We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Peppermint Brook Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
karratha
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Simple but nice”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Reasonably close to town, very green and pretty. Cottages have two rooms that can sleep up to six people and a small kitchen. Nice and quite well priced.. Chickens and ducks roaming around :) , even seen a little rabbit. Very relaxing

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymor72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Owner at Peppermint Brook Cottages, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We've just replaced window treatments throughout the cottages and will undertake further improvements later this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    39
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
56
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in off season and were very happy with the price for a two bedroom apartment with two queen sized beds and a bunk bed. The linen was clean and of very high quality and the beds were super comfortable.

Kitchen and bathroom facilities were basic but clean and contained everything we needed. The couch was comfortable the place was very homely. Floors could have done with a wash.

It was a short walk to the town centre.

Overall we were very happy and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissAS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Owner at Peppermint Brook Cottages, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. Since you stayed, we've had the carpets professionally cleaned and have also replaced window treatments throughout the cottages,. It;s also our intention to replace some of the living room furniture in the near future. Our objective is to continually improve comfort levels whilst retaining affordability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I was disappointed with the cleanlyness and the size of the accommodation. The appliances were very small. Ok for a couple, wouldn't want to have anymore than that staying. Overall bit worth the money and would t come back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Budles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Owner at Peppermint Brook Cottages, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
I'm sorry you were unhappy with aspects of your stay. Peppermint Brook Cottages is at the affordable end of accommodation in Margaret River and we do what we can to limit expectations. That said, we have a very high repeat factor and our customer satisfaction rating, from 256 completed questionnaires, is currently running at 8.82.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed for one night and was very pleasantly surprised. We arrived back from a full day wine tour, and some lovely little fairy had put the heating on as well as left a big bag of firewood, kindling, newspaper and matches for a fire.
Surprisingly comfortable beds and enough equipment to self-cater nicely for a couple of days. A 5-10 minute walk and you are smack in the middle of Margaret River, particularly useful if you want to pop into the gorgeous Settler's Tavern for dinner and a drink. Would certainly stay here again as nowhere else offers anything close in value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter1298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Owner at Peppermint Brook Cottages, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We're at the affordable end of Margaret River accommodation and try to give value-for-money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thursday Island, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights but extended to 5.
For $110 per night we had a reasonable sized 2 bedroom unit (3 queen size beds!) with a FULL kitchen, comfortable lounge & beds, good quality linen, toiletries supplied and as an extra bonus, breakfast goodies (cereal, toast, spreads, tea & coffee, juice) for a day or 2 supplied. The cottage is modern, clean and nicely decorated. Great shower, loads of hot water, good water pressure. LCD tv, DVD player, reverse cycle aircon, outside bbq and even our own fire pit should we desire.
Free laundry facilities, ample car parking right next to our cottage, chooks and birds in the morning.......
You could comfortably stay here with a couple of children or even 2 couples; any more than 4 people I think would be a stretch.
Really the ONLY thing that could have made my stay nicer would have been a bigger tv and maybe foxtel, but for $110 per night, this place is a bargain without those things.
The cottages are all free standing and a reasonable distance away from each other to allow sound not to travel when inside, but close enough so if they are all full, there's not much privacy outside. They are all encircling a lawn/bbq area with big pine trees and each have their own verandah with chairs and table outside for outdoor dinning.
ALSO of note, the location. This is about a 10 minute easy walk to town - splendid really. I initially though it was a bit far, but saw some of the other cottages on the main road and realised how noisy they would be in comparison.
Peppermint Brook cottages was far enough away to be quiet and close enough to walk to town.
We had uninterrupted sleep 5 nights straight, but walked to town each day - what more could you want?
Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in number 7, but they all looked pretty similar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam_David_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Owner at Peppermint Brook Cottages, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Our intention with Peppermint Brook Cottages is to provide affordable, comfortable, accommodation and your comments appear to be acknowledging that we're on the right track. It's a cosy property which offers comfort and convenience and that's probably why our repeat factor is so strong. Thank you for taking the time to show your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, very basic facilities and not value for money. Had the feeling that they wanted to save money and cut corners, eg. one hand towel in only bathroom for 5 adults and 1 child. Cleaner left used bottles of travel shampoo and conditioner, maybe thinking someone will use it?? Try lighting gas oven with normal matches (should provide igniter) otherwise burn your fingers. No teatowel in kitchen at all for both days, couldnt be bothered asking but that is basic stuff and shouldnt be forgotten. We didnt have enough room for everyone on the sofa, a poster mentioned 2 x 2 seater, and as we were 5 one adult had to use the kitchen chair at nighttime. Also, the breakfast table for eating was tiny, and the cottage is supposed to be big enough to accomodate 6.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingsoul333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Owner at Peppermint Brook Cottages, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
I'm sorry you were unhappy with aspects of your stay. We acknowledge that the cottages, which were constructed by previous owners, are on the small side. There's nothing we can do about that, however we have made significant improvements to creature comforts since we purchased the property. We do have a very high repeat factor and our customer satisfaction rating, from 256 completed questionnaires, is currently running at 8.82.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Stayed for three days, Rooms were very comfortable and very clean. Had absolutely no dramas checking in and out. It was amazing to wake up to birds chirping in the morning. Very convenient to the Bussell Highway where everything is located( 10 mins walk max). We used to go for our morning walk to get coffee and some groceries. Kitchen and bathroom is fully stocked up. Great place for a family getaway as our cottage had 2x queen beds and a double decker bed.

I would definetly reccomend this place to anyone that is looking for a place to stay while they are in Margaret River and will definetly be coming here again with the family.

Room Tip: If it is hot at night, leave the room doors open as there is only 1 A/C located in the dining/ loung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farreltay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
0.7 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
1.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
699 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riverglen Chalets
Riverglen Chalets
#1 of 51 in Margaret River
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Prideau's of Margaret River
Prideau's of Margaret River
#6 of 10 in Margaret River
263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
656 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppermint Brook Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppermint Brook Cottages

Property: Peppermint Brook Cottages
Address: 12 Mann St, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peppermint Brook Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 8 cottages spread around a lawned area. Each has 2 bedrooms (guests can choose to pay for 1 or both), a bathroom, air-conditioned living room, fully-equipped kitchen, verandah and BBQ; and there are cosy doonas and electric blankets for winter. It's just a 5 minute stroll to Margaret River's shops, bars, cafes and restaurants; and the same to the Visitors' Centre. Wi-Fi is available free-of-charge. Guests staying 2+ nights will be provided with a free bottle of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Peppermint Brook Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing