.
from US$151.19
More Info
Reviews (1,176)
Filter reviews
1,176 results
Traveller rating
1,166
9
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,166
9
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews discovery tour fraser gallop sean blocksidge local honey better understanding sights and sounds amazing pictures canoe experience magnificent scenery gourmet lunch wheel drive wine barrels boutique winery small group local flora and fauna wealth of knowledge behind the scenes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
989 - 994 of 1,176 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We have just had a fantastic day enjoying the Margaret River Discovery tour, which really delivered all we could have wished for, plus a bit more. Drifting along the tranquil Margaret River through beautiful bush land was a great start to a wonderful day.
The best feature of the day was not just what we saw and did, but the experience Sean created as we toured. The attention to detail and the planning behind the tour was evident in the smooth, hassle free day. Our guide was very knowledgable about the places, people and communities we visited, and provided the right amount of information and allowed the questions from the group take the discussion into the areas the group was interested in, rather than constantly pouring out facts and figures.
Importantly, Sean had a clear affection for the area and people and a respect for the natural environment and the cultural heritage of the area.
We finished the day sitting overlooking spectacular cliffs that ran down to the vast expanse of the Indian Ocean, where we watched a pod of dolphins play - it doesn't get much better than that.

Thank Garry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My husband and I went on the full day discovery tour with Sean on Friday 18th May 2012. We could not fault the day. Perfect weather and such a variety of experiences. Sean is enthusiastic, knows every inch of this region and treats you like a friend. The range of activities included canoeing (almost drifting) down the Margaret River, some 4WD driving in a very comfortable vehicle with excellent vision from all 6 seats, superb walks with coastal views and a special lunch of Margaret River produce eaten at a boutique winery that is not open to the public. Wine tasting of the award winning wines was the perfect accompaniement to the delicious lunch. Sean was also very helpful in planning our next day in the region including a walk along part of the coast to coast track and a visit to a cave. Highly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: May 2012
1  Thank RobynS237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This day trip had it all for people who want to see the highlights of Margaret River in a more personalised tour. We were recommended this particular tour by friends who said Sean provided a more local perspective and they were right. He is knowledgeable about the area and its history, knows a bit about good wine and obviously loves showing people around the areas that he personally enjoys.
Our day included a sedate canoe down the river, lunch at a winery, a walk along the cliffs at the coast and some honey tastings. We were driven around in Sean's very comfortable 4WD vehicle. There were 6 of us on the tour. All raincoats, life jackets etc were provided.
I would recommend this tour to anyone traveling to the Margaret River region.

Date of experience: April 2012
1  Thank janinesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This is not your average tour. If you want to board a coach with the masses and be taken to run-of-the-mill tourist hotspots then this tour is not for you. Sean's in-depth research into this wine region makes for an exceptional day out. You get to visit places you'd never discover on your own and sample some of the finest food and wine Margaret River has to offer. I can't recommend this tour enough!

Date of experience: April 2012
Thank 88Abs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I have to admit that Sean made everything appealing. He took us to all the best places with this exclusive tour. We were treated to wines paired with various cheeses and it gave us a whole new outlook on the pairing of the gastronomical delights. I hate being over crowded and rushed so this tour was ideal for us as it caters to very limited numbers. I recommend you get in early to book as I was certainly glad we didn't miss out. Thanks Sean for making our exclusive tour everything that we hoped it would be.

Date of experience: April 2012
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews