We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Will Never Want To Leave...!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Llewellin's Guest House
Ranked #1 of 19 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Wonderful B+B plus so much more.
Great hosts who treat you as house guests and friends.
Amazing breakfasts!!
The area is stunning - we visited only 10 out of the 60++ wineries and met some gorgeous people. The beach is 5 minutes away and stunning.
It was the best nights sleep I had of all my three weeks away.
I truly tranquil get away. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012

Stayed here for two nights as part of Margaret River tour. Location feels like it is in the middle of the bush, miles from anywhere, but actually only about 10 minutes by car from Margaret River. Very small B&B with only 3 rooms, but we had corner room with glorious views out into the bush, with lots of animals, birds and other creatures. Because of its location, water and other resources have to be conserved carefully. Wifi is via satellite, expensive and intermittent, so not worth the effort, although James was very helpful about this. The hospitality from Joanna and James was outstanding - best on our tour, so we spent a long time chatting about everything. Breakfast at communal table with other guests encourages conversation. The chef James is an excellent cook and loves to talk about food. Shame we had to drag ourselves away. We will definitely return and want to keep this place a secret, so it doesn't get totally booked out when we want to stay!!

Went for dinner in town at recommended restaurants and food was fine.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms, so no problem making choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llewellin, Owner at Llewellin's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review Brian. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Llewellin's and really look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.

We would just like to clarify that wifi is FREE to our guests (as advertised) and is via satellite which is costly, but this is a cost which we (the owners) bear. We have never charged any of our guests for using our wifi since we opened 4 years ago. We are also very excited as we are changing over to Telstra ADSL in 3 weeks time and therefore will be able to provide a more satisfactory connection for all our guests :-)

With kind regards
James & Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We loved staying here, especially because of the friendly but detailed and timely customer service, and, perhaps most significantly, the quality of the breakfasts!

We also enjoyed visiting the local attractions which included four wheel driving to a beach along a disastrous track (my wife kept complaining that she was going to die which made it even more fun!), a shell museum and caves.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nathan_b_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Having read many positive reviews of 'Llewellins' and studied their website, I was expecting great things and was not disappointed. While one wouldn't necessarily book a B&B on the strength of the owners' hosting skills, Joanna & James (Llewellin) are the most welcoming and obliging of hosts one could ask for.

The setting and surroundings are the main draw of this guesthouse, though the quality of accommodation surpassed my high expectations. My guess is that this couple are themselves well-travelled and know what discerning guests like.

My Garden Room came equipped with all the facilities one might expect in a 5-star hotel and was designed in cool, stylish and understated manner, while the wetroom-style shower room was of a higher quality than most hotels I have stayed at.

James Llewellin's piece de resistance is his gourmet breakfast. Sourced entirely locally, there was fruit salad, granola with yoghurt garnished with passion fruit, and homemade bread/toast that is grown, milled and baked in Margaret River. Then, from an extensive cooked menu, followed the most amazing Portobello mushrooms I have tasted anywhere. Having an egg allergy, I eschewed JL's fabled truffled eggs, though my fellow guests seemed to be making highly complimentary noises. Indulging in full breakfast certainly obviates the need for lunch each day, which is a considerable saving in 'Mark-Up River' and left me more budget to buy wine!

The wildlife in the back garden often visited the veranda, including countless galahs and parakeets, blue-tongued bobtails (popping by for strawberries), blue wrens, rabbits and a skink called 'Richard', named after the proprietor's skittish brother :-) It all added to the close-to-nature feel of the region, though one has to mind one's toes while reading outside.

Llewellins is 5 minutes' drive, or 20 minutes' cycle, to Town or beach, making for what I would label one of the finest guesthouses anywhere. I'll be back.

Room Tip: I had the Garden Room, which comes with shower only. Couples may opt for the Spa Room for extra luxu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesvanbregt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed for two nights with my parents-in-law in early October and had a fantastic experience. James and Joanna were natural hosts, very friendly and helpful without being intrusive.

The location is great, just off Caves Road close to Margaret River town, and is quiet and serene. The setting was lovely and natural, the rooms tastefully decorated and very comfortable. I should point out that breakfast was without doubt the best we have had anywhere in WA.

The reason, however, that Llewellins deserves the 5-star rating are the small touches. Complimentary wine, home-baked muffins each day, advice and suggestions of where to visit (and which of the hundreds of wineries to go to including some smaller, boutique producers which are not on the map) etc. etc.

We will definitely be back in Margaret River soon and when we are it will be at Llewellins (provided they have availability!).

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy-Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We spent a weekend at the Llewellin Guest House and can confirm other recent reviews. It really was like staying with friends. We arrived around 6 on a Friday evening and were welcomed by Jo and James, offered a glass of wine, and enjoyed a relaxing and informative Margaret River overview. Breakfast was great each day and their tips and directions were excellent. We enjoyed the whole weekend, from watching the rabbits and birds to visiting wineries and exploring the local area.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms and any would be fine. The rooms are small but well decorated and comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cupidosiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed at Llewelling's for a long weekend at the beginning of October. Being spanish and visiting Margaret River for first time, we where so excited.When we arrived to the house both the place and the owners exceeded our expectations.
The house is located in the middle of the forest, with a very nice garden. It's really quiet and nice there. They only have three rooms, and all the details are taken care of (from the nice decoration and cleanliness, the olive oil soaps and shampoos, to the incredible candles they use - I couldn't help to buy some when we arrive back to Perth).
James and Joanna (and Lilley) make you feel like you were at home. The welcoming drink was nice and friendly. The breakfasts were just.....INCREDIBLE. The best ingredients with James gourmet touch. Lemon curd and their muffins were our favourites!!
They know very well the area, so you can ask them about were to go, which places to visit, which are the best restaurants around...
By the way, we went on a vineyard tour with James that was really worth it. He introduced to us several vineyards, we tasted several wines in each, without having to drive; but the best part was that it felt like we were with a friend, instead of being just customers.
I really recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarCisIgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
2.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
759 reviews
4 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
3.2 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Margaret River Guest House
Margaret River Guest House
#4 of 19 in Margaret River
619 reviews
1.7 mi away
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 19 in Margaret River
540 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rosewood Guesthouse
Rosewood Guesthouse
#2 of 19 in Margaret River
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llewellin's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llewellin's Guest House

Address: 64 Yates Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range: £122 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Llewellin's is a luxury guest house in Margaret River for adults. Ideally located 10 minutes drive between town, world class beaches, the golf course and famous wineries. Llewellin's is a romantic destination for couples, specialising in gourmet breakfasts created by our resident chef. Set in 8.5 acres of native bushland, surrounded by peppermint trees and wild life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Llewellin's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing