We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bussells Bushland Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A very quiet and relaxing setting, just a stroll away from Margaret River. Cottage was clean and tidy and very comfortable. Big property, corsages are quite far apart which makes it an almost private gateway. Wildlife is just on your doorstep like kangaroos, possums and lots of birds. Wood fired fireplace was perfect for those chilly nights and if you turn your lights out and see outside the view of the millions of stars in the sky is just perfect. Don't know how I would feel about the place during the summer as it does not have air conditions but for the time we visited, it is def worth recommending.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MartaPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Owner at Bussells Bushland Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thanks Marta.
We actually have very high occupancy during the summer months and rarely get any negative comment. The cottages are protected from the sun (to a very great extent) by the surrounding trees and cool down quickly after 4pm. Guests can assist in the process by opening doors and windows to let the breezes through. Margaret River's temperature is usually 3-4 degrees cooler than Perth's and there are only a few oppressive days each summer.
All that said, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay on our wonderful nature reserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

Very nice, renewed cosy cottages with woodfire and all facilities you need. Very quite and relaxing environment just 10 minutes driving from the Margaret River town centre. I can definitely recommend this place if you are looking for accommodation to relax with a glass of wine after a day exploring in the Margaret River area

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Owner at Bussells Bushland Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you Kris. We're particularly pleased when we have visitors from overseas and interstate as it gives us the opportunity to showcase our property and region. There's so much to see and enjoy and yes, you're right, sitting on the front verandah with a glass of wine at the end of a busy day is just delightful.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

A luxurious retreat located amongst bushland, central to many attractions and yes just a few wineries. A tranquil spot with wildlife outside your door. House was immaculately clean. We loved it immensely.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Owner at Bussells Bushland Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thanks Greg. We love it when our guests get carried away on a flow of emotion. We're a "Land for Wildlife Property" and a magnet for mobs of kangaroos which gather within the 20 hectare bush block and around its perimeter. Like you, we love visiting this property and walking the bush trails. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The cottage was perfect for us - self-contained with 2 bedrooms and everything we needed in a gorgeous bush setting. My sons loved the bush trails and spotted loads of kangaroos and birds. It was in a great location close to town. I would love to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Owner at Bussells Bushland Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Our bushland property is very special to us and I'm always delighted to hear that families have visited and enjoyed the environment. Next time, make sure you bring a strong torch and take the kids on a "night safari" through the bush block. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We chose Bussells because we wanted to experience a little of rural WA and we weren't disappointed, as soon as we walked in there were the kangeroos outside the kitchen window! We would be back for another 3 days in a heartbeat (or maybe a 22 hour flight!). It was great to have fly screens on the windows so that we could have them wide open at night without worrying what was going to fly in! The manager was a treasure with lots of good suggestions and help. There was no unnecessary daily cleaning and two really nice touches were the bird feeder in the front, though unfortunately cleared in seconds by a bronze wing and the trees marked so non natives could name them - the snotty gobble has gone down in history! We were delighted to find access to the Internet which wasn't there when we booked way back but we gave up on it in the end, we either couldn't get in, got chucked out or couldn't send! Still so what! The cottages were very convenient for exploring - beaches, wineries, caves etc and for the town of Margaret River

Stayed: March 2014
Thank TravellerWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Owner at Bussells Bushland Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

We're delighted to be able to showcase our property (and the region) to visitors from afar and are particularly pleased when they get to experience our wildlife. In fact, it's getting to the stage where I may have to put those kangaroos on our payroll. Sorry about the Wi-Fi. We've recently upgraded hardware and increased our plan with Telstra, so I'm confident we're heading in the right direction. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Always stay here anyway and love the place but now they have wifi and have done a great paint job on the alfresco !! Love it. Will be back again and again. Very helpful staff. Peace and quiet. Great location 5 mins from the town but you would never know it

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Owner at Bussells Bushland Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

We hit the jackpot when 2 (young) international visitors approached us (late 2013) looking for work. They started out sanding and varnishing the outdoor settings, then offered to paint the external timber on the cottages (which had never been treated). It took 2 months to complete and we remain indebted to Adrian & Montse for their sterling efforts. Wi-Fi was able to be installed via 3G technology, booster stations and considerable expertise. We can't get ADSL to the property and the distances between the cottages and our wonderful trees caused further complications, however we achieved the desired result. Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in cottage 8 over the long weekend.
The cottage was ideal for us-great location, only a few mins drive from the town centre and close by to caves rd. The cottage was very clean and kid friendly too
(we travelled with our 17 month old)
It is well equipped with basically everything you need, lots of nice bedding with extra pillows and warm blankets. The kitchen is well equipped too with all you need to prepare meals.
Just bring your foil or cling wrap. Over all the cottage was great!
Outside is gorgeous.. the cottages are spaced out far enough that you feel you are all alone pin the bush. There are great little walk tracks on the property which are lovely! lots of flora and fauna to appreciate along the way. Some of the trees are marked with coloured discs to help you identify the different types-this is good for kids! All in all we had a really lovely stay and will definetly come back when we visit Margaret River again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajhsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Owner at Bussells Bushland Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your generous comments and it's great to see that you enjoyed the bush block, as well as the cottage. Next time you visit, take the kids out for a night walk along the trails as this will provide another dimension.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
2.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
723 reviews
3.0 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
2.9 mi away
Riverglen Chalets
Riverglen Chalets
#1 of 51 in Margaret River
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Peppermint Brook Cottages
Peppermint Brook Cottages
#13 of 51 in Margaret River
124 reviews
3.2 mi away
Margarets Forest
Margarets Forest
#4 of 51 in Margaret River
471 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bussells Bushland Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bussells Bushland Cottages

Address: 447 Carters Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range: £79 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bussells Bushland Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 8 rammed-earth cottages are fully self-contained, with each having 2 bedrooms (see note), fully-equipped kitchen, air-conditioned living / dining room and (shared) bathroom. Cottages are randomly scattered on our 20 hectare (50 acre) bush block and we're within easy driving (5kms) distance of Margaret River township, beaches, wineries, cafes, restaurants, shops and the region's best tourist features. All cottages have been completely refurbished and we're the equivalent of a 4-star rated property (4 gumnuts in our terminology). Wi-Fi is available in all cottages and (following a great deal of effort) can now support streaming. Note: Our lead-in tariffs are for 1 or 2 persons occupying 1 bedroom. If guests wish to use the 2nd bedroom, we charge an extra bed fee in order to cover the additional costs of linen and cleaning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bussells Bushland Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing