We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritage Trail Lodge
Ranked #5 of 20 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottm
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

A great place to stay to travel around the Margerat river area. Lovely room and nice continental breakfast. The double spa bath was a bonus after days out walking and visiting beaches,wineries,brewery's ect. A walk in the forest after breakfast Was great. Our room faced the busy road which might upset some guest but had the bonus of afternoon sun which we liked for a drink after busy days. Take a torch as the 10 min walk into town is a bit dark late on. Thanks we had 3 great nights and look forward to visiting again as there is so much to see in the area.

Room Tip: The front 3 rooms are a bit noisy from the road but get the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottmRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    143
    22
    2
    4
See reviews for
36
390
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We were two couples traveling the south west of Western Australia, Margaret River was our first stop. It was the best Value for money stay through the whole trip. We were very quickly in Holiday mood. Atmosphere was friendly and welcoming, loved the breakfast providing local produce with a good cup of coffee. Accommodation was roomy and bright, could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Verena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My partner and I came down for our anniversary weekend and stayed in the Heritage Trail Lodge in one of the Spa Suites. Wow was all I could say. The reception we received from Terry was warm and informative and our first impressions of the room were very good! It had everything you could possibly need including a proper sized fridge, plates, cutlery - even a cheese board if you wanted to bring your wares back to nibble on in the room! We didn't use it but there's a BBQ and outdoor furniture should you wish.

Breakfast was great (cheeses, various breads, fruit, cereals etc) and by the second moring I had mastered the coffee machine! Would definitely recommend this acocmodation to anyone. Great location (just a few minutes walk into the town although the town could do with some proper paths!) and who could fail to be relaxed by the staying in the woods with a huge spa bath to massage away the stresses of the City! It went too quickly!

Room Tip: Spa suites are away from the Bussell highway and therefore quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wend1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The hosts were warm and welcoming. There was a lot of tourist information provided complete with brochures and maps. In house blue ray selection was decent. Continental breakfast in the observatory was a nice start to the day complete with various breads from the local bakery and a variety of cheeses and muesli all neatly labelled should you wish to purchase some at the shops to bring home. Rooms were spacious with king sized beds, high ceilings, private balcony and spa. A tranquil little retreat which is within a stone's throw away from Margaret River town centre providing us with the best of both worlds.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JayVivian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Such a nice and relaxing stay. The owners are really nice and can't do enough for you. We stayed in the deluxe suite and the name says it all. As for the private balcony, with a track running right infront of them it's not so private after all. But apart from that extremely small issue everything was perfect!! We will definitely be staying here again!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosser85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Initially dissapointed as the accommodation wasn't 'superior quality hotel accommodation' as described on the web, definitely not 4-1/2 stars, however it did offer many good things.

Pros:
The bedroom and bathroom is very roomy.
The bed is very large with soft bed linen.
The deck area is a lovely place to sit and watch the wild life - we saw a kangaroo, a skink and many different birds.
The walking trail leads to lovely forest walks, especially good early in the morning.
There is another fine walking trial on the other side of the road.
The accommodation is only 10 minutes walk to town
There is china, cutlery, toaster and kettle to enable some home eating.

Cons:
The breakfast was limited in choice, but did offer a variety of fruit although much was tinned. It would be good to see a bit more effort put into 'preparing' breakfast with a fresh fruit salad.
The bed may be, and is, loved by many for its softness but for me was toooo soft, not good for spines.
Although our room was forest facing, with the door open, the noise from the busy road was quite audible particularly early in the morning.
There doesn't seem to be anywhere to wash up used china except in the bathroom sink.
Wifi very frustrating staying open only for minutes before cutting out.
Walk into town is not pleasant due to fast traffic and lack of paved walkways.

Despite the criticisms, of which some things can be changed but other which can't, we enjoyed our stay at the lodge and think you can as long as you know what to expect!

We paid approx $200 (£100) per night through Bookings.com and I think that's just about okay for the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jabjaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Booking was very easy helen and terry made us very welcome even though we had to change the weekend. Simply loved the room and the service. wine, chocolate, and our roses on request were in the room for us on arrival. The gardens made me feel like we were in a tropical queensland forrest. I would recommend the weekend romantic pamper package if you like a relaxing massage then soak in your inroom spa.

Paull and Alida

Room Tip: All awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
702 reviews
0.0 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
0.1 mi away
Riverglen Chalets
Riverglen Chalets
#1 of 51 in Margaret River
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rosewood Guesthouse
Rosewood Guesthouse
#2 of 20 in Margaret River
346 reviews
3.4 mi away
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 20 in Margaret River
499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Margaret River Guest House
Margaret River Guest House
#4 of 20 in Margaret River
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Trail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Trail Lodge

Property: Heritage Trail Lodge
Address: 31 Bussell Hwy, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Trail Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the towering Karri trees of the Bramley National Park this lovely boutique hotel is ideally located an easy 10 minute walk from Margaret River township. The ten spacious, stylish suites feature large 2 person spa baths, balcony overlooking the forest, blissful king size beds, LCD TV, DVD player, Foxtel, movies, air-conditioning, free wi-fi and a host of extras. A delicious, buffet continental breakfast of local produce is included daily for all guests.Three Luxury Indulgence Spa Suites have been completely refurbished with designer decor and deluxe bathroom. Each suite is decorated with a different theme inspired by the local environment:- the Boranup Suite with the relaxing green hues of the forest; the Yallingup Suite with colours inspired by the sea and beach; and the Leeuwin Suite with its rich earthy shades of the autumn vineyards. Each Luxury suite has its own private balcony with stunning views directly into the forest with its tall Karri tress and abundant birdlife. Other extra's to make you feel completely indulged are chaise lounge, large LCD TV, plush bath robes, luxury linen and quality throughout.The five Forest View Spa Suites have the same peaceful view directly into the forest from the balcony. They are each decorated with furniture hand-crafted from a hundred year old pine tree that was originally planted on the Lodge site by Margaret River settlers last century. The two Garden Spa Suites are also decorated with furniture from the settlers pine tree. They are located at the front of the property with balcony views to the forest across the small car park and highway.Sit back with a glass of Margaret River Wine and enjoy the lush gardens, abundant birdlife and stunning forest views or enjoy leisurely walks through the tranquil Karri forest and adjoining river trails. Green Star Awarded, this environmentally friendly Lodge is the perfect place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your Heritage Trail Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Trail Hotel Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing