We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
444 results
Traveller rating
423
17
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
423
17
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect hostswine tourfreshly baked muffinscrispy bacongourmet breakfastbird feedersspa roomother guestscheese plattermargaret river regionglass of wineresident kangaroopoached pearrooms are beautifully appointedvasse virginon arrivalbeautiful birds
Filter
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 444 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My wife and I stayed with James and Jo for 3 nights recently. The previous reviews were all exceptional so our expectations were high on arrival but I can honestly say that they were exceeded. This must be one of the very best B&Bs in Australia and not just in Margaret River.

The setting is idyllic and there is the opportunity to view wildlife including kangaroos and joeys at close quarters. The rooms are spotless and exceptionally well appointed. The welcome drink and bottle of local wine were also nice touches.

There is more however.

The food is nothing short of amazing. James is an excellent chef and takes real pride in preparing breakfast for his guests. Whether it is the fresh fruit salad , the freshly baked muffins , the home made jam or the cooked breakfasts everything is top class and made with high quality local produce. We also sampled both a meat and a cheese platter and they were equally as good.

While we were there we did a half day wine tour with James which was thoroughly enjoyable and is highly recommended. This allowed us to visit some smaller boutique wineries where because we were with James we were able to taste a wide range of top quality wines without needing to worry about driving.

James and Jo are truly excellent hosts who are helpful and friendly but also give their guests their own space.

All in all this is a superb B&B which represents excellent value for money given the quality and standard of the food and the accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank i_m_tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed in Llewellin's Guest House for three nights during this years Food and Wine Festival (November). We arrived late at night and were greeted with a hand written welcome note and a bottle of wine. What a refreshment after a long drive. The room and bathroom was absolutely clean and fresh and had beautiful special touches. It just felt "right" with home like atmosphere.

Then, we met the Owners, James and Joanna for the breakfast next morning. What a beautiful, welcoming and warm couple they are. They greeted us as we were their good friends and we had a lovely time talking to them about local treasures. The breakfast room was absolutely gorgeous, full of light and positive energy.

And the BREAKFAST was an absolutely amazing experience :). Peter and I are big "foodies" and regularly go fine dining and have experienced eating many different breakfasts out. We were absolutely taken by the food James has cooked for us. What a Master Chef he is!!! He should be on Master Chef as one of the Celebrity Chefs :).

Breakfasts we ate there were the BEST breakfasts we have eaten out so far. How the food that is so simple can taste that good :)? Every element of the breakfast had a special and incredible taste and it was so tasty. Poached pears were "out of this world", and better taste than in any five start dining. And mushrooms were just delicious (James even shared the secret of making the mushrooms the "Chef's way" and I have been cooking it that way since! Our family is so thrilled that I have added this dish to our cuisine now. It was a highlight dish on Christmas Day! Not to mention freshly made muffins made each day and left for us to eat the whole day.

Joanna and James were so happy to share details of the great wineries and olive oil places around. We went there twice since and bought some amazing wines and extra virgin olive oil.

We felt so special and welcomed by Joanna and James and we left their Guest House feeling warm and appreciated. We will be back there with our adult kids the next time.

An absolutely beautiful and unforgettable experience! We thank Joanna and James so much for being beautiful people and for keeping their Guest House so beautiful and welcoming!

Marina and Peter
Perth, Western Australia

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful and on the same side!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Second time here, equally enjoyable as the last, with beautifully appointed rooms, tranquil bush landscape and breakfasts that have become Jo and James' signature. The breakfast is to die for!!!! The attention to detail at this beautiful property surpasses any luxury hotel, I wouldn't stay anywhere else while in this stunning wine country. Thanks for yet another memorable time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montomsoup M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Came here for a long weekend break with my lovely wife, a break from the hurly-burly city life in Singapore. First time to this beautiful part of the world and used TripAdvisor for guidance.

Wanted a B&B as I get fed up with soullessness of big hotels, and TripAdvisor came up trumps again.

The service was fantastic - Jo and James are from the south-west of England, so no surprise that the welcome is warm and friendly. The rooms were well kept, laid-out and relaxing outside area to spot the wildlife.

But the best bit was breakfast - one of the reason why a decent B&B beats the hotels. They were also helpful in giving us a lift to the town one evening for free. We had a lovely meal at Muster and took a taxi back to the B&B.

Will definitely want to come back !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GTGULL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed with Jo & James for 2 wonderful nights. The property is delightful with each of the 3 rooms having their own entrances. Wildlife visit each morning & James & Jo provide an amazing breakfast where you want for nothing .....a fantastic way to start the day. James & Jo are born to run this B&B...They are so pleasant & easy to be around but without being 'in your face'. We also booked James to drive us around to some boutique family owned wineries which was a non-stress way to spend a day in MR. Highly recommended place to stay where Jo & James are happy to share their extensive knowledge of the region.

Room Tip: We stayed in the spa room but sure any of the 3 rooms are as perfect.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DragonflyDazed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews