We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Great Prices” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Settlers Tavern

Settlers Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$26
Cuisines: Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The heart of Margaret River where great country hospitality greets you & locally sourced food, coffee, wines, beers & generous meals served all-day await you! Full-menu all-day, every-day, indoors or outdoors. Multi award winning wine list, over 25 wines by the glass, and 500 hundred local and international wines on the list from some of the world's best producers. Settlers Tavern is the original home of live entertainment in Margaret River - featuring good vibes, bands, reggae, funk, soul, roots, blues - two hundred and sixty nights a year. No wonder Settlers Tavern is the busiest place in town!
New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Great Prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Two families. Adults, teens and 8 and 9 year old. Good for all. Great, fresh and fast food. Even more impressive for a 'pub' was the wine list. Deep and broad and very fairly priced. Really great knowledge of the list by their team. Thoroughly recommended. As good, or better than some of the pricier options in Margaret River.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alta_Powder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    638
    663
    160
    43
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family Restaurant..... NOT”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Have had dinner here a few times with friends and family. Each time children are told off for just getting off their chairs to stand next to their table and dance. I understand this is a pub with dodgy carpet, potential hazards about the place and glassware, but cannot understand why they promote the place as a family restaurant when kids are not allowed to move from their seats. Sure they are given colouring in to keep them amused for a few minutes but as soon as they leave their seats to have a bogey next to their table a nice European backpack delivers the usual spiel of " no too dangerous you must sit down".
Meals are huge. Obviously designing them to appeal to the mass population if wAnting more but missing the old saying of quslity not quantity. Steak sandwiches that require you to dislocate your jaw to eat featuring a lovely piece of gristle steak and salads that feature a whole lettuce. Kids ate all of their fish and chips so you do have to be happy with that

Helpful?
Thank Margsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Lots of people here - because the food is yummy! This is a cosy place with lots of diplomas on their walls. I heard it was a must when you're in MR so I gave it a go and I'm happy I did.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tropical-bananaleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cozy and nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Nice cozy place... food is great but portion was a little too big for me...(not necessary a bad thing)!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Babyyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived in peak time on a busy Friday night, found a seat outside (still quite toasty with the heaters on) and had our generous & delicious meals served within 10-15min of ordering! Friendly and efficient service all around, what a delight in WA. Our waiter even spontaneously brought a mug of hot lemon & honey for my hoarse voice - what a delight! The food was pub grub but fresh and quite enjoyable.

Helpful?
1 Thank WestOzLoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Settlers Tavern also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Settlers Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing