We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very special experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Llewellin's Guest House
Ranked #1 of 20 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very special experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

My father,brother and i always fight over getting the best room but at Llewellin' our squabbles stopped as soon as we arrived. The three rooms are beautiful appointed and have every luxury you could wish for even things you didn't know you wanted and on top this you are each given a bottle of wine when you arrive.
Whilst the amazingly comfortable beds, excellent selection of teas/treats and beautiful dressings gowns are all such treats it is James and Joanna who really make your stay in Margaret river a special experience. Nothing is too much trouble, the breakfast (which includes smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, poached fruit, homemade muesli etc) is the best i have ever had and they even drop you off at dinner so you can drink.
Their home is so peaceful, their company such a pleasure and their knowledge invaluable. Thanks to James and Joanna's advice we had some great private wine tastings,including an incredible afternoon with one of their Italian friends who has to be the nicest and most knowledgeable winemakers in Margaret River. Thank you so much for a wonderful three days, next time we will definitely book in a longer stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prittiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
312
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Having visited Llewellin's on two occasions, I can truly say that it is as magical as the pictures portray. The friendly owners, James and Joanna provide a beautiful and intimate setting that makes you feel right at home! The extra touches such as a complimentary drink on arrival, a delicious bottle of wine in the room and a range of home-cooked options for morning breakfast, really do add to the whole luxurious and quality experience.

James and Joanna are such a fun and approachable couple who are happy to assist with any questions you may have about the area. A fantastic place to take friends and family who are first time visitors to Margaret River!

One of our favorite things to do at Llewellin's is to sit on the garden porch enjoying some of Margaret River’s finest wines and cheese, whilst listening to the tranquil sounds of the surrounding bush land…. All the stresses of life fade away and we never want to leave...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MakeilaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have stayed at Llewelins twice now and have a great time on both occasions. The setting of this guest house is very relaxing and the wine on arrival really helps you wind down. James and Joanna are great hosts they make you feel very welcome and it really is like visiting friends each time we go back. James’s breakfast is exceptional especially freshly baked muffins!

We have been on James’s wine tour twice now which is great fun; James has a great knowledge of the area and always knows the best restaurants to visit. We will be booking our next trip very soon as we always take family and friends here which is always the highlight of their trip!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

My Fiance and I had an absolutely amazing stay at Llewellin's Guest House. Joanna and James were fantastic and the best part of our trip was the wine tour with James. He took us to 'off the map' boutique wineries which had some of the most unique and special wines we have tasted thus far. I definitely recommend the cheese platter in the room upon arrival, it's just what we needed after the long drive. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

I had written a review the day we arrived home, but somehow it mustn't have posted correctly. Today we were telling yet another group of friends about this place when I realised my review wasn't on line, so here I am.

Having stayed in some of the world's nicest accommodations, we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of service and amenities provided by James and his lovely wife Joanna. We were greeted upon arrival and offered an upgrade on our room as well as a bottle of wine. The wine was a great local shiraz and a generous extra.

The grounds were immaculate and the rooms well presented; featuring only the highest quality furnishings and linen. Our bathroom was stocked with quality local soaps and other goodies, and the bath blankets and down pillows made us not want to leave the room, which opened to a lovely bush-land scene.

The generosity kept on coming; in the conversation, wine and of course James' exquisite baked goods. A library of movies promised to keep us entertained after sharing wine and small goods with James and Joanna, and after a well deserved and long night's sleep, James' breakfast was the icing on what had been the perfect cake.

In short: wonderful people, sophisticated food, luxurious facilities set in a stunning slice of the Western Australian coast, what could be better?

See you next year.

Warmest regards,
Alex and Sarah

Room Tip: The end room is the spa room, very close to the tub of baked goods James leaves out for guests!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

During our 4 day stay at Llewellin's Guest House recently we were treated royally by Joanna & James. They were so friendly and accommodating. And the breakfasts - Wow! You didn't need to eat again for hours. Everything was made fresh including the fruit salad, juice, jams, sweet cakes, locally baked bread for toast and eggs any way you like. All gourmet, beautifully served and delicious. I fell in love with freshly brewed tea again. The room was spotless, spacious and well kept. I enjoyed relaxing on the porch, watching the many and varied birds come and eat from the bird feeders or take a dip in the bird bath. We highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed at Llewellin's Guest House in January - it was an awesome experience! Joanna and James are living their dream. As a guest you experience that they truely love what they do: eye for details as you experience in european 5-Star hotels (warm welcome, complimentary welcome drinks and snacks, burning candles, beautiful white linen), breakfast is fresh and delicious and even better than in a 5 Star accomodation as James - a professional chef - prepares the breakfast for each guest a la minute.
We lived for nearly 2 years in Australia and travelled to all states but NT Llewellin's Guest House for sure was the warmest, nicest, cleanest, calmest, most relaxing accomodation we have stayed in.
Whenever we will go back to WA no doubt that we will stay at Joanna's and James Guest House again!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
2.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
4.0 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel
Edge of the Forest Motel
#3 of 10 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rosewood Guesthouse
Rosewood Guesthouse
#2 of 20 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 20 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
3.5 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
3.4 mi away
Margaret River Guest House
Margaret River Guest House
#4 of 20 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llewellin's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llewellin's Guest House

Property: Llewellin's Guest House
Address: 64 Yates Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Llewellin's is a luxury guest house in Margaret River for adults. Ideally located 10 minutes drive between town, world class beaches, the golf course and famous wineries. Llewellin's is a romantic destination for couples, specialising in gourmet breakfasts created by our resident chef. Set in 8.5 acres of native bushland, surrounded by peppermint trees and wild life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Llewellin's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing