We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally a winner!!”
Review of La Foret Enchantee

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Margaret River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Foret Enchantee
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed in Il Palazzo for three nights and after staying at a great deal of the retreats in the South West we finally felt we had stayed in the perfect one. It is the most stunning place and the mere size of it makes you feel spoilt for choice. We kept moving from room to room and around the verandah because every inch of Il Palazzo should be enjoyed. Even though the place makes you feel like a millionaire surrounded by decadence it is instantly relaxing being in the forest and feels as though you are a million miles from anything. The highlights were the bath on the balcony, eating dinner at the beautifully set dining table in the dark with the candelabra fully lit, and my number one was the circular bedroom with the circular bed. We Spent hours staring at the massive chandelier above it that creates amazing shadows all the way up the gigantic roof spire. That room makes it possible to believe you have stepped into a fairy tale. This is without a doubt the most romantic trip we have ever had and it is all because of the beautiful accommodation. I had a smile on my face the entire stay and returned home completely refreshed. I can't wait to return as I never wanted to leave. A true 5 star!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Katsieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at La Cabine this past weekend and absolutely loved every moment.

It was serene, cosy and luxurious. We felt like we were somewhere deep in the south of France, yet we were merely three hours from Perth.

Nothing has been overlooked by the hosts. From gourmet marshmellows next to the (ready set) fire, to delicious hot chocolate, teas and coffees; as well as a fridge full of breakfast supplies including croissants, salmon, eggs, yoghurt etc etc etc. We did not go hungry!

The whole cabin was comfortable and cosy and overlooked the beautiful running river. We felt like we were in a fairytale.

The only downside was that we only stayed two nights.

We'll be back.

Thank you Fee, what you have created is magical.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank familygotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed in the 'cabin' for a week in Oct2011. It would be very easy to produce a 'French' feel venue in a bush setting and fail dismally. Have seen plenty of places being overdone, kitsch, 'shabby-chic' etc.. But La Foret have made a perfect blend of rustic/French/Provincial elements and kept the natural setting. There isn't really space here to go through everything that makes this place special - but my partner (who is extremely picky and critical of everything) - struggled to find a single thing out out place. We were constantly thinking 'if only they had provided one of these..' to then find the exact item provided. For a couple of gourmet travellers, the impressively stocked breakfast supplies were a delight - the only problem was there was too much choice and not enough days to eat it all. The setting itself is magical with Margaret River literally running past the balcony and the outdoor bath perched under a chandelier was heaven. The cabin is well secluded from the other unit on the property, distant enough from the road that noise was never an issue, the owners communication and availability was exceptional - and the fact that we never needed to contact them during the stay was both a testament to their planning and my shame for not having taken the chance to thank them personally.
Some comments (not criticisms) - as per the information provided to you beforehand, there is no mobile phone reception and thus also no internet or any kind, but a landline is connected.
The entry/driveway is tricky to find until you get used to it - but this is intentional to maintain privacy and some degree of security. It is however, a touch hazardous to get out as the main road is 80km/hr and visibility of the road in either direction is restricted.
The driveway into the cabin is fairly tight as well - so large 4WD might have fun getting in and out without a scratch, but a week of constant coming and going in an Audit sedan resulted in no issues at all.
There are no laundry facilities in the cabin, but I'd expect the majority of guests are short-stay rather than 2 week trips.
Last thought - be wary of the frogs! They seemed to like to sit on the front porch in the evening in damp weather, and we nearly stepped on one on a few occasions!
Overall - perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We stayed in " il Palazzo ", it was lovely, we enjoyed the spacious rooms, decor is charming, privacy & comfort - five star! I especially loved the bath on the balcony.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mirelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Truly a gem amongst the accommodation around Margaret River. Beautiful, rustic, luxurious and very private.

We spent 4 nights in La Cabine with my wife and I using the loft bedroom and our daughter sleeping in the converted daybed in the living room. The ground floor of the house has a fully equipped kitchen with everything you need to cook a gourmet meal, big dining table under a chandelier, large leather sofa, a big wood burning fireplace and a huge bathroom with double basin and shower. Outside on the porch overlooking the beautiful enchanted garden, are lounge chairs and a beautiful outdoor terrazzo bath under another chandelier. Upstairs in the loft is the bed room with a very comfortable bed and satellite TV.

The grounds of the La Foret Enchantee is very private and is very well kept. Margaret river run right by the beautiful garden and you can sit at the garden “dining” table watching the river flow by. You can always hear the river throughout the property which give our cabin a very relaxing atmosphere. I gave top marks for everything including service but I must point out that there is no daily housekeeping service here but everything is fully stocked for your stay when you arrive.

Our thanks to the owner Fee and how she made us very welcome at her very unique and lovely retreat and thank you for the arrangement you made for us at Vasse Felix and Cape Lodge.

We will definitely return here!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pooky_TH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
748 reviews
1 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
4.1 mi away
Hilltop Studios Margaret River
Hilltop Studios Margaret River
#14 of 51 in Margaret River
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Losari Retreat
Losari Retreat
#19 of 51 in Margaret River
100 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hidden Valley Forest Retreat
Hidden Valley Forest Retreat
#17 of 51 in Margaret River
105 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riverglen Chalets
Riverglen Chalets
#1 of 51 in Margaret River
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Foret Enchantee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Foret Enchantee

Address: Caves Road, Margaret River, Western Australia, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Margaret River
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing