We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day out with a fantastic guide!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Road Less Travelled Wine Tours - CLOSED

The Road Less Travelled Wine Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Road Less Travelled offers the most insightful,professional and personal wine touring experience in the Margaret River region and wider SW of Western Australia. Owner/Host Dennis Mifsud is a long time resident is chef winemaker that has knowledge and practical experience to assist in your understanding of style and quality no matter what your taste and knowledge level. Relaxed and informative with access to the best wines and producers, ensures a day to remember.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great day out with a fantastic guide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Our Margaret River trip has been capped off by a day out with Dennis Mifsud. Dennis is a long time resident of the Margaret River Region, former wine bar operator and well travelled chef!

Dennis knows everyone and is beholden to no-one, so you'll get the tour you want. Not only did Dennis take us to some great wineries, he worked hard to make sure the wineries we went to matched our preferences perfectly.

My wife and I had a great lunch with Dennis at Cullen Wines and he even managed to arrange for a behind the scenes tour of the biodynamic winery operations.

We'd recommend booking Dennis early in your stay to get access to his local knowledge and experience great wineries that you'd never know were there otherwise!

Personalised service and food and wine insights make this tour excellent value! I can't recommend The Road Less Travelled more!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BradNFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ideal tour for wine enthusiasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We were delighted with our day with Dennis. We are wine enthusiasts and travel frequently to explore different wine regions, where we seek out local wine experts to impart their knowledge and introduce us to an unfamiliar wine region. Denis is clearly well informed and connected in the wine and food industry in the area and abroad. We were very impressed.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trufoodie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
263 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
“We were in the company of a very patient and learned friend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We had an absolutely great day out. There is only so much I want to tell you as I believe that each tour will be tailored to your own tastes and preferences. We started at Cape Mentelle which is handy for Margaret River and was the first chance we had to speak to Dennis about our wine and food preferences. This gave him the necessary yardstick to begin to set the agenda for our day.
And what a super time. We just let Dennis do all the work, the driving, some of the talking (!) and pick places for us to slurp and eat. We did eight wineries, had a fantastic lunch, looked at the coast and felt like we were in the company of a very patient and learned friend. I say patient as we are from the school of ‘we know what we like and expect you to be psychic’ drinkers – he did a great job.
Yes a bit expensive but because it is private we went at our own pace instead of that of a group and so achieved much more. We chose to take the tour on our first day in the area and it has imbued us with great confidence and lots of information which will allow us to enjoy the rest of our stay in the amazing Cape all the more.
Highly recommended.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleetcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Thank you Dennis for a fantastic day, showing us around the Margaret River wineries. Dennis' personalised tour was a highlight of our trip to the Margaret River region. He tailored the day for us, and we couldn't have wanted for anything more. The fantastic lunch he organised at Hay Shed Hill was a highlight, as well as visiting the wineries that weren't located on the tourism map. All in all, an amazing day!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Perfect Day Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Thank you again Denis for such an amazing day of wine tasting. When planning our trip down to Margaret River for the first time, we really wanted an expert with incredible food and wine knowledge to show us around. Denis is exactly that man! The day was filled with incredible wineries both from the small producers to the big guns (all of whom Denis knows personally) and the most delicious lunch EVER and finally capped off with a amazing view of the ocean. This guy really knows his stuff- well enough so to plan you the most incredible day completely tailored to your likes and tastes. It really is worth investing in someone who specializes in wine and food... This is an absolute must for all you foodies and winos :)

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Lacy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Road Less Travelled Wine Tours also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing