We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful bushland escape”
other travellers have booked this property
Back Porch Bella overlooking red gum forest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Back Porch Bella overlooking red gum forest
Entrance Twilight
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Back Porch Bella overlooking red gum forest
Entrance
Twilight
Toasting the view!
Front Porch Bella overlooking gardens
Entrance to Property
Kangaroos on viewed sunrise/sunset
Dining through to Coffee Area
Dining through to kitchen
Childrens Cubby & Playground
Queen Bedroom 1 Bella
Bedroom 2 (1 x Queen)
Bella Retreat Bedroom 3
Bunk Bedroom (Sleeps 2)
Bathroom
Bella Retreat Nightime Dining
Heaps of wineries surround you! (5 - 50mins drive)  Leeuwin, Voyager & Xanadu just down the road!
Bella Retreat Alfresco Dining
Fun on our tyre swing!
Toasting Marshmallows!
Stained Glass Bella Retreat
Buddha
Our local - Redgate Beach (8 mins drive)
Bella Retreat Pot Belly Stove for those cold winter nights!
Blue Wrens often found in the garden
Garden paths
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Margaret River, Margaret River Region, Western Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RobbieTai...
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful bushland escape”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This year was our 3rd year in a row we have chosen to stay at Bella Retreat with extended family (14 of us in all ranging from 2 years to 70 years). Again we loved it! Despite the heavy rain all weekend, we enjoyed relaxing in the comfortable houses, with plenty of space to be all together, as well as find quiet moments to ourselves. The kids made good use of the play equipment and secret garden paths (when it wasn't raining) and we all enjoyed being so close to the local breweries, Margaret River township etc.
The new deck is a great addition, providing a shelter from the rain where we could stay dry but still watch the kangaroos jumping through the gardens and the tiny wrens flit about.
Satellite TV was also welcomed as the 'dads' could enjoy the footy with the rest of the family.
We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davelewis...
Bolwarra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Very good and great times we're had. Will be returning.”
Reviewed 29 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We are early 40 professionals and still currently staying here with our child and friends with two children.
The accom is lovely! Very tidy, well equipped and in great condition! Within 20 mins to most vineyards etc. We are bringing our family living in the UK, over for a 100th birthday next year and we will most definitely seek to stay here with the two houses on offer. It showcases Australia brilliantly! Well done to the owners.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna D
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here with my family (14 guests in total) to attend my sons wedding in September 2014. We stayed in both houses and found them to be absolutely wonderful. Large spacious living areas with everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. All that is needed is a trip to the supermarket and you won't have to leave the peaceful surroundings if you choose not to. The retreat is less then a 10 minute drive to Margaret River and set in beautiful bush-land.
I would like to thank Belinda for making the booking, communication and direction process so easy.
Thank you for making my sons wedding such a memorable experience. I will post some pictures to Bella Retreats Facebook page :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2014
Thank you so much Donna and so very glad we were able to be a part of such a special occasion. We would love to have your family back again one day.
Thank you also for taking the time to post a review, we really appreciate it.
All the best
Belinda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leuey
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Already planning our next visit to Bella Retreat.”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Our family, eight adults and six children ranging in age from 16 years to 18 months, stayed at Bella Retreat for three nights over the Anzac Day long weekend. Returning after a very enjoyable visit 12 months ago, we were happy to be back. The property is in a good location close enough to town, and wineries, caves and other attractions are just a short drive away. The two houses are well maintained and very clean. There is plenty of space to kick a ball around or to play some backyard cricket. Guests need to bring their own consumables but everything else they need is provided. Beds were made up when we arrived and there were plenty of towels in the spacious bathrooms. We once again enjoyed a very pleasant family weekend. I have just one suggestion to management: as a family we shared all our main meals at Marela Gardens and a larger BBQ (say four burners) would have been very useful. As it was, we moved the BBQ from Forestview Escape up and managed that way.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bush setting, plenty of space indoors and outdoors.
Liked least: Nothing I would like to mention
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2014
Hello Rebecca
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it and your feedback is certainly taken on board. We intend to extend the decking of the Bella Retreat back porch in order to accommodate guests from both houses for dinner so a larger bbq will certainly be in order!
Look forward to having you stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great cottages - not so great rules.”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Positives;
The cottages were lovely, & very spacious. Especially the bathroom.
Negatives;
There is no air conditioning and the cottages were extremely hot and stuffy.
The rules and regulations were over the top. We didn't use many things as there were notices everywhere saying that our bond would be deducted.
There was only 1 roll of toilet paper per toilet for 7 people over two days. No back up anywhere. Lucky we had brought our own.
It would have been nice if there had been a map included with the key. We had no address on us and had to ring emergency number to find the place.
Over all....nice but don't touch anything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: size of cottages
Liked least: rules and regulations
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2014
I'm sorry Helen but nowhere do we stipulate there is air conditioning in this property. Perhaps you should have looked at this before you booked?
Our rules do not stipulate that you cannot use anything. To the contrary, we try to make sure our guests are accommodated as well as we can by equipping the property as well as we are able to make sure our guests stay is as comfortable as possible.
This is a 'self-catering' property. You should be providing your own toilet paper!
Extensive information was sent to you in terms of attachments providing directions etc but as you did not bring these with you, I was happy to talk you through how to arrive at the property in my own time over the phone.
As you called our 'emergency' number, our management team charge $45 to me for this 'call out'. I did not charge you for this although there was no good reason for you to have done this. We specify this on our information sent to you after your booking is confirmed.
Your bond was returned in good faith.
I did not charge you for the 4 changes you made to the booking (which I am charged for by my housekeeping team) and the numerous emails trying to facilitate your many enquiries & changes in guest numbers. Normally I am more than happy to do this but in consideration of this review, I would be more than happy for you to not consider staying with us again in the future.
All our reviews not only on this website but on the other 4 websites on which we are listed are thrilled with their stay at Bella Retreat. I am sorry you did experience like wise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivian C
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent property with two houses accommodating a large group”
Reviewed 21 November 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Great location just outside Margarret River township. Both houses on the property were nice and clean. Billiards table in the second house came in handy. However, you will only get to use this if you are renting both houses on the property. Lots of comfortable beds and heaters were provided in some room. Log fires with logs provided were lovely on the cold winter's night. Nice walks around the property with lots of wildlife to spot. Great place to bring overseas visitors and plenty to keep the kids amused.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for Bella Retreat. So glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie-tai...
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A great vacation "at home"!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We are a big family group: my parents(seniors), my sister's family with a youth, and my family with a 5 year old. Totally, 7 adults and 1 child. We spent 3 nights there. My daughter loved the playground in the garden sooo much! Even the day we were leaving, she rushed to play for a few more minutes. It rained a lot during our stay, Fortunately, the house is big enough, the owner put a lot of nice CDs & DVDs in the living room, the kitchen facilities are very handy... in short, when we spent time indoor, we still enjoy lot.
The wineries nearby are great too. We bought some wine and had some good food there.
The location is convenient. The property is surrounded by some good wineries and the eagle heritage.
It's not far away from town center either. Although we felt we were living in the forest, we still could go shopping in a few minutes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2013
Thank you so much Julie for taking the time to post a review - we really appreciate it!
I loved the photo of your father on our Facebook page too - so glad he enjoyed it.
look forward to having you come and stay again and next time I will order some sunshine for you!
With Kind Regards

Belinda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing